We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bridge House
Ranked #3 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were made very welcome by charming Darren and Elena to their lovely, enviable home where we spent two very comfortable nights. Breakfast was perfect. On top of all of this Darren kindly rescued us when our taxi failed to turn up! We couldn't recommend them more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossiemossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 232 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night, but would highly recommend this to anyone staying in Ross. Great location on a bend in the Wye, with views of the river and the castle. One of the most stylish bed and breakfast I have stayed at, with an incredible and tasteful design element. Room 5 is fantastic, in the 'quiet' part of the house, Darren and Elena a very warm and welcoming, and work hard. The only slight thing I could possibly find fault on is the breakfast is fried rather than grilled. Well Done!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were two mature couples and I was the only one of the four of us with any complaint about the Bridge House due to my extreme sensitivity to noise. Darren and Elena were very welcoming and have renovated the Bridge House to a perfect standard. They served an excellent breakfast and gave us a very good recommendation for dinner. The only drawback to the Bridge House (for me) is its location next to the road that connects Ross-On-Wye with Wilton. Although the road is just two lanes and traffic keeps to 30 mph, it is fairly busy between 8 am and 9 pm, with an occasional car or lorry in the off hours. If you are highly noise-sensitive, as I am, you may want to bring ear plugs. For normal people, the road noise is well muffled by brand new windows, and the other three members of our party reported excellent sleeps in what are superbly comfortable beds.

Room Tip: If you are noise-sensitive, ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFredWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in room 5, which had a lovely view of the river.
We were welcomed by Darren who offered us tea and carrot cake.
Breakfast was excellent and consisted of delicious local produce.
The location was ideal for exploring the local area. We visited National Trust properties nearby.
Darren and Elena were excellent hosts, friendly and helpful.
Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just spent two nights at the Bridge House and had a really good time. Everything was good about our stay from a lovely room to the delicious breakfasts. Many thanks to Darren and Elena for their hospitality. Will definitely recommend Bridge House to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansellini14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We took three rooms at Bridge House for a wedding and found our stay to be everything we hoped for. The beds were comfy and there were lovely views of the river from all of our rooms. The breakfast was delicious and the whole place was impeccably decorated. Darren and Elena were perfect hosts, we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSpoonpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We chose this B&B as a result of the very positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We arrived earlier than we had said but Darren was there and was more than happy to allow us in and our rooms were ready in any event. He offered us a tray of tea and homemade carrot cake and served this in the garden which has splendid views of the river and Ross. Our room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished as well as being a good size. The bathroom was also a good size and had a roll top bath.

There is a residents lounge which has fresh milk and water in a fridge as well as the daily newspaper and you can put your own stuff in the fridge as well. We were staying with friends which meant that we could meet in the lounge for pre dinner drinks before going out.

The breakfast is good freshly cooked to order and there is ample choice. This is a great B&B and the improvements to the garden which Darren is planning will only enhance the experience.

Room Tip: Room 6 has good views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,174 reviews
2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
155 reviews
3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge House

Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $110 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge House: a luxury Bed and breakfast by the river, with the best river views in Ross-On-WyeThe Bridge House is a luxury family run bed and breakfast beautifully located on the bank of the River Wye next to Wilton Bridge, a few minute's walk along the river will take you to the centre of Ross-on-WyeThe Bridge House has been lovingly refurbished as a luxury Bed and Breakfast. Dating from 1740, the Georgian House is nestled in a peaceful village on the outskirts of Ross-on Wye.The Bridge House is a unique place to stay with friendly, informal service. There are six individual bedrooms, most with fabulous river views, and there are also stylish comfortable spaces for guests to relax, blending the authentic 17th century with modern tones and warm luxury furnishings. The Bridge House is both family-friendly and a romantic retreat, a perfect place from which to discover Ross-on Wye and explore Herefordshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Ross On Wye
The Bridge House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing