We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camped at the hostel”
Review of YHA Wye Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Wye Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the hostel campsite for 1 night during the recent big freeze! I didn't go into the hostel itself so I can't comment on the rooms etc.

However, the location is great on the banks of the Wye but be warned vehicle access is down a steep drive with a 180 degree hairpin bend just up from the hostel so if you have a big vehicle or are a bit of a nervous driver this may not be your cup of tea. We have a VW camper and it was ok but we did have to do a bit of forward and back to get round the bend.

Other members of our family tent camped in the campsite which is the field next to the hostel but vehicles weren't allowed there so we stopped in the bottom car park. There was no one else camping (probably put off by the cold) but that was a good thing as there is only 1 toilet for men and 1 for women. We were only staying one night so I didn't go inside the hostel to check out the showers.

There is a very well equipped kitchen for use by people staying in the hostel and campers which we used in the hope it would be a little warmer in there than outside! Again it was fine as there was only our group but if there was anyone else staying and cooking it would have been a bit of a squash.

We walked in both directions along the Wye and there are lots of footpaths for exploring. We also went to the pub on the other side of the river which was ok.

So the location is great but it felt an expensive stay - we aren't YHA members and so it was £26.00 for one night. Yes the kitchen facilities were good and we don't have a problem staying in a carpark but we were very glad that we were the only group there otherwise the facilities would have been quite stretched.

But we did have the most beautiful sunny 6.00am dawn with a beautiful frost (and ice inside the van!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hostel promised so much, but failed to deliver in a big way.

Finding out after asking a disinterested member of staff that the drying room was not working, we forced to put on our wet cycling gear the following morning.

We had our dinner in the inadequately staffed canteen and it wouldn't be too out of line to suggest that the food was diabolical - partly over cooked, partly under cooked, 100% dry. The dessert was nothing short of a joke either. Granted this is a Youth Hostel, but the food and stay were by no means cheap and well below the standard of other YHA's that we stayed in on our trip.

Wouldn't take much to turn these faults around, so get it sorted!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room where we stayed - after leaving our wet clothes in there overnight, it sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are dissapointed to see you did not enjoy your stay at YHA Wye Valley.

rest assured we have taken your comments on board and should you visit again in the future I am certain you would have an enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards

Stuart

Stuart Chaplin
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at the campsite adjacent to the YMCA for 2 nights on my stag do weekend.

We had a big crew all camping and a timetable of fun. The crew at the YMCA were accomodating although nearly threw a spanner in the works by announcing that we had to buy all drinks from them and no BYO! This was quickly laughed off and we set to creating a camp and settling in.

Facilities were basic, but clean and had options for food and bee if we needed it, The campsite was perfect, tucked onto the plain by the river Wye surrounded by hills and woodland.

We all had a fun time, no real issues and not at a huge cost per person. Only downside was the change in rules which happened a bit last minute and the number of loos for campers was very limited. All in all through, great weekend, will be coming here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RColtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

YHA Wye Valley is a licensed premise and this does include the campsite. In order to meet our licensing obligations and ensure we are not liable to prosecution our policy is to not allow alcohol to be bought or consumed on to the premise that has not been sold by ourselves.

We offer a fully stocked bar with local ales, Cider, Beer, Wines and soft drinks.

We thank you for your understanding and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart

Stuart Chaplin
Deputy Manager

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The YHA at Welsh Bicknor is tucked away on the side of a valley overlooking the River Wye. The peaceful location and amazing views from the terrace (particularly when enjoyed with one of the delicious local ales/beers from the bar) make this a stand out YHA for me.
There are all the usual amenities, including two lounges (one with TV) and drying room as well as kitchen facilities. We did not make use of these as we ate out one night (The Cross Keys - amazing!) and had the hostel cooked food the other night, which was also excellent for the price. There seemed to be plenty of toilets and showers as I never had to wait.
My only gripe was that there were a lot of children staying at the hostel while we (a group of 25-35 year olds) were there who seemed to have been let loose by their parents to run riot in the lounges while they enjoyed some peace. But it wasn't too bad. Oh, and the noise from other rooms with creaking floorboards and slamming doors was as you would expect from an old property. Probably worth packing some ear plugs.

Room Tip: I imagine that the two ground floor rooms adjacent to the lounges could get VERY noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed for one night on a cycle tour. Isolated location on other side of a hill from main roads so a bit of a slog cycling there. Great location on the banks of the Wye. Lots of cycle paths and footpaths nearby for walking. Friendly staff. Food was plentiful and had a home cooked taste. Room was fine though lack of sockets for recharging electrical items. Showers were a little luke warm. Overall a good hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baz069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Welsh Bicknor's refund policy is, basically, no refunds. They supposedly have a procedure where you jump through hoops to beg them for a partial refund of your money, but good luck getting ANYTHING at all that you paid refunded to you.

Oh, and if you book by phone or email, don't expect them to tell you about this. No, instead it is buried on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
Thank cm1585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWyeValley, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2015

Thank you for your review,

To confirm YHA takes customer data seriously and has a robust system in place to ensure our customers data is handled securely.

whilst refunds cannot be processed at the hostel, Families and Individuals can claim 90% of a booking back if they give 24 or more hours notice of cancellation. Refunds are dealt with by our Head Office and are processed within 30 days of receipt of a refund claim form.

Kind Regards

YHA Wye Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomvrolijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
3.7 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
251 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
221 reviews
4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,170 reviews
4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wye Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wye Valley

Address: | Goodrich village, Ross-on-Wye, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $32 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Wye Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your YHA Wye Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wye Valley Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing