We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of Ross”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Court House
Ranked #24 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A comfy bed, a snuggly duvet....hang on I'm not Lenny Henry and this is not an 'out of the box ideti-kit hotel' but a lovely B&B in a 400 year old plus building in Ross-on-Wye that offers the above and so much more.
The Old court House is a delightfully individual building with lots of beams and creaking floorboards. The welcome is warm and the smiley owners are more than happy to chat and make you feel welcome throughout your stay.
Bedrooms are cosy and the beds are good quality with pristine white linen. The shower room was small but more than adequate with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast is one of the best that I have tasted in any UK hotel and sets you up for the day exploring the locality.
The Old Court House is a B&B that does just that. There is no evening meal option but they do provide sparkling chin, knives, forks and wuine glasses should you wish to bring back a take-away from one of the several in the town. They even provide an in room fridge to chill that bottle of wine or lager.
I visited in the summer but will be back for a winter visit when I can enjoy a real log fire in the open fireplace in the room

Room Tip: The building is old so there are steep steps throughout - so if you have mobility problemsask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Col03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 50 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We managed to park on the road behind the b& b as there are no parking spaces adjoining.
We did have a four poster bed room but felt it could do with a little updating. There was a small avocado coloured sink set in a worktop with a curtain underneath and just looked a bit tatty. The shower room was small but adequate, but felt a bit exposed as there is a window right by the cubicle and with the light there would be a lovely view of one's bottom half from the garden!
There was a lovely big fireplace which we would imagine was lovely on a cold evening, and indeed there was evidence of a recent fire as the ashes were still there and it was a bit dusty.
However, the bed was really comfortable and we had a delicious breakfast the next morning, so we would probably stay again as it is so well situated, and we enjoyed planning how we would re vamp the room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yve54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCourtHouse53, Owner at The Old Court House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hi Yve54,
Yes sorry about the parking but we are in the High Street, and you can walk to the shops / pubs etc. Having said that we would love a garage or even just a parking spot.
The shower is a little exposed but the window is very small and leaded, and the shower has obscured glass, otherwise we would have set seats up in the garden.
Probably my fault about the ashes in the fire, I have tried explaining to the wife about Cinderella being a girl but it does no good.
As for the avocado sink I'm sure it will come back one day. We would love to hear you comments on a re vamp and if you share them with use we will do our best to comply.
Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was due to arrive really late, and needed to leave early each morning: That was no problem, and I still got the full breakfast

A wonderfull bed, up gloriously twisting stairs, comfy and cosy with good book supply. Wonderful comfy duvet, small but perfectly adequate shower - and my own microwave and a fridge so I could keep food fresh!

Very very good.

Downsides - parking around the back of the building, and climbing the old staircase - but the goods way outweighed the slight inconvenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie6nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I booked this b and b as a birthday treat for my husband .It was chosen especially for the four poster bed and the log fire .when we arrived what we got was a double bed and no fire .When i asked about the four poster rooms i was told they were already booked and although they were sorry the double room was all that was available .I felt very upset but i did not want to spoil my husbands birthday so we decided to stay anyway. The room was not very clean and not decorated to a very good standard, also on the web site and their notice board they said there was a fridge in every room ,we looked everywhere but could not find it.However the breakfast was great and with a little bit of work the rest of it could be too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 49plumhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCourtHouse53, Owner at The Old Court House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We are sorry you were disappointed with your room, and the breakdown in communication over booking the four poster room, if you had let us know and the room was available then it would have been yours,
Regarding cleanliness I am the first to admit that its not that easy in a 400 year old building and we are a bit short of wipe clean surfaces, however we will re double our efforts.
Sorry you could not find the fridge, all our rooms do have them, I can only think that yours may have broken down and has now been replaced.
If you would like to contact us re another stay, we will ensure you get the room with the four poster, and the fridge with the bottle of wine in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on Saturday 24/3 through to Sunday the 25/3.
We originally booked a four poster room with working open fire, but due to another booking being cancelled when we arrived we had the choice of all 3. Both the four poster bedrooms looked nice, having an ensuite, choice of reading material and a fridge and microwave in them. We opted for the more modern of the 4 available.
After we chose, Tim, (the manager), asked us what time we'd be down for breakfast then advised us of a few watering holes in Ross. Our trip had had a good start and we were happy.
We visited 4 pubs and they were all nice, the royal behind the hotel was the nicest, and dearest but easy walking distance after a few sherbets. The hope and anchor pub by the river was nice, Sun beaming down with a cider in hand. Lovely!
We got back to the hotel around 7.30 pm. Our room had a very comfortable mattress and quilt. Made for a lovely nights sleep.
The only down falls with our room was that the flow rate on the hot water is very low, took about 25/30 minutes to run a bath. The other niggle was the single pane windows, the didn't keep a lot of noise out from the street so we were woken up in the night. I know it keeps with the look of the building but it would help if it had double glazing.
Breakfast was scrummy, well cooked and on time. We had 2 different types of egg which Tim obliged to make.
We paid £70 for the room and breakfast. I think this price was about right but maybe £60 would have been more reflective.
We would definitely stay again, and advise anyone visiting the area to stay here. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were looking for a romantic option where to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday, and we really found the right place. The room is very nice and the real log fireplace is just unbeliavable and fantastic !!! Also, the owner Tim&Sue were really welcoming and respectful of our privacy. Good breakfast, with vegeterian menu' where required. Great location to discover the beautiful surroundings with the Forest of Dean. Just a little uncomfortbale the bathroom's tiny size, but never mind. We were absolutely satisfied. We will definitely go back and we would suggest this place to all people who wants to save the old traditions. Perfect choice for a couple.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chrilondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Delightful guest house ideally located in the heart of Ross on Wye. The bedroom was truly beautiful and having a log fire in the bedroom was an amazing and unusual experience. The toasting package available as an extra is excellent value for money and well worth it. The owners are friendly and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. If you want somewhere to eat in the evening the Royal Hotel, which is literally round the corner is a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
155 reviews
0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Address: 53 High Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $100 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Court House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Old Court House, a 17th Century Bed and Breakfast in central Ross-on-Wye offering unique period character and modern comforts. We offer Bed and Breakfast accommodation with character: comfortable beds in well-equipped rooms; a tasty breakfast; either full English prepared to order or the “Lighter” alternative. Guest rooms are generous in size and well furnished with comfortable beds and duvets or blankets at your preference are all en-suite with showers and baths in some rooms have Wi-Fi are equipped with 'Freeview' colour television, tea and coffee making facilities; cups; glasses; cutlery; bottle openers and a refrigerator. Hair dryers are available and we can help if you have left something behind: shaving needs; toothpaste and brushes; mending kits. If you wish to ‘eat-in’ then we are pleased to provide the crockery, cutlery and glasses. Choose your complementary newspaper before you retire and we will deliver it to your door. We can provide a cot or similar for the youngest guest; also smaller beds for children wishing to sleep in the same room as their parents. We offer the basic facilities for preparing babies’ and very young children’s own feeds and meals. We can organise pack lunches and picnics from the nearby Delicatessen. Breakfast The Lighter Option? cereals (hot and cold) and Muesli; yoghurts; a range of fresh fruits;; toast; fruit juices; teas; coffees; hot chocolate to drink. The Full Option? fine tasty bacon and sausages; fresh mushrooms and tomatoes; black pudding; fresh free range eggs cooked to your preference: fried ( ‘sunny-side-up’ or ‘over-easy’) or boiled or poached or scrambled; hash browns; fried bread; toast and fruit juices; teas; coffees; hot chocolate to drink. Special needs and preferences? Vegetarian; Vegan; weight watching: we will do what we can to help if you tell us when you book. Locale There is a wide range of local pubs and restaurants offering menus from many difference countries (English; European; Indian; Chinese) and all are within a short walk. Ross has banks and pharmacies within 50 yards of our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing