We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”
Review of The Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bridge House
Ranked #4 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the minute we arrived we just knew this was going to be special. A welcoming coffee and gorgeous slice of home made cake whilst we took in the magnificent garden views of the river Wye leading down to Ross. This is no ordinary B&B the rooms a delightfully and tastefully furnished more a home than a B&B and Darren and Elena have created something really special for their guests. The three nights that the Bridge House was our home, (yes that's how it felt) nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and helpful hosts who were always on hand if needed. Everything has been thought out from the fan in the room to the guest fridge in the lounge with everything provided for the discerning traveller. The rooms were all spotless, though of course you just knew they would be such was the high standards set by the hosts.

Breakfasts were a treat freshly prepared fruit salads and a good selection of well prepared hot food served with piping hot tea and coffee ensures your day gets off to a great start.

As another reviewer has already stated our experience at the Bridge House was also faultless so if you are heading to Ross look no further for accommodation even if you're not go there anyway just so you can say I've stayed in the Bridge House at Ross on Wye - it's simply the best.

Keith & Carolyn - Hartlepool

Room Tip: Room 1 with the magnificent views of the river down to Ross and if you can drag yourself away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandCHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
152
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A big thank you to Darren and Elena for being so friendly and making us feel very welcome.
The beds and bedding were the best we have ever slept in soooo comfy you do not want to get up in the morning. Breakfast was plentiful and nothing was to much trouble. If you want to have a good meal in the evening try "The Moody cow" its excellent.

Room Tip: Room 2 is excellent as it has a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Firstly a big thank you & well done to Elena & Darren for running such a wonderful B&B & making such an effort to make us feel welcome.
From our first meeting with Darren to our Goodbye nothing was too much trouble for our young & hard working hosts, the tea & carrot cake on arrival was such a thoughtful touch & noticeable that Darren made the effort to call all his guests by their christian names at all times.
The decor was very tasteful & fitted this period property perfectly whilst having all the modern facilities a guest requires.
Every part of the place was spotlessly clean & we had a wonderful view over the river & Ross-on-Wye from our window in room 2.
We really couldn't say enough good things about this wonderful B&B, it made a lovely short break in this picturesque part of the country all the more enjoyable.
This young couple deserve to be successful, so, if like my wife you are a slave to TA give this place a go, you won't be disappointed as it's clearly No1 for a reason!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flip351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at The Bridge House for 2 nights in May with 2 other couples. Elena and Darren gave us a very warm welcome and the property is in the perfect location - just a short, very pretty walk along the riverside into Ross on Wye. Also, only 10 mins from Symonds Yat which is a must to visit.

Elena really has excellent interior design skills, using Farrow & Ball colours, this is a tasteful, well equipped and designed B&B. We had a glimpse at most of the rooms and they were all very stylish and exceptionally clean.

The breakfast was second to none and served in the pretty dining room overlooking the gardens. There is also a comfortable guest lounge which has the added bonus of a fridge so that you can chill bottles of wine etc for use when having a pre dinner drink or nightcap.

All in all, we all thought this is a superb B&B and wish Darren & Elena every success for the future. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The non-river view rooms were just as lovely as the river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenproe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent our six day holiday here and recommend this BB because Elena and Darren were so welcoming and ensured every aspect of our stay was first class. The room was maintained to a high standard, the river view to die for and the breakfasts tasty and not to be faulted on any way. There is a variety of places for an evening meal but we found The Moody Cow pub the best.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend with our son made all the more enjoyable because we stayed with Elena and Darren in their fabulous b & b. nothing was too much trouble for them, the rooms were spotless and beautifully fitted out, we had the two river view rooms, which were so comfortable and fabulous views. Breakfast was excellent, (the best poached eggs I have had in a long time). Would recommend this,place to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuttallll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in this lovely B&B for a family wedding in late May. The hosts are so helpful, and we were greeted with delicious homemade carrot cake and fresh coffee in the guest lounge (elegant room with big soft leather sofas). We had chosen room 6 and it is very stylish, great comfy bed and gorgeous bathroom. There is tea and coffee in the room, and in the guest lounge the owners put jugs of fresh milk for you to take up to your room. You are also welcome to chill your own wine in that fridge and glasses are provided so you can take it out to the garden and enjoy the river views. Breakfast was a leisurely affair as everything is cooked individually to order, so relax and enjoy the view from the back of the dining room. And there is ample parking to the rear of the house, so we could keep sight of the wedding car! I highly recommend you stay at this great B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
469 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
3.1 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge House

Property: The Bridge House
Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge House: a luxury Bed and breakfast by the river, with the best river views in Ross-On-WyeThe Bridge House is a luxury family run bed and breakfast beautifully located on the bank of the River Wye next to Wilton Bridge, a few minute's walk along the river will take you to the centre of Ross-on-WyeThe Bridge House has been lovingly refurbished as a luxury Bed and Breakfast. Dating from 1740, the Georgian House is nestled in a peaceful village on the outskirts of Ross-on Wye.The Bridge House is a unique place to stay with friendly, informal service. There are six individual bedrooms, most with fabulous river views, and there are also stylish comfortable spaces for guests to relax, blending the authentic 17th century with modern tones and warm luxury furnishings. The Bridge House is both family-friendly and a romantic retreat, a perfect place from which to discover Ross-on Wye and explore Herefordshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Ross On Wye
The Bridge House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing