We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here with my Mother and Sister this week for 3 nights. Hotel is situated along side the River Wye - just a 15 to 20 minute walk across the bridge, then down the footpath immediately after the bridge, to walk along side the river into the town.
Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel building is very old and full of character so all rooms are individual. If you are a light sleeper might want to make sure you are not staying in one of the rooms with letting rooms above - being an old building creeking floorboards can be heard when guests are moving about above you.
Would definitely stay again - worth noting that well behaved dogs are welcome should you have a four legged friend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mrsp050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 657 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just back from the Wilton Court Hotel, where five of us celebrated my parents' anniversary. I'd done my research and knew this place would be perfect, and I've certainly been feeling very smug since we returned, as I was right!

The building's former sense of foreboding as a Magistrate's Court has been replaced by tranquility, cosiness and comfort. With just ten rooms, set virtually on the banks of the Wye, a relaxing and peaceful stay can be guaranteed. There's plenty of parking, a delightful garden, a gorgeous panelled bar and more modern and airy conservatory-style restaurant. All the rooms have been individually decorated. Ours had a cottagey feel, with beams on the ceiling, an original brick fireplace in the corner, one large window looking out over the bridge and river, and another over the garden. I'm not normally one for floral wallpaper, but it was all very pretty and comforting. There were a few cobwebs here and there (spiders love old beams), but certainly no hint of a lack of cleanliness. My parents' room was similarly homely and warm, and also individually designed.

We ate both dinner and breakfast during our stay. There's plenty of choice for dinner, with both A La Carte and Market menus on offer. After some tasty canapes in the bar, we were shown to our table for a mouthwatering selection of dishes; soups and salads to start; beef, lamb, trout and salmon for our main courses. There wasn't a crumb of anything left - not even the homemade bread. Being a special occasion, we felt obliged to press on with dessert, and some sorbets, berries, cheeses and cakes later, not to mention the petit fours served with coffee, five very satisfied customers waddled back up to their rooms.

No complaints with breakfast either. Quite possibly the best hotel muesli I've ever eaten featured in a help-yourself selection of cereals and juices. The toast was very good. The cooked selection features just about everything you'd expect, and it's all high quality and cooked very well.

The staff are chatty and work hard to make sure you leave with a smile on your face. The proprietors Roger and Helen were away during our visit, but Jason and the team had everything running like clockwork.

Almost perfect - thanks for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: River views are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank themanfromBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fine location by river-Top room in hotel very hot-no air con.

Restaurant food good- landlady did not bother to say "hello" even though she appeared in restaurant for awhile.

Not sure we would rush back

Room Tip: not top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were met by Jason who was expecting us - so a very simple check in process with a welcome offer from Jason to assist with luggage. We were offered tea and biscuits on the garden area by the river. A lovely way to start our break. We had Room 3, which is a pretty double aspect room and the bedroom area is of a generous size. In our room a box of chocolates had been placed with a 'Happy Anniversary' greeting. A very thoughtful gesture. The room was individual, comfortable and spacious and the historical provenance of the building was charmingly evident. The en suite was very small and the shower was inclined to be less than powerful and inconsistent in temperature - but maybe I didn't have the knack (in my experience, showers can be very temperamental!).
Our dinner on the first night was fine - I had breast of guinea fowl, my husband had Herefordshire fillet of beef - beautifully pink when served, as he had requested. Our only slight disappointment was the scarcity of vegetables, so on the second night we ordered an additional serving of these. Night two's dinner was less successful. Encouraged by my husband's experience, I ordered the Herefordshire fillet of beef and gave the same request as he had, but mine was without a trace of pink. There was greater evidence of veg, so we didn't really need the extra serving - but that was a disappointing element of the meal anyway (the cauliflower overcooked and the carrot chunks quite inelegant). The cheese selection was great and a few grapes with the cheeseboard on the second night would have been a welcome addition (they had been plentiful on the first night). Breakfast was fine - lovely bacon - and I was so impressed by the willingness of the breakfast waitress to accommodate the variations requested by every one of a large party (of 7?) who were keen to have a bespoke breakfast experience.
The history of the building and the care and concern of all members of staff we encountered made this a very pleasant stay. One development point would focus on the quality of the bread - the bread rolls felt and tasted as though they had been re-warmed and as a result had an almost impenetrable crust which contained stale bread. A small point, but one that is easy to fix. We would recommend this as a place to stay if you are keen to stay in a small, individual hotel where customer service is genuine.

Room Tip: Room 3 has double aspect with river views - but a small ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Discerning_Diner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently lunched at Wilton Court , one of our favourite local venues. The day was exceptionally hot, it was late afternoon, the place was very busy. As ever we were greeted by the friendly owners and had a relaxing pleasant lunch served by efficient charming staff who were very fatigued but very mindful of their guests comfort and enjoyment. The meal came up to our normal expectations, very fairly priced and in lovely surroundings. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A glorious day , we were seated outside ( book early). They coped with 18 of us including 5 children, the food and welcome was excellent , we plan to make this a regular event. The situation is superb .

Room Tip: did not apply
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Booked this restaurant mainly on previous reviews praising the food. More of that later. When e-mailed stated special birthday celebration and requested a nice table. On the former even a mention would have been appreciated and the table allocated on a warm summer Sunday lunchtime in gloomy area at back of restaurant. Managed on request to get this changed to the conservatory which was very pleasant. So if conservatory area free why placed as specified on a sunny summer Sunday.? On this day large party (20) booked in the garden for lunch and the waitress who served up who was charming but clearly overstretched. Later we sat in the garden which its position and ambience made for a pleasant afternoon. The food - certainly not fine dining. The sample menu on the website appears more attractive than actually on offer for example no guinea fowl or red mullet on offer on the day. The bread rolls presented were stale. One of the starters - terrine was swamped with wilting rocket. The salmon starters were though very good. For main course three of party had Herefordshire beef (sirloin?) with an offer of how cooked but they all arrived in fairly measly portion size the same. The roast potatoes were awful and tasted and appeared as if cooked on an earlier day. The Yorkshires were large and fluffy and very good. The lamb was disappointing especially as it had been lauded on the menu as being a local speciality. Vegetables (plentiful) were also a mixed bag. The sweets were generally OK. All in all a lovely venue in a spectacular position that did not quite hit the spot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank efcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,146 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $166 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Wilton Court Ross On Wye
Wilton Court Restaurant With Rooms Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing