We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, warm & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We arrived at the hotel on a chilly evening and were welcomed by a smiling lady and a roaring open fire. Immediately we felt that we would like the place. We checked into a old room which had tonnes of character. Not everything matched and the floors were uneven, but this added to the charm. We ate in the Bar, where the menu has lots of choice, food was great, in particular the organic hereford bred lamb steak. The bar staff were friendly and helpful and the place had a good buzz. The bar and conservatory were busy even though it was a cold Tuesday evening at the end of October. The Bathroom was small but the water was piping hot and plenty of it. Breakfast was served by the friendly lady who welcomed us on arrival. We really enjoyed the real kipper breakfast.

We will definitely be back - we loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RuislipSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 527 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2007

Having read the previous reviews, I don't think they stayed in the same hotel!
The hotel is excellent. It is smart, clean, comfy, full of character and very welcoming.
We were upgraded to a four poster room, away from the function room, so that we wouldn't be disturbed by the noise. Instead we had the noise of the kitchen stereo below us, but it was turned down as soon as we asked.
The room was old and quirky with sloping floors and low doorways, but that just added to the charm. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was spotless.
The service in the bar and restaurant couldn't be faulted and the food was fantastic. It was a little pricey, but competitive with other restaurants in the area.
The breakfast was perfectly fine, cereal, toast, yoghurts, fruit and cooked breakfasts on offer.
The hotel's location is excellent, close to the main road, but nestled in the countryside with lots to do around it and the river only a short walk away.
We couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

My partner booked a 2 night stay as a late birthday present for me... we arrived after rush hour and were met by a very pleasant woman.

Our room was clean, however the floor was very uneven - fair enough, not anyone's fault considering the age of the hotel. We had food in the hotel and have to be honest - it was lovely, quite expensive but the service was very good and the food was very nice.

The problems came on Saturday night as our room was directly above the bar.... midnight came and we couldn't sleep due to the noise. We phoned reception and noone answered for about 10 minutes and promised us the noise would stop soon. 2am .. and you could still hear *everything* people were saying and the noise showed no signs it was going to stop.

2:15am on Sunday morning saw us drive 3.5 hours home as at least that way we knew we would get some sleep.

In all fairness, we did get an apology and offered 2 free nights in a different room - so we are off again in a few days - as there *were* good things about the place... but if you do stay.. DON'T stay in the rooms above the bar at the weekend in you value your sleep.

The good things included a butterfly farm opposite the hotel - I am a keen photographer and took some amazing shots.. and there are some lovely castles in the area...

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

We were impressed with the building on our arrival (built 1570) but on entering found the reception area dark and dingy. A pleasant woman greeted us and even called us by name! We were given a room in the add on part of the hotel - not in the original building and as we made our way could smell the new carpet ... not very pleasant. On entering our room we were pleased to see that it had been recently decorated but on further inspection found that the room was in dissarray. Bedside tables were not in the correct place and bedside lights were laying unplugged on the these tables. We also noted how cold the room was, no heating and this was the middle of February, they knew we were coming as they left some chocolates out but they could have turned the heaters on! We plugged the heater in but in doing so had to unplug the TV! No spare sockets! Great!

We also noted in the bathroom that there was no shower - just a hand held one that came off the bath taps ... not what we expected. We were paying £90 a night for this, extortionate. We also noted that although they were probably new curtains, they had been taken up by hand very badly ... one curtain was at least four inches shorter than the other!! The room was clean and smart, but let down by their attention to detail.

Breakfast in the morning did not fare much better ... no choice of fruit juice, just orange, no fresh fruit, and an enormous humming toast making machine taking up most of the buffet table! Most off putting, how much would it take to place toast racks on each table from the kitchen? It must cost a lot to run this machine too for 3-4 hours! We also had dirty cups which had to be changed, attention to detail??!! The only redeeming feature of breakfast was the full English ... excellent, although served on cold plates, attention to detail??!! We were the only ones in the breakfast room and were served by a woman who kept popping in and out of the room after long intervals, calling us "you guys" and leaving dirty finished plates still on our table!

Departure and payment of our account went ok, although we were asked if we wanted to sign the guest book which was open and displayed on the reception desk ... we declined as the book itself was filthy ... torn, crumpled, yellowing pages that had seen better days!

Would we stay again at this hotel? What do you think?

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

Summer 2006
We were due to stay there for two nights, we just about managed one! The photos of the hotel look lovely, and it is a lovely old building, but in a word it’s a dump. The hotel is in a beautiful place and could be very nice, but unfortunately it is like a Butlins holiday camp, (that is not meant to be a slur on people who go to holiday camps, each to there own) but it was not what I expected at all. The garden is noisy, the bar area full of flies. The food we ordered in the bar would have been nice, if the flies had kept off it long enough for us to have eaten it. The room was adequate.
I would just like to add that the woman in charge or the owner or whoever she is, was rude and arrogant, and I was glad enough to depart in the morning, we didn’t even stop to have breakfast.

I would highly recommend Wilton Court Hotel in Ross on Wye www.wiltoncourthotel.com/
In a lovely location, incredibly clean, the food is gorgeous; Oh just one more thing, the staff there have manners! Take note Mrs whoever you are.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JAOJOOLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at The Old Court in July, 2006 and we loved the place. We had a 'standard' room which cost £80 per night including breakfast. Not the cheapest or the biggest room we've ever stayed in, but it was more than adequate. We even had a small balcony overlooking the gardens at the back! The room was very clean, the bed was comfy with fresh bedding, and the bathroom was clean, fully functional (quite rare, in my experience!) and had a bath with shower over rather than a tiny cubicle. It even had a window! The room was clean and tidy and fresh towels had been put out for us ready for our second night. They left a few Fox's Glacier Mints out with the tea and coffee tray, and they'd even replaced the one of those that I ate!!
The staff were, polite, and efficient, and very friendly, particularly one lady but unfortunately I didn't get her name, otherwise I'd have given her a special mention! She chatted to us about all sorts and made us feel very welcome.
Two nights were not enough for us, and we intend to go back very soon and take a couple of friends with us, as we know they will love it too. Our only niggle about this hotel was the breakfast, which we thought was a bit small. But hey, what it lacked in quantity was more than made up for in quality and flavour, and all the good points of this hotel far outweighed any niggles. The evening meal in the very atmospheric restaurant was delicious. We intended to try the bar food the next night but it was a Sunday and the menu, although quite adequate, was a bit limited. We will try it next time we go! The hotel has cosy nooks and crannies, a lovely conservatory, and gorgeous gardens and children's areas. I really can't fault it. Back to work with a thud now but will soon return!

3  Thank Hazy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tageskarte
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scrabelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
5.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
267 reviews
5.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
430 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court Hotel

Address: Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $87 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing