We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveler rating
665
108
24
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
665
108
24
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river box of chocolates mulberry tree a river view room on arrival tea and biscuits secret escapes deal fillet steak owners and staff excellent food small hotel cooked to perfection overlooking the garden night break locally sourced ingredients relaxing stay lovely location
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent hotel with very warm welcome. Tea and biscuits on arrival was very nice.
The food both evening and breafast was very very good.
As a suprise they left a small gift for my wife in celebration of her birthday. She was very pleased with the gesture.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 694Peter694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltonCourt, Owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you found us an excellent hotel with a very warm welcome for your wife’s birthday celebration . With best wishes Helen Wynn owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in the top floor river view room, which was compact but beautiful and plenty big enough for a few days. The decor of the room and the ambience of the hotel was better than expected so a delightful surprise. The bed was particularly comfortable and we both slept well, though the room was a little warm and the bedding could have been a little lighter for our liking.

Although the hotel is just a short walk from the town, my husband and I chose to eat in the mulberry restaurant on each of the evenings of our stay. The evening menu was interesting and all dishes well cooked and presented, flavoursome and at very reasonable prices. Lots of interesting starters and salads for anyone wanting a lighter meal too. Although one of the main course dishes I chose was not to my liking, it was very well cooked and presented and the fact I didn't particularly enjoy it was due to my taste, though I'm sure other diners would have found it tasty and loved it. Unusually, lots of fruity dessert choices were available which didn't involve chocolate, which is brilliant for those of us allergic to chocolate. The excellent wine list is extensive and includes some unusual wines. Each of our choices of wine was good value and far superior to those we have experienced for a similar price at other similar establishments.

Breakfasts in the restaurant were included in our room rate and provided excellent value, particularly for those who enjoy a large cooked meal in the morning. I particularly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast pancakes which were a welcome change to the usual offering at most hotels. For those who like a lighter meal, a good choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juices, etc are freely available - and I defy anyone to want a flavour of preserve that isn't provided.

Every one of the staff were friendly and gave excellent service which only added to our positive impression of the hotel and restaurant. The only way we would have enjoyed our experiences more would have been if we'd managed to get a table in the conservatory for one of our meals - but that would have involved getting up earlier or coming down for dinner sooner so mea culpa, not a fault of the restaurant.

Overall, our experience was very positive and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay or a meal (or both) at Wilton Court. We'll definitely pay a return visit next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: The top floor front room has a brilliant view and is exceptionally quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltonCourt, Owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review summing up that we are a lovely hotel with an excellent location . Although at breakfast tables in the conservatory are on a first come basis for dinner they can be requested so if we welcome you again please let us know and we will reserve one of them for you. We also have blankets as well as duvets which you can request your preference. We really appreciate all your detail and thank you for not hesitating to recommend us . We hope to welcome you again in the future, With kind regards Helen Wynn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay in your hotel. The décor, staff and food quality were all outstanding. We will recommend you to our family and friends. Our room was quaint and the hotel had lovely period features.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleSwansea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltonCourt, Owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and we really appreciate your lovely comments . We thank you for recommending us to your family and friends and hope we will be able to welcome you again. With kind regards Helen Wynn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Always a Wonderful stay at Wilton Court in a river view room, (our third visit) and once again the service, food (great food) and general ambience of the hotel was 2nd to none! Your loyal staff are a credit to you and looked after us very well. We will be back again soon!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltonCourt, Owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for keep returning , We look forward to welcoming you for your 4th visit , We really appreciate your lovely comments and for mentioning our loyal staff who are an absolute credit as you say to us , Best wishes Helen Wynn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Hi,
We had a wonderful stay with you. Our room - well rooms actually, we had the family rooms - were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We loved the hotel as a whole, sitting outside on the patio having a tea or coffee and its position by the river. It was lovely to be able to walk along the river to Ross on Wye in about 15 minutes.
And the food was great! We enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the bar and the quality of the food and service was excellent. As were the cocktails!
If I had one suggestion for improvement I would say the garden could have done with a little attention. The grass was a bit long and the sun loungers were a bit grubby.
But all-in-all a great place to stay and eat.

Room Tip: We had the family room for just the two of us, which meant we actually had 2 rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltonCourt, Owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you found us a wonderful place to stay and eat. We thank you for all your very positive comments. The grass is now cut after the very hot summer and sun loungers all clean and stored away the birds are a constant challenge for us . Best wishes Helen Wynn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews