We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can highly recommend”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived the hotel had a very welcomng feel. The staff were attentive and interested. We ate in the resturaunt on our first night which I understand is normally very busy however we found ourselves to be the only diners. The food was excellent, good value and staff were attentive without be overbearing, a difficult balance when we were the only ones there.Breakfast was just as good as our meal the night before, cooked to order which was lovely and a wide choice.
We stayed in room 11 overlooking the High Street, it was a lovely room with lots of character and a very comfortable bed. Everything was clean and homely. Beams and wobbly floors create real charm.
The location was excellent, close enough for everything but not noisy at all. We did lots of walking and sitting in the Hotels bar area chatting to the locals when it rained.
It is hard to capture one thing that made this hotel so good as it was all the important elements-friendliness, cleanliness, excellent food, character together, that make this so easy to write a positive review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shootingstar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    146
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
220
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is well placed in the town being a traditional market town resting place for travellers.Plenty of character & charm but this means compromioses have had to be made when updatting facillities.Steep twisting stairs mean one feels drunk before a visit to the bar but this is part of its charm.Resteraunt provides good food but service though efficient was some what cold.Stainless steel teapots are used at breakfast and as usual do not pour properly.We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Met up with our German friends here on Sunday 12th Aug 2012. We had our dog with us and were sat outside. We had ordered food and then the heavens opened. The girl from behind the bar came and led us to the beer garden (which we didn't know about) which to our delight had undercover seating. Our food arrived and was delicious. Steak & Ale pie & Gammon steak. The interior of the pub is in need of an update but the friendliness of the staff really made up for this shortfall! Well done to the bar staff ....you are a credit to this establishment. See you again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank greystoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmouth
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned back from this hotel after staying one night. I hope you like steep spiral stairs! This hotel had a lot of character, rafters and all that! Our room was good for one night but Im not sure if I would want to stay there for much longer, shower wasn't great and our room was right by a noisy generator or something so we had to close the window even though it was boiling! Room was nicely decorated and well laid out with towels etc. our friends stayed in a family room and had no electric all night and after complaining they just said there was a fault and something had tripped it but never apologised or offered any discount. A little tip, if you go out and arrive back late then they lock the front doors so will have to use the back door which isn't that easy to find. Breakfast was really good!! Had everything you could want and service was brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiffy660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. I was a bit worried that the windy stairs might be too much for my 89 year old father (though he is pretty mobile), but thankfully he was fine. What also pleased him was a nice place to sit outside under cover to smoke his pipe!
We ate here both nights and all had delicious meals, the restaurant was very busy on the Saturday night, we were glad we had made a reservation. The staff were all friendly and helpful.There are two places to have a drink, the quiet 'library' style room, very comfortable, or the more lively bar. Good real ales and good wines so we were all happy.
The rooms are done up to a high standard and we all slept well.
We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here on a Friday night in July as two couples.
It is a classic small very old old town-centre hotel like you used to always find in any medium-sized English town. This one retains all of its old features and charm and has the warmth and personal touch of a family-run establishment.
Our room was spacious and both it and the bathroom had been newly re-appointed and so had all the latest kit. However, the bedrrom still retained the original beamed ceiling and the original sash windows and the uneven floor!
Downstairs there is a quiet lounge which is fitted out to look like a library, and a cosy bar bustling with friendly locals.
The restaurant was a joy. The service was prompt and friendly. The menu was not very ambitious, but all our courses were cooked perfectly and well presented. I must say that they do serve a particularly fine cheeseboard!
The food was very reasonably priced and the wines represented exceptionally good value.

Finally, if travelling here by car allow yourself an extra 20 mins to get lost in the tortuous one-way system!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stamford_Trencherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed for two nights with our two year old daughter. Our room was spacious, recently refurbished with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was included and offered a cooked option as well as a buffet.

Eating in the restaurant during the evening was a pleasure. Food was high quality and good value.

Service all round was excellent. Friendly and efficient staff.

The hotel was well-placed to explore the rest of the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
462 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing