We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for Ross/Symonds Yat/Forest of Dean ... Great food and hospitality”
Review of Castle Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2009

From the moment my girlfriend and I walked into the Reception at this charming cottage style hotel, we knew we were in for a wonderful stay.

A young lady showed us up to our room, which was lovely and old fashioned with exposed beams, an extremely comfortable bed and a bathroom and small landing up a set of stairs into a loft.

A warning to be careful when going up the stairs though, as it misses a step very early on, the only other problem was the hot water took a while to warm up and it had a shower attachment that didn't fit the bath taps. But by no means did this distract from the enjoyment of our stay.

As it was Valentine's Day, we booked into it's Cedar Restaurant for an evening meal, also breakfast was included in it's reasonable rate of £68 for the night. We also booked the Sunday Carvery before going to the races at Hereford the following day.

The hotel is perfectly positioned, bang on the Wilton roundabout, a brisk walk to Ross on Wye town centre, 500 yards to the welcoming signpost. We wouldn't say overlooking the River but extremely close. It is any easy car ride to Symonds Yat and the Forest of Dean, the racetracks of Hereford, Chepstow and no doubt Worcester and Cheltenham.

What set this apart though was it's staff and it's food. Absolutely outstanding in all aspects.

We first met 'Maria' on a busy Valentine's night, and though under pressure she coped brilliantly. The food and service was stunning to say the least and could put many a top restaurant to shame.

On Sunday we met Carlos a charming man with high standards , his staff clearly trained and aware of this too. The Sunday lunch superb, with him carving and speaking warmly to his customers.

Clearly the majority of the food cooked and prepared in the kitchens to his style, and beautiful to taste.

Carlos and Maria, married for some 30 years, clearly have a connection and natural instincts to create a lovely atmosphere for it's customers.

My girlfriend and I, now Fiance, I proposed at Symonds Yat Rock, will hold special memories of this wonderful part of South Wales and am sure to return to it's wonderful scenery and hospitality shown by the Castle Lodge Hotel.

To cap it all we backed the first race winner at Hereford at 33/1 after our room no. 9 - it won by a distance !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinkystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2008

we stayed at the castle lodge for two nights. the hotel is really comfortable, very clean and the menu is excellent with no end of fish dishes to choose from.
the owners, Carlos and Maria are just great they are so friendly always got time to have a chat and nothing is too much trouble.
the room rates are very good and the hotel postion is very good to, just a minutes drive into Ross on wye.
we would totally recomend this hotel and would love to go back sometime.
if you get to read this Carlos and Maria thankyou so much for a lovely stay.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank julieandmick2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you. We do work hard to make your stay with us enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I have just returned from the Castle Lodge Hotel and can honestly say it was fantastic. We stayed over as we had family and friends who were also visiting this beautiful part of the country. Carlos and Maria are really lovely people. Maria was he first person we met, what a wonderful lady. She made us feel completely at home. She is dedicated and a true professional but most of all she has a wonderful personaility and a great sense of humour and cannot do enough for her guests. Carlos is her husband who is also a wonderful host. He has a huge passion for food and ...WELL...the food is second to none. Starters are amazing, mains are wonderfully inventive serving pasta, steaks, chicken and if fish is your passion...you might have died and gone to fish heaven, the menu is highly recommended, there is something for everyone, even our daughter who is a vegetarian was easy to please BUT..the desserts are not for diet conscious, I have a sweet tooth and they indeed stole the show...YUMMY .all home made (A rarity these days).

Our whole time was unhurried, we started with a drink in the lovely bar, then had our starters, we were always asked if we were ready for our next course. The wine list is also highly recommended, my husband was delighted to also find that they serve ice cold Spanish lager.

I would most definitely recommend this little gem of a hotel, but even if you don't want to stay try the restaurant, you will be back time and time again...fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoraineGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

The Castle Lodge Hotel, Wilton, on the edge of Ross on Wye, an area of beauty set in the Herefordshire countryside, offered a warm and generous welcome to our party. Nighly room rates are reasonable and their Sunday Carvery lunch, in my opinion, the best in the area.

We held our annual dinner in the hotel's cedar resturaunt.
The owners, Carlos and Maria could not have been more helpful.
Their staff were polite and helpful; the hotel clean ( the loo,s spotless).

We chose our own menu, and the room was set up to our liking.
On the night the food was well prepared and presented with generous portions. The sweet trolley was exceptionally generous offering over a dozen , 'made on the premises' choices.
All our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and I would recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend away as well as a more formal occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari-Ellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your meal. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

My wife and I were travelling to Cardiff on business 21/4/08 when car trouble left us stranded on the M50 a few miles from Ross on Wye the pick up truck driver was very helpful and rang around to get us a room and he told us the only hotel that actually answered their phone was the Castle, obviously one would think in two ways is it because it,s so bad or because they actually are professional enough to make themselves availible at awkward hours as it was now nearing midnight we did not question.
Anyway if we did have any trepidation it was removed as soon as we got to the hotel where the owner was there waiting for us with a sympathetic smile and a philosophical outlook which was refreshing and probably got us through the initial trauma of our situation,we were greeted booked in and shown to our room within minutes in a very efficient manner which helped no end as we were both very tired,the owner even mentioned that if we were late for breakfast it was not a problem "so dont worry about a thing"
I have read a review from another visitor to the hotel and I must admit I dont recognise the descriptions he provides of the staff and the owners of the Castle Lodge,as for his physical description of the hotel like the reviewer we have also stayed in hotels all over the world and I have never stayed in a hotel that is not in need of some attention as after all they are at the mercy of us the guest.
The rooms at the Castle Lodge are appropriate to the cost of a stay there and are comfortable in fact despite our reason for being there I havent slept so well in a long time, so for any prospective visitors to the Castle Lodge take our word for it the place is great the owners and staff are friendly warm and very helpful also the steak au poivre is to die for they also have an extensive fish menu which if the food we ate is anything to go by you cant lose.
Many thanks to Carlos and Maria and their staff.

Mr and Mrs J Lloyd

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jlloyd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Having travelled as a single older woman, i found the family environment of this quant little setting quite charming, and the upfront honesty of the staff a refreshing change. Their willingness to chat and offer any assistance more than welcome. Sure there are hotels around that pamper you, but it is places like this that make you feel more than welcome

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Neri_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I've travelled most of the world and stayed in some very poor accommodation in countries like India, Sri Lanka & Pakistan. The £2 a night I paid for floor space in India seems luxurious compared to the Castle Lodge Hotel. I've never experienced such an unwelcoming place in my life. Rooms are gloomy and extremley uncomfortable, but not as uncomfortable as the Manager makes you feel. I quote 'I don't like customers' is one of many classic comments from the manager. 'I will lock you out' is another. But it wasn't until after I tried to complain over the phone when the staff hung up on me I really started to get annoyed. I'm asking for a full refund, If I don't get it, I'm reporting him to the British Toursim Hotel Authority.
Never stay in this hotel, especially when there are so many beautiful alternatives around the area.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

The hotel is under new management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
499 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,158 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Hotel

Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $72 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the banks of the Wye, this lovely 16th-century country house awaits to warmly welcome you. Our family-run hotel offers its guests a stylish and friendly atmosphere. Dine with us in the Wilton restaurant serving the best of local and international cuisine (non-residents always welcome). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Castle Lodge Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing