We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere”

The Penny Farthing Inn
Ranked #38 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are located in the beautiful small village of Aston Crews, offering a freshly cooked seasonal menu filled with local ingredients. The Penny has some exceptional views of the Black Mountains and the Malvern hills from the beer garden (with children's play area). We aim to showcase the exceptional local produce and serve local ales and spirits as well as keeping as much of ingredients as local as possible. We also have a large selection of whisky from all over the world.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We called in for evening food here during a trip to the area, we ended up staying for most of the night. The food was fantastic, home cooked and very well priced. All our food arrived quickly and we enjoyed every bit.

We spent a lot of the night chatting to the new owners and locals. They have obviously made a big effort to create a great atmosphere for food and sitting around talking and have succeeded in doing so.

The surrounding area is also beautiful and there is a spacious outdoor area that was very nice to sit out in while the sun was out.

Needless to say if we are in the area again soon, we will make a return visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    13
    2
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good luck to the new owners, they deserve to succeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Heard the pub was under new management, thought we would try it out, staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful , despite having issues with card machines (BT openreach strike again !) small menu , but each of our party had a different meal, and everyone thought it was delicious, possibly the best fish and chips I have ever had. Good luck to the new team

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, welcoming staff. Visiting the area for a long weekend and took a walk up here. The views were great and and new owners keen, happy to chat and serve great beer!
We had a great time and would love to visit again. Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views, great atmosphere, great little pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Was excited to see the Penny Farthing had changed hands again and was interested to see what had been done with the place. I knew it was cash only for the time being so was well prepared before I went.
About 4miles outside of Ross on Wye, this little pub boasts some of the best views from the beer garden which is dog and child friendly with clean grounds and well kept small child's playground.
The beer and ales which has a good selection of Westons cider too is VERY reasonably priced and is competitive even for inner town pubs locally.
Tried the new taster menu tonight and was very happy with the meal! Good portions, meals cooked to perfection and again not hard on the pocket!
The best thing I like about the Penny is the relaxed atmosphere! Nice ambience and the staff are eager to please and very accommodating. It's nice to see some younger managers with fresh new ideas to take the Penny Farthing in exciting new direction, whilst still maintaining it's country pub roots.
I really suggest taking a drive over to sample this little hidden gem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BekiBoo1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great to hear open again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

GREAT! Open with a friendly warm welcome wonderful to see the good old penny making a come back cant wait to sample all it has to offer lets hope it lives up to the wonderfully stunning views this old favourite has to offer

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank whippy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Penny Farthing Inn also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Weston under Penyard, Ross-on-Wye
Walford, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing