We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great stay”
Review of YHA Wye Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Wye Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had our very first experience of a stay in a youth hostel and loved it. The location of this hostel is stunning on the banks of the river and the hostel itself just lovely. Our room was clean and comfy with 2 sets of bunk beds, 2 chairs and a sink. The toilets and showers were really good and very clean. We all had a great nights sleep followed by a great breakfast, all you can eat buffet including cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, toast (brown & white), coissants, bacon, sausages, scrambled egg, hash browns, beans, mushrooms fruit juice tea and coffee all plentiful and delishous a great way to set you up for the day to explore this amazing area. There is a small reception area that serves tea, coffee and local beers and ciders, and there are activities available such as archery the later we did not try but my hubby did try the local beer sat on the terrace over looking the wonderful scenery. Just wish we had discovered youth hostleing when the children were younger because this would be a great family experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for YHA Wye Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I hadn't been hostelling for 20 years but we really were glad we had tried it again after our one night stay at Welsh Bicknor. The Hostel is approached down a very steep single track hair pin bend. Fantastic location, surrounded by forest right on the Wye Valley Way walking path, next to a little church on the banks of the River Wye. You can camp at the hostel and some people had pitched some very charming looking wigwams outside but these were not part of the YHA facility unfortunately as we would have loved to have tried staying in those another time. There is a canoe jetty there and people were doing canoe-camping trips. Lots of walks nearby, Goodrich castle is up the road (didn't visit due to weather) and lots to do in the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean.
Hostel interior basic, comfortable, clean. We had a family room with 2 sets of bunk beds, a couple of chairs, plenty of hooks for towels/coats, a basin and view of the forest. Room was quite dark as only one dim light. You no longer have to take your own bedding its provided (gone are the days of sheet sleeping bags!) and you make your own beds. Very comfortable nights sleep we did take a blackout blind were glad we did as the curtain didn't fit fantastically well so think the children would have woken up very early otherwise!
Communal facilities in the hostel include 2 lounges and there were toys/books/games etc, you could buy alcohol from reception including local beers and ciders, self catering kitchen in an annex. Basic furnishings but all comfortable.
We did archery the next day and this was excellent. The manager of the YHA teaches you and it is only £3 per head, its on site and a good opportunity for all the family to try this, we really enjoyed it.
The downside was the disastorous breakfast which I would give a 'terrible' rating for. We had paid £17 for this in advance which is the same price as you pay at a premier inn for breakfast for a family. We weren't expecting it to be the same standard but neither were we expecting them to have run out of cooked breakfast and to have to ask for milk, juice, tea, coffee, cups, napkins, bowls etc. Nothing had been replenished and there was nothing much to eat. This was at 8.40am, breakfast runs till 9am. They hadn't started cooking more food as it began to run low. The chef was very embarassed and apologetic and various versions of events were given as to why it had happened - it seems that many more guests than expected had come for breakfast. Clearly some simple ticketing system where they give you a breakfast voucher on check in is needed. Eventually we did get some odds and ends of breakfast and some freshly cooked eggs but overall it was the worst breakfast experience I have ever had and we would take our own next time. Manager was apologetic and did give us a refund. Did feel sorry for all the staff and management as they clearly work hard to provide a good service and something had gone wrong on this occasion - I would not think it is always like this!

Overall we had a great time and we would return (taking own brekkie!). We have already booked up to go to another youth hostel in the area.
For dinner we went to the Ye Old Ferrie Inn in Symonds Yat West which was good, the Cross Keys Pub also nearby gets great reviews on TripAdvisor but was fully booked when we called them for a table.

Price: we paid £64 for the room

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley. I am sorry to hear your breakfast experience was not up to our usual high standards. We have now invested in a new oven which allows quick replenishment of fresh food cooked throughout breakfast delivery.

We look forward to welcoming you to YHA Wye Valley in the future.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Recently camped here in a group of 40 people (adults and children). Didn't venture round the hostel so I can't comment.

Can't fault the location, its a lovely part of the country.

The campsite is below the hostel next to the river Wye. There is a cold water tap. Its a bit of a walk up to the hostel where the facilities are and in my opinion it the facilities for the campers that lets the camping side down.
There is only 2 toilets made available for camping. (1 mens, 1 ladies) along with 3 compact showers.
The floors in the showers can get quite grotty so it would be nice to see a squeegee or mop to give the them a once over before or after.

All in all though it was a good weekend.. :o)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

You will be glad to know we have invested in our campsite recently and not have 2 portaloo's on the campsite for guests use as well as a new fire pit with seating.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the hostel campsite for 1 night during the recent big freeze! I didn't go into the hostel itself so I can't comment on the rooms etc.

However, the location is great on the banks of the Wye but be warned vehicle access is down a steep drive with a 180 degree hairpin bend just up from the hostel so if you have a big vehicle or are a bit of a nervous driver this may not be your cup of tea. We have a VW camper and it was ok but we did have to do a bit of forward and back to get round the bend.

Other members of our family tent camped in the campsite which is the field next to the hostel but vehicles weren't allowed there so we stopped in the bottom car park. There was no one else camping (probably put off by the cold) but that was a good thing as there is only 1 toilet for men and 1 for women. We were only staying one night so I didn't go inside the hostel to check out the showers.

There is a very well equipped kitchen for use by people staying in the hostel and campers which we used in the hope it would be a little warmer in there than outside! Again it was fine as there was only our group but if there was anyone else staying and cooking it would have been a bit of a squash.

We walked in both directions along the Wye and there are lots of footpaths for exploring. We also went to the pub on the other side of the river which was ok.

So the location is great but it felt an expensive stay - we aren't YHA members and so it was £26.00 for one night. Yes the kitchen facilities were good and we don't have a problem staying in a carpark but we were very glad that we were the only group there otherwise the facilities would have been quite stretched.

But we did have the most beautiful sunny 6.00am dawn with a beautiful frost (and ice inside the van!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hostel promised so much, but failed to deliver in a big way.

Finding out after asking a disinterested member of staff that the drying room was not working, we forced to put on our wet cycling gear the following morning.

We had our dinner in the inadequately staffed canteen and it wouldn't be too out of line to suggest that the food was diabolical - partly over cooked, partly under cooked, 100% dry. The dessert was nothing short of a joke either. Granted this is a Youth Hostel, but the food and stay were by no means cheap and well below the standard of other YHA's that we stayed in on our trip.

Wouldn't take much to turn these faults around, so get it sorted!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room where we stayed - after leaving our wet clothes in there overnight, it sm...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are dissapointed to see you did not enjoy your stay at YHA Wye Valley.

rest assured we have taken your comments on board and should you visit again in the future I am certain you would have an enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards

Stuart

Stuart Chaplin
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at the campsite adjacent to the YMCA for 2 nights on my stag do weekend.

We had a big crew all camping and a timetable of fun. The crew at the YMCA were accomodating although nearly threw a spanner in the works by announcing that we had to buy all drinks from them and no BYO! This was quickly laughed off and we set to creating a camp and settling in.

Facilities were basic, but clean and had options for food and bee if we needed it, The campsite was perfect, tucked onto the plain by the river Wye surrounded by hills and woodland.

We all had a fun time, no real issues and not at a huge cost per person. Only downside was the change in rules which happened a bit last minute and the number of loos for campers was very limited. All in all through, great weekend, will be coming here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RColtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

YHA Wye Valley is a licensed premise and this does include the campsite. In order to meet our licensing obligations and ensure we are not liable to prosecution our policy is to not allow alcohol to be bought or consumed on to the premise that has not been sold by ourselves.

We offer a fully stocked bar with local ales, Cider, Beer, Wines and soft drinks.

We thank you for your understanding and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart

Stuart Chaplin
Deputy Manager

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The YHA at Welsh Bicknor is tucked away on the side of a valley overlooking the River Wye. The peaceful location and amazing views from the terrace (particularly when enjoyed with one of the delicious local ales/beers from the bar) make this a stand out YHA for me.
There are all the usual amenities, including two lounges (one with TV) and drying room as well as kitchen facilities. We did not make use of these as we ate out one night (The Cross Keys - amazing!) and had the hostel cooked food the other night, which was also excellent for the price. There seemed to be plenty of toilets and showers as I never had to wait.
My only gripe was that there were a lot of children staying at the hostel while we (a group of 25-35 year olds) were there who seemed to have been let loose by their parents to run riot in the lounges while they enjoyed some peace. But it wasn't too bad. Oh, and the noise from other rooms with creaking floorboards and slamming doors was as you would expect from an old property. Probably worth packing some ear plugs.

Room Tip: I imagine that the two ground floor rooms adjacent to the lounges could get VERY noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross-on-Wye
2.4 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
493 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
479 reviews
4.3 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn On The Wye
The Inn On The Wye
#19 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wye Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wye Valley

Address: | Goodrich village, Ross-on-Wye, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $29 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Wye Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your YHA Wye Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wye Valley Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing