We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel with fantastic restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Ross on Wye for the weekend of 9th & 10th September. The hotel was old but felt very homely and the staff were very accommodating. Our evening meal on the 9th was superb and the staff were excellent, we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening, thank you. Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michelle070767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 431 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night and it was lovely. It is full of charm with its beams, crooked walls & stairs and the wood panelled bar. The dining area was wonderful and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening meal was exceptional and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: if less able bodied, lower floor would be better as stairs slope, although this is part of the charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 933TMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I took my family to this hotel for a special birthday celebration and they all agreed that it was a lovely location, that the accommodation was excellent and the food top notch. We would recommend it very highly. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjwaskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I took her parents away for a short break in Ross having boked The Kings Head Hotel online through their own website. The hotel , very conveiniently loated in the heart of the town, has its own parking and good, clean rooms, although ours was rather small for a "superior" and didn't have a bath. Maybe £105 per night is a touch dear. The superb food was served by very friendly and attentive staff. The highlight for me was the wood panelled bar, full of character and serving two real ales plus very good local cider from Broome Farm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaandykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed on the Friday evening of the August bank holiday weekend on our way to south Wales for a family holiday. Our party (including 7 year old daughter and pet dog) was given a very warm welcome by the gentleman on reception . He chatted about where we were from, where we were going etc. then showed us to our room while offering to help carry bags up the stairs.
The room was clean and comfortable. We had an excellent meal in the Hotel Restaurant in the evening. They are very proud of the fresh local produce they serve and rightly so. The restaurant is very characterful and our daughter was fascinated by the old well!
Due to having a small child with us we didn't sample the bar but judging by the sounds of conversation and laughter drifting over to the restaurant it's a pleasant place to have a drink.
After a good night's sleep we had a substantial breakfast in the restaurant and at check out were wished a good journey by the same gentleman who'd checked us in.
A most welcoming place with a delightfully relaxed laid-back ambience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just returned from three day break here. Hotel lovely, very old, quaint building - spotlessly clean and very comfortable bedroom. Breakfast excellent, staff very friendly.
Ross itself very quiet but in lovely countryside.

Room Tip: Very comfortable bedroom with excellent bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alirud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

You will find the kings head in the centre of Ross, which is great for access to all sights and sounds. Proper coaching inn feel to it, the rooms were superbly renovated but the star turn of the stay was an all inclusive package including evening meal that was gourmet standard at regular prices. A hidden gem!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effincod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,189 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
621 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $101 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing