We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming host”
Review of Lakeside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside B&B
Ranked #6 of 14 Oakham B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming host”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned home from a 2 night stay at Robs place over New Year. Certainly lived up to all expectations. The accomodation is first class and the breakfast excellent. Great location to explore the surrounding area of Rutland. Rob is the perfect host with a great sense of fun and made us so welcome. We were a party of 4 couples so the use of the comfy lounge with big squashy sofas, woodburner and tv was great for relaxing after a day taking in the Rutland air. Thanks again Rob for a lovely stay and we hope to see you again one day!

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed has fantastic views over the water. What a fantastic view to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    33
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned home from a lovely 2 night stay at the Lakeside B&B on Rutland Water. Arrived to a beautiful sun set view on the lake and a warm welcome at the B&B. Stayed in the cosy twin single room with en-suite bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Extremely clean and comfortable - just what my sister and I wanted from a relaxing weekend break. Breakfast was top notch - good quality full english breakfast well cooked and presented. After exploring neighbouring Oakham, Stamford, Exton and Clipsham during the days (all in easy reach of the B&B) we returned to a roaring wood-burner fire in the communal living room where we watched TV before retiring for the night. Rob is a perfect host, a lovely guy with a great sense of humour. Excellent - Highly recommended. Thank you Rob for a lovely weekend. Catherine & Anna

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay at Rob's place. Comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast and last but not least meeting the host with the most who made us feel very welcome. Will definitely return here in the future.
Elaine, Barbara & Alan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandrob, Owner at Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for those kind words. It's always a pleasure.
May I remind future guests that Winter can be a lovely time for a lake side break. Log burning stove in guest lounge overlooking the water, cycling, sailing, windsurfing, golf, birdwatching, stunning sunsets, gourmet pubs. We can arrange interesting, guided Winter walks around the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were looking for a short break in nice surroundings, with a relaxed atmosphere and a little bit of comfort. This B&B lived up to all of these. Rob was away on a fishing trip but his son Alex did a great job of looking after us, as did Dobra who made our vegetarian breakfasts. The setting is great, facilities extremely good, some really interesting walks round about and some good pubs for evening meals (especially the Fox and Hounds at Exton). We would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Rob, the host is friendly bubbly and greeted us with a warm smile. Very welcoming. Smashing brekkie too. Our double room was clean and lovely with a really comfy bed. The only downside was an extra single bed (I guess for families) which took up some valuable space in the room.
Best bit: the sunset across the lake... just a 10 second stroll around the corner to the lake and you're greeted by the amazing sound of the birds across the lake going to roost and the beautiful glow of the sun as it sets on the horizon. We took a cheeky bottle of port to enjoy a glass or two on the bench while we enjoyed the view. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very friendly atmosphere, Rob makes the stay very pleasant indeed. Very comfortable room and lounge. The position, just next to the lake, is excellent. And to cap it all, a very good full cooked breakfast that sets you up for the whole day. I will come back, and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here on Rutland water. Rob is a great host, very easy going, with a great local knowledge and a genuine character. His breakfasts have become a thing of legend and they are very good indeed, a good start for any day's activity.
The room we had could have benefited from a bit of modernisation, it felt like things were in the room for the sake of being there and also lacked a bit of privacy being front facing. Having said that, it was very light and airy and had a great view of the water so the negatives are far outweighed.
I will, and have already, recommended this place to friends and family looking for a quiet, relaxing and hassle free break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevej2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
0.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside B&B

Property: Lakeside B&B
Address: The Lodge Stamford Road | Rutland Water, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, peaceful Countryside location, right on the shores of Rutland Water at Barnsdale. Offering ground floor ensuite guest accommodation. Friendly, welcoming with stunning lakeside views and sunsets over the bay. 4 poster lakeview double room available. Lakeview guest lounge. Fly Fishing, cycling, walking, birdwatching on the doorstep. Former lodge on the banks of Rutland Water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside B&B Oakham, Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing