We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of Man of Ross Inn

Man of Ross Inn
Ranked #13 of 103 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional, local family-run pub in the idyllic countryside of Herefordshire. Over looking stunning views of the Wye Valley, the Man of Ross is the ideal place to go for a drink or delicious home cooked food. We have a vast drinks collection of local ciders and ales, lagers, wines, soft drinks and freshly brewed coffee. All of our food is as locally sourced as possible and home cooked to order. Our lunchtime menu offers light bites such as sandwiches and baguettes to homemade pub classics. The Chef specialises in fresh seafood dishes which vary weekly depending on what fresh fish is available. Also, locally sourced Hereford steaks are served daily such as a 16oz T-Bone and our 'Trio of Steaks'. Sunday Roast is served every week using only local meat and produce. Pop in to have a pleasant experience and warm by our cosy wood burner or relax outside in the sun admiring views of the River Wye during the summer season.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good service quick and friendly. The food was served well ,and much enjoyed would recommend. Good value for money friendly staff

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuperdooperCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2019

It was unfortunate that they were one chef down, so there was a restricted menu, but the service was prompt and friendly, and the food was well cooked and plentiful.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

We ate here twice - had fish pie the first time (a daily special) and lasagne the second. Hoped to have salmon fishcakes the second time but they weren't available. Very generous helpings and friendly service, great local beer. Overall good value.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnneR846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

We arrived in Ross for the weekend having driven all the way from Kent and were keen to have a drink and something for lunch and this place looked nice. We enjoyed the traditional bar area and there was the opportunity to sit outside which would have been nice but a bit chilly that day. There was local ale on offer which my partner enjoyed and the locals were welcoming and chatted about the area with us. We decided to eat and the little restaurant area was perhaps less welcoming. The food was fine but obviously ready made. The landlady was a bit brusque I thought.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank elleKent_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

The young lady behind the bar called this a 'hidden gem' but in fact it's hidden in plain sight.
It was our first visit and we were VERY impressed. The bar is a real 'local' but the small restaurant is very cosy and relaxing and best of all serves excellent food. The ham and eggs (£8.95) was as good as I've eaten anywhere and the rest of the menu looked equally appealing. Service was quick and friendly and I really can't fault the place.
Looking forward to our next visit to Ross in order to try something else!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kennyburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man of Ross Inn also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Man of Ross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing