We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the centre of Ross-on-Wye”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Kings Head, which is in the middle of Ross on Wye, with it's own large car park. Our room was lovely but the big treat was the enormous shower room which had recently been refurbished to a high standard. Friendly, helpful and patient staff made our stay great fun. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were so impressed we returned for the second night. The locally sourced ingredients made for a tasty and interesting menu which was very good value - the cheese board is a must, quite delicious!
In 3 days we managed 2 good walks and a visit to Goodrich Castle - what an excellent cafe!

Room Tip: Rooms on the high street can be a little noisy but worth it to be in the centre of town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your short break at the King's Head and were able to explore the wonderful countryside of the Wye Valley. The local area does have some great cheese producers, which we are proud to include on our cheese board and ploughmans.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 401 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

we had a mixed approach from the staff at the Kings Head, so I can well understand the good and bad comments from reviewers! We had a lovely friendly welcome and there was a relaxed friendly atmosphere in the dining room the first night. However, there was a change of staff for breakfast and dinner the next day, and along with it a change of atmosphere. The woman in charge of the dining room was sarcastic and not very friendly at all. For example, when I asked where we should sit at breakfast time, I was told in a sarcastic manner "any table set for 2 would be good". It is not very nice to be spoken to in that way and the other waitress had a job to smile too. Unfortunately this woman was in charge of the dining room that evening too and more sarcasm was given out.
Having said all this, we stayed on a special DBand B rate in a superior room which was very nice. Everywhere was clean, the food good and the bedroom warm and comfortable. Good value for money.
Beware the entrance to the car park, it's a bit tight!!
And as it is an OLD building you should expect squeaky floor boards and quirky stairs. The hotel does make this very clear on their web site.
It is a great area to stay for a mini break, the Forest of Dean is beautiful at the end of October

Room Tip: If there is a superior room deal, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for the taking time to write your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of your room, the meals you ate at the King’s Head the great value for money our dinner bed and breakfast offer provides and of course the beauty of the Wye Valley in autumn. We also recommend guest’s book one of our superior rooms as they do offer a higher level of comfort and space than our standard rooms. I am disappointed and concerned you felt one member of staff was not as friendly as she should have been and I do apologise. I have spoken to the person in question and she is truly sorry if she upset you in any way and would never intentionally be sarcastic or rude. Thankfully the vast majority of reviews are complementary, commentating on the friendliness of our staff. However, we do take your concerns on-board and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a fantastic old coaching inn, and has been modernised without spoiling its origins, so it was a real treat to stay in! Our room was huge, and with a modern small shower-room en-suite (but not carved out of the original room). And clever double-glazing in the original windows, so it was warm! As we were overlooking the road, and it was a Friday night, there was quite a lot of late (after midnight) noise (cars and people), but the bed was so comfortable it didn't keep us awake for long (and probably my fault for liking to sleep with an open window!). We didn't arrive in time for dinner, but breakfast was superb (we didn't need lunch!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A really nice hotel in the centre of Ross. Good atmosphere and staff who are always helpful without making a fuss. Nice rooms, and the best ploughman's lunch in the world - lots of local cheeses! Vegetarian cooked breakfast available, which makes a nice change from lots of places. Big car park at the back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMisell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed a one night stay at the King's Head recently and I would agree with what most of the other reviewers have said about the ambience and comfort etc.Dinner and breakfast were good, without being amazing. We were on the top floor and although the bedroom was lovely, the bathroom was a bit tired (despite the lovely bottles of showergel etc). They even had a notice on the wall explaining that getting the shower to work might be a problem - it wasn't, but it wasn't a very good one either! A member of staff told us that the owner has plans to extend the bedrooms, using what is now a huge garage. I hope when he does that he refurbishes the current rooms too and incorporates a lift in his plans. Ross on Wye was delightful and we're glad that we visited.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay at the King’s Head. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the comfort and ambience of the hotel including your bedroom. Over the past five years, all of our bedrooms and the public areas of the hotel have been refurbished to a high standard, in keeping with an ancient Inn. Of the hotels fifteen bedrooms, over half of them have had their en-suites refurbished in the past four years. All our superior rooms and our four poster room have refurbished en-suites, some with travertine wet rooms and monsoon showers. These rooms are a little more expensive than our standard rooms, but do offer a bit extra in comfort. Our standard rooms, which haven’t had their en-suite refurbished, have a more traditional shower over bath configuration. Whilst the showers are perfectly adequate, the pressure would not be as high certainly as a powered shower. On vary rare occasions in the past a guest has tried operating the shower by using the bath taps. We are glad you read our little notice and managed successfully to use the shower. We are constantly striving to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible and so refurbishment of the hotel is continuous. You will be pleased to know that our family rooms bathroom is scheduled for a refit in October and further refurbishment of other bathrooms will take place next year. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner. We aim to serve fresh local produce, cooked to order in a friendly informal atmosphere at a reasonable price.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Car Park right next to the hotel with a path through the patio area to the main hotel.
Great welcome at reception, our room was no 10 at the front of the hotel overlooking the High Street. Really beautifully decorated and designed, modern with strategically placed antique bits. The bathroom was lovely with large bottles of good quality shampoo/conditioner shower gel etc, a welcome change from the usual disposable and 'nickable' type!
Got a drink in the bar, local beer and well chilled white wine and we sat in the lounge area with the Sunday papers in comfy chairs.
We weren't sure how many people would be in the quite large dining room on a Sunday evening, but the restaurant was very busy so there was a good atmosphere. Our room rate included dinner and a bottle of house wine, we chose the delicious Tempranillo which wasn't the cheapest and expected to pay a supplement.
Food was absolutely delicious, really really tasty. Great very friendly service with a bit of banter.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, both courses excellent. Home baked bread.
Very comfy bed with Egyptian cotton sheets. Room slightly noisy from traffic from about 7.30am.
Breakfast again very good with local produce and a good choice from a menu, not a buffet.
Again, very friendly check out with no extra charge for the slightly more expensive wine as it was on the list of house wines.
Really good experience, would thoroughly recommend.
Not a great deal to see and do in Ross on Wye itself, but really close to the river to watch or take part in canoeing. Excellent independent bookshop right next door which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilikegoingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review and generous kind comments. I have passed them on to the staff who will greatly appreciate your possitive feedback for all their hard work and effort. We are really pleased you enjoyed your Sunday night stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel description is accurate and helpful with a sensible warning about stairs. The character of the place was great. The restaurant was excellent including for children and the staff very good indeed. We would certainly stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaanSuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
592 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
489 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $101 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing