We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food quality - Complaint simply dismissed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have visited the Old Court numerous times over the last couple of years and putting it simply the food quality is going downhill, judging by the reviews on tripadvisor our experience isn't unique. We decided to give the Old Court another go after a previous poor experience, but again we were disappointed to the point where this time we felt the need to complain.

Now, if a customer complains, then surely something must be wrong! Not according to the Old Court management. It seems as though they have a stock response explaining that the food is butchered, baked, prepared on site and poor quality is impossible. Obviously they are so convinced with their standards that they didn't even take the time to look at the food on our plate!!!

No doubt I expect there to be a response from management under this review as per all negative comments, but can I simply highlight the following

- Yes you were renowned for good food, but those perceptions seem to be changing

- If someone complains, at least make the effort to understand why and simply do not dismiss it

- If you have a policy to exchange food, then make all your staff aware. This cannot be used as an excuse on this occasion as we spoke to the manager or assistant manager

- Just because food is butchered, baked, prepared on site, things can go wrong

- The argument we tried it on the day and it was fine, doesn't hold. A complaint was made

- We enjoy the location, and garden so therefore this wouldn't reflect on how we perceive the food. I only put this in here after reading one of your previous management responses saying "In relation to the food, you were not going to enjoy your meal if you did not like where you were sitting." Crazy.


Please, please, please take as much time addressing the concerns of your customers when they complain on the day as you seem to do by responding to negative comments online.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you feel that our food standards are going down, in addition I am sorry that you feel that your complaint was not dealt with properly. As I have mentioned on this website before I think that it is important to let people know on the day about your food instead of writing on review sites. However, even though our policy is to replace meals that are sub standard, this did not happen for you during your last visit. I am sorry I was not hear to deal with your issues and I am interested to know what you ate that was so poor. However, I would be happy to provide you and a guest with a free meal next time you are in the area - if you like it - you could then make a positive review on this site. Please call me at the hotel on 01600 890367 to arrange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for The Old Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 495 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat after spending a few hours at Go Ape nearby. Not knowing the area very well it was going to be a gamble wherever we chose but this one paid off. Great range of ciders and beers and a varied menu too. We opted for the nachos to share between 4 of us and they were best we have had - even better than we have ever had in the States. Thai chicken curry, fish pie, steak and ale pie were spot on, far better than we thought we would get. Will definitely return when next in the area. Very friendly staff too!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yummymummyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our five day break at the Old Court Hotel was very disappointing. The reception area was dark and uninviting. Upon being shown to our bedroom on the first floor,which was accessed through an inner hall to a door which opened to a very narrow steep staircase.The bedroom itself was not adequate and the bathroom very small.There was no residents lounge, only a very dark bar
(in need of a good clean). The food was palatable (but nothing special) served by very young
and inexperienced staff who should be instructed not to greet clientele with "Hi Guys".
Needless to say, we shall not be returning or recommending this Hotel.

Room Tip: No comment
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your visit here earlier in the year. I am sorry that you did not enjoy it. Due to the age and nature of the building being Elizabethan it is more about small rooms than big open spaces. Normally we do recommend to guests staying a lobger period that they book a larger room, sorry if we failed to do this for you. The residents lounge is small, but available for guests. The bar is quite dark, but well used and many people prefer to eat in it due to it being cool in the summer and warm and cosy in the winter.
Finally, I am so sorry you did not like our young staff. We have 40+ staff here, all employed on a permanent basis and whom we get daily compliments about. In fact this is one thing customers love about the Old Court. In the hospitality business we do not get many options to employ older staff as they do not apply for the jobs. I am sorry that you felt let down by this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay here for a friends party. We would just like to comment on the service we received here from the lovely lady manager. She was fantastic and really did her best to cater to everyone's needs... A must visit hotel if only for the service . (A very beautiful and clean hotel too with excellent food!)
We will return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurajay8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This wasn't our first visit and it certainly wont be our last..On this ocassion we only popped in for a couple of drinks with family and friends. The beautiful weather was a major boon and the hotel garden was very busy with happy diners..Great atmosphere, great service and great value..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Darkbird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

As usual a good welcome ,helpful staff and excellent food. The Bar and Restaurant menus have a good range of choices. We stayed in one of the Barn apartments which can be self catering. They are a two minute walk to the main building. Good facilities ,bedroom ,bathroom , lounge and kitchen. Wood may be purchased for the wood burner in the lounge and the central heating is very efficient with thermostatic valves so you can set the temperature . We enjoy staying here .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee1Swadlincote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here one night for our anniversary, in the John Graves Simcoe room - a four-poster located near the far end of the hotel, accessed via a long corridor with intermediate stairs. The room was very pleasant with nice views and the bed was a good size. The bathroom was a little dated but worked fine once the hot water eventually came through - but at the price and given the age of the building, we weren't expecting wet rooms and power showers.

We had a drink in the cosy bar, where there is a small selection of well-kept local real ales, and then had dinner in the Tudor dining room. The food was very good without being pretentious, with pricesmuch as you would expect. Breakfast is cooked to order and served in the conservatory, and was also very nice.

Throughout our short stay, all the staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a character hotel in a scenic area at a reasonable price, this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
5.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
580 reviews
5.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
136 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,136 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court Hotel

Address: Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $86 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing