We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    140
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
209
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

This is reasonably "top-end" for a two star hotel.

My particular room needed refurbishment- there was wallpaper peeling of the wall, and the carpet needed cleaning. Clearly it had been appointed to reasonably good standard- but did need refurbishment.

The restaurant was however very good, offering some good quality fare- indeed it seemed to be a "proper" restaurant open to non residents- a good sign if other people were opting to use it- not just residents.

Breakfast was again very good- also agood variety of newspapers available, not just the mid market tabloids.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Enjoyed a relaxing couple of nights quaffing the local real ale, chatting to locals.
A friendly ancient Inn with windy stairs so dont book here if mobility is a problem. In the centre of town so ask for a room at the back. Comfortable clean rooms recently refurbed, not the usual 2 star standard and a very busy restaurant, excellent food. Lovely countryside, great for walks.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simpsbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Just spent a weekend at The Kings Head. Hotel in ideal spot and looks fab from outside. Inside tells a different story however. On arrival waited for 10 minutes before someone appeared to check us in despite ringing bell on the wall. Eventually the chef appeared from the Gents wiping his hands on his apron and proceeded to find someone for us! You just know how the rest of the stay is going to go after that! Got to our room which looked like something out of the 60's. Hideous bathroom with a shower which allocated a trickle of either scalding or freezing water to you. Room and more importantly the bed however were clean. Went downstairs to bar area which was full of locals who looked as if they had never moved from the bar for about 3 weeks. Went into lounge/dining area to have a few drinks. When friend went and sat by window was told could not sit there and was told "go and sit over there on the sofa"! We decided to eat in that night and to be fair the food was not bad but evening somewhat marred by "manager" (presume he was manager -there did not seem to be anyone in charge actually) asking what time we were likely to be going to bed -mmm not good customer service. Bar and restaurant area not v.clean and have to say the outside patio area absolutely disgusting. Dirty chairs and tables with ashtrays full to the brim with rainwater and fag ends -could not have been cleaned for days -certainly we never saw the area being cleaned. The girls who served breakfast in the morning were lovely and breakfast was fair.

All in all it was a cheap weekend and I would have not been too impressed if had paid a lot more for this hotel. It is such a shame because the place could be an absolute gold mine if tidied up and managed better. Incidentally in the evening before going to bed (again we were asked when we were going to bed!) a particularly nasty white roller shutter comes down over the reception area!

Won't return unless desperate!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

On the plus side, the real ale was lovely and the hotel want's expensive. On the minus side, our room was poor by any standard, noisy, ill-fitting windows, not very clean...

Food is the restaurant was a disappointment. I just can't see why places like this try to talk up food that is very standard fare. Very rare means medium-well to well done to the chef... breakfast sausages were undercooked.

Parking if in a large car could be tricky - but there is a big car park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed here a year ago as a quiet base for our trip to the Hay Festival in 2008. We had a good time and had no hesitation in booking again. We have just returned from our second visit and alas, there will definitely not be a third visit. The hotel has declined considerably in all respects. Where once staff were cheerful and helpful now they are harried and resentful. We were greeted with defensive indifference when we asked for help in closing a broken blind, told that our orders for dinner would not be submitted until 7.45 even though we had booked in and been sitting in the restaurant since 7 p.m., ignored more than once at both front desk and in the restaurant, offered no help with bags or any other assistance even after asking directly and politely explaining one of us has multiple sclerosis. Where rooms were once basic but comfortable, ours came this time with a host of problems including a large, unpleasant stain on the thinning carpet, broken blinds, filthy skirting boards, no hot water in the basin, a television with a signal that cut out every ten minutes, no internet access at all and a shower that no one under the age of 5ft 7 could fit without stooping. All in all, so disappointing was it that we tried to find an alternative after two nights of pretty hopeless hospitality. Next year, we won't be returning and I am afraid I don't think anyone who values courtesy, service and hygiene should visit the Kings Head.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimv1999, owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
We welcome comments and reviews both good and bad as they help us to become better at offering the service guests deserve.

As with all hospitality businesses things can go wrong even with the best will in the word. The only way we can stay in business is to have happy customers and to this end we are continuously refurbishing and up grading the Hotel.

We pride ourselves on being a small warm friendly historic Inn with good food and comfortable accommodation.

When a guest has a complaint or problem, we apologize and try to put things right for them, as soon as we can, so that they may enjoy their stay at The Kings Head which is what we want above else.

Unfortunately its not possible to rectify any short comings if we are not informed of them at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel for my husbands 40th Birthday. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable. We ate in the hotels restaurant in the evening and the food and service was very good, the breakfast in the morning was also very good, also pointing out locally sourced ingredients

Overall we had a great stay here and enjoyed the hotels bar and their restaurant, service also was very good

  • Liked — hotel with car parking
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TAR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing