We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because you were able to stay for Saturday night only. Several of the other hotels in the area would only take bookings for two nights at the weekend. It proved an excellent choice. They have an excellent restaurant, much of the food being sourced locally. The local cider and perry are worth trying. The restaurant was obviously popular with the locals. Breakfast was cooked to an equally good standard, I enjoyed locally smoked salmon. We had a very comfortable stay, with the staff being welcoming. The hotel is in a central location, on the High Street. Do check the one way system before trying to find the hotel. This hotel is worth returning to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    145
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
218
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthenshire Wales
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here 29th December 2011 for 1 night en route to our new years vacation.

Having previously stayed in this town before at the Royal hotel we decided to do so again, however when we arrived at the Royal to check in (booked revious evening online via booking.com) we were told there was no booking for us 1 so we gave them the paperwork and the receptionist pointed out we were booked at the King hotel!! what a disappointment at the time as we did enjoy our previous stay here.

However, after making our way to the King Hotel we were greeted courteously and shown promptly to our room.......and boy it turned out to be far better than we had at the royal! so all was well again and we really enjoyed our evening there.

The atmosphere was excellent with a lot of locals in the hotel bar and the restaurant full to the brim that evening , lucky we had booked, and the food was excellent.

So to cap it all we would choose this hotel first if we decide to stay in Ross on Wye again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I will pass on your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stopped at the Kings Head Hotel for lunch during a visit to Ross on Wye we were staying at nearby Forest of Dean Cabins - Wonderful food, really really tasty, service was excellent, if i lived neaer i would go back again and again!
Looked like a beautiful place to stay although we didnt as we were staying somewhere else.
Pop in for lunch or dinner, food really good, service really god too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We recently stayed here and it was our first time in Ross on wye.The hotel was very pleasant and welcoming.Our room had a four poster bed and was very clean.We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and it was delicious,in particular the banoffee pie was lovely.Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and very friendly.We thought the hotel was very well situated and it was nice to explore the shops and walk by the river.All in all very enjoyable will definetly be back as would like to see ross on wye in the summer and this hotel is a great base to do so.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wefhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Best steak and ale pie at lunchtime you'll taste and a great breakfast. Nice room and modern bathroom. Walk around Ross in the morning, visit the information centre just down the road to get a feel for the history of Ross. Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanseadunvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here for just 1 night passing through after a stay in the black mountains and overall was impressed. I stayed bed and breakfast and had room 8 and found the room very spacious, single and double bed with all the amenities which made it a pleasant stop. Comfy beds, nice range of drinks and biscuits, reasonable size bathroom with shower in the bath, a trouser press and a fan!
Although I didn't 'mingle' in the bar in the evening the whole atmosphere of the hotel seemed homely and warm. Staff also attentive and polite and a nice cooked breakfast in the morning.
Interesting too that this hotel was the cheapest for a nights stay and was probably the best on my mini tour of the area!
If I'm ever back in the area I will call in again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a nice sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyHEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is right in the middle of Ross on Wye. Don't be put off by the scaffolding. Its a lovely old building with lots of period features. The bar, lounge and restaurant are nice areas with lots of locals using the bar. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but well furnished but our bathroom was very tatty with lots of holes in the walls where items had been removed. It was very old fashioned but it was clean. The thing that really makes this place is the food. We ate there on both nights that we stayed and the it was just excellent!
I wouldn't recommend staying here is you are unsteady on your feet as the stairs are very steep and sloping. This is not a criticism - its just an old building. Overall, we enjoyed staying there and would highly recommend the food.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms at the far end of the building that overlook the street - they are slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeloresLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay so much, our friendly team and the food presented by our chefs.

Being an ancient former coaching inn and having being altered over many years, the hotel's 15 bedrooms are all unique with varying sizes from large to small.

The hotel is under a constant long term refurbishment programme including the bedrooms. Our more expensive superior rooms have now all been completely re furbished over the last three years, including their en-suites.

The smaller standard bedrooms have also been refurbished apart from some of the en-suites. These bathrooms may well be slightly dated, however they are kept very clean as you and many other reviewers have testified to. The couple of holes referred to are tiny screw holes, which have all been filled. These are a consequence of installing a shower screen to replace an old shower curtain.

We hope to refurbish all our en-suites over the next couple of years.

The scaffolding referred to is only temporary and is there merely to prevent our decorators from injuring themselves whilst painting the front facade of the building. Depending on the weather, it should be down in a few days.

Thank you again for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
543 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
454 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing