We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benhall Farm(Ross-on-Wye)
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)(Great Value!)
$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveler rating
625
102
24
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
625
102
24
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbox of chocolatesmulberry treea river view roomon arrivalsecret escapesowners and stafffillet steaksmall hoteloverlooking the gardenexcellent foodbiscuitscooked to perfectionnight breaklocally sourced ingredientsrelaxing staylovely location
Filter
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 765 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed for three nights, bed & breakfast, so we cannot comment on the quality of dinner.

Positives:
Idyllic setting overseeing the River Wye.
Spotless rooms and excellent housekeeping.
Pleasant management and staff.

Negatives:
No offer to help with luggage on arrival or departure.
Very good full breakfast, but served on cold plates.
Expensive for bed & breakfast - we've stayed at better hotels that are far cheaper.


Pleasant, but a bit over-priced in our opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank David2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Wonderful weekend in the charming old worlde 11 bedroomed Wilton Court which has a terrific location on the River Wye, and about 10 minute walk (2 minute drive) from the town of Ross-on-Wye where time has stood still in a delightful way.

Wilton Court is a very superior 3 star hotel with 11 bedrooms, two large lounges (one of which is a bar) and a great restaurant. The decor is traditional and old style but in a nice not shabby way - beams, wood panelling, stained glass, open fires and comfy chairs. The staff are friendly and helpful reflecting the day to day involvement and management of the owners.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, a large room with sofa and two chairs. The room was fresh and welcoming and very comfortable with traditional decor, had tea/coffee facilities with bottle water and biscuits. The bathroom had every amenity altough perhaps on the small side. We slept well and peacefully apart from the fact that the room is over the dining room and sound insulation was not up good enough.

The restaurant is excellent and certainly of a quality I wouldn't expect from a small provincial hotel (that's me the Londoner talking). We sat in the conservatory part of the reception which overlooks the garden. We had a first class dinner there our first night, and both breakfasts were outstanding particularly the Full English which my partner loved- and for me the highlight was hot toast. How sad is that? But I've stayed in zillions of hotel and proper hot toast is a rare treat.

Although there's no need to leave the hotel to eat 50 metres from the a nice looking pub that serves meals, and a restaurant that claims to serve the best food in Herefordshire.

The acid test for us is would we stay again. And the answer is a resounding yes.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmapjoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

It is refreshing to stay at a hotel that delivers what it purports to at all levels. My thanks to Helen (and her back office staff) for providing a sustained quality of service throughout our stay. All the main buttons and indicators registered positive on the scale. The location speaks for itself. The building and environs provide interest and atmostphere. The service is spot-on with the staff customer-focused and welcoming. The rooms are clean and well maintained (everything works) and all the extras as I would hope for are on tap - copious towels, toiletries, tea/coffee facilities etc - there is a feeling that somebody has put themselves for once in the guest's shoes and ensured all the boxes have been ticked . Food was excellent and innovative. I really cannot (for once) highlight anything that was within anybody's control that cast a negative shadow on this experience. Congratulations to the Wynns and the best of luck on their venture, they deserve their success.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank frank11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Lovely hotel, we had a river view room in the eaves, very clean, spacious, new bathroom, lovely views. hotel is very quaint with lots of period features. evening meal at the hotel was pricey but excellent quality and good service. breakfast limted choice of cereals etc but the cooked breakfast was tasty. Pleasant riverside walk into the town where there are a couple of restaurants if you can't afford the hotel. ideal location for the Motorway.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2005

The Wilton Court Hotel is an excellent traditional country hotel. Helen and Roger Wynne are the owners and really know their craft. The room was comfortable charming and clean, the food and hospitality of the staff were excellent. The setting is ideal. I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sassy5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews