We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home.”
Granton Coach House
Goodrich
Nr Ross on Wye
Herefordshire HR9 6JE

In the beautiful Wye Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Granton Coach House
Goodrich
Nr Ross on Wye
Herefordshire HR9 6JE

In the beautiful Wye Valley
Door leading from verandha Exposed old beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Granton Coach House
Goodrich
Nr Ross on Wye
Herefordshire HR9 6JE

In the beautiful Wye Valley
Door leading from verandha
Exposed old beams
Cosy log burner
Dining area
fully fitted and equipped kitchen
kitchen and living area
Living area
Lofty bedroom with exposed beams and huge bed
Bedroom leading into en-suite
superking bed
en-suite shower room
en-suite shower room
Verandha and patio
Bluebells in woodland on Coppet Hill
A wintry scene of the Coach House
Nearby Ross on Wye
Goodrich Castle run by English Heritage
The old bridge over the river Monow at Monmouth
The river Wye at Redbrook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Journey72...
1 review
“Home from home.”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A very comfortable space, very well presented and we especially enjoyed the verandah.!
A great base and location to discover the surrounding area and beyond, with lots of information available in the property and from the owners to make the most of a holiday.
We really enjoyed our time at this property and felt very relaxed in a home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to post it. Hope to see you again one day! All the best
Liz and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revangeld...
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“An absolute must for anyone”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a very comfortable stay at the Granton House. A very nice holiday home that has been restored with attention to detail. All conforts are present. Pub with good food within walking distance. It was a pleasure to meet the owners, Liz and John. The area offers a lot, eg walking, the river Wye and so many nice places to visit which are easy to reach in one hour drive.Absolutely recommended. Rens & Frannie van Gelder.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2017
Thank you for this great review! We too enjoyed meeting you both and hope that we may see you again one day. Liz and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming to the Coach house for 7 years now and always have a great holiday. The accommodation is really comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything provided for you. There is lots to see and do in the surrounding area and the cottage is perfectly placed in beautiful countryside. Good places to eat close by and Liz and John are fantastic hosts - nothing is too much trouble! We will be back next year!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you Mick and Jen for leaving such a fantastic review. I can hardly believe it is 7 years since your first visit to the coach House! No doubt the time will fly before we see you again next summer. Look forward to hearing more of Mick's tales from the riverbank/fishing! It is always lovely seeing you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenAshd...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage for long Easter weekend with new baby”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for our first trip away with our new baby when she was 1 month old, choosing it as a charming place where there were lots of relatively low key things to do in the local area. It was absolutely perfect for this and we had a wonderful holiday. It is in the lovely small village of Goodrich with its castle and a great local pub and lots of interesting things further afield - we did lovely walks at Symonds Yat and in the Forest of Dean.

Liz and John were wonderful hosts - attentive, friendly and helpful without being intrusive - and the cottage was well-equipped, clean and nicely decorated, giving the impression of being newly decorated but in a traditional style, with plenty of space for 2 people but with a cosy feel. A cot and baby bath were both provided which was great.

N.B. It was a fantastic place to stay with a tiny baby, but probably wouldn't be great with a toddler due to steps.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you very much Helen for leaving such a great review. You managed to see a lot during your stay. I'm so pleased that your first holiday with your newborn lived up to expectations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A gem of a find!”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Granton Coach House is stunning, a real little gem! We arrived after a 3 hour journey to find this wonderful place, set in the grounds of the owners (the lovely Liz & John) house in the charming little village of Goodrich. It's a ideal place for some peace & quiet as you are surround by very picturesque countryside......so lovely to hear birdsong & church bells after city life! The Coach House is perfectly equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break......it offers excellent accommodation with a log burner, superking size bed, perfectly laid out kitchen and with sash windows & beams to boot!! We couldn't fault anything & had a blissful week staying here as there are lots of places to see.....a lovely, local little pub called the Cross Keys Inn and my favourite....Tintern Abbey so would definitely recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you so much Nikki for posting a review on TA. I hope you will return one day and see those places that you didn't get to see this time round. Tintern at the moment is surrounded by bluebell woods...very uplifting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuernseyG...
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The coach house did not disappoint. It is small but very well equipped and exceedingly comfortable. The owners genuinely want you to enjoy your stay and were extremely helpful, not to mention likeable, but not intrusive despite the fact you are staying by their home. Tthe location is in a pretty village and getting around the area and further afield is easy. There are endless things to do whether you want good food, bird watching, animal watching, national trust and Welsh/English heritage, gardens or just wandering around looking at the beautiful scenery. You can be active or a couch potato and still enjoy yourself!. I believe wifi is abit dodgy in the area but we had no problem outside the owners' house. There is a shady woodland garden and verandah to enjoy nature, and a small table and chairs in front of the main house which gets sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Outside chairs not that comfortable!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our coach house. John and I enjoyed meeting you both and are glad that you had a good time exploring the beautiful Wye Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic cosy cottage”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just back from this fantastic little cosy guest house in the lovely village of Goodrich. Well equipped and comfortable guest house , with lovely hosts. The bed is soooo big and soft and night so quiet that a good night sleep is assured. Great location with lots to see and do and so many good eating places around.. strongly recommend for fab break.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our Coach House. It is perhaps the best source of advertising that we have when guests can say how their holiday was.Perhaps we will see you again one day.
Liz and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing