We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed mid Dec on a Secret Escapes deal. Our room was upgraded to a very pretty room in the eaves with a view of the river, the decor was so pretty and quaint, the room was very comfy and clean, lovely tray of tea, coffee and biscuits. Bathroom was small but very functional. Slept very well. Breakfast was very well presented and tasty.
We ate in the bar area and had a great meal, we chose the beef as it was recommended on a previous review - it was gorgeous. My favourite part of the meal was the cheese board, each cheese was very local and flavourful.
We only stayed one night but wish it had been longer. Would def return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    83
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
455
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A really great place to stay - you feel like part of the family.
Even our dog was made welcome. And the food is fabulous; especially the plate of chocolates you get after you've dined. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Can't fault the location, food, service and general areas (bar, lounge and restaurant). All first class and upto their 5 star claim. However don't be fooled into thinking your room is going to be like one of the three they show on their website. No doubt those rooms are in the building somewhere but we never saw them and neither did our friends who accompanied us for a three night stay. We were in rooms 5 and 6 and they definitely not 5 star. More like 3 to 4 star. Very clean but bit too snug for any real comfort although think 6 had the edge on 5. The latter bathroom you couldn't swing a vole in, let alone a cat. The shame is that had we known what sort of room we would get we would still have gone. The Great Escapes deal was still good value but having looked at the website our expectations on the rooms were obviously too high and it left us with the feeling that we had been cheated.
After that feel need to reiterate that everything else was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Would we go again? Probably but with a more realistic expectation on the accommodation side.

Room Tip: Think said enough on this subject.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RoyS1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've been meaning to do this for ages, but of course there are always too many other things to do. Well, finally after nearly three years I'm putting fingers to keys and the reason is that we've just booked to go back to Wilton Court.

The stay we had in 2011 was just stunning; everything about it from the room to the food and of course the staff was nothing short of first class. Put that together with the scenery just outside and the magnificent views to be had quite close by makes this a very special place to stay.

Unfortunately we live in Norfolk so it's quite a way to go otherwise I think we would visit more frequently. Anyway March 2014 will soon be here!!

Please note we stayed in March 2011 but trip advisor will not allow you to select a travel date more than 12 months ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_C1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on my wife's birthday I organised a bouquet for the room on arrival,a really super bouquet and she received a lovely box of quality chocolates from them.Room was very nicely furnished comfortable bed and nice ensuite.
The meal was excellent,b/fast was great,what more can I add?a great little stay at an affordable price.Have taken out a loyalty card with them which offers a discount on food and accommodation which means that we will be back in the new year.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StourbridgeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellitlikeitwas
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed two nights here in early November and were very impressed. I rejected the first room we were offered as it was up in the eaves and, although pretty with excellent views, I am claustrophobic and couldn't cope with the ceiling sloping down to the bed. Without fuss, the staff found us another. The second room was even better: double aspect, with lovely views to the Wye and the bridge from our bed. The bed was big and very comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was newly fitted. Dinner was superb both nights and the service attentive. Both days, the owner made a point of talking to all the guests for a few minutes. On hearing that we were there to walk, she lent us a couple of hiking books and gave us suggestions and tips. Breakfast was equally delicious, with plenty of hot and cold choice. Even our dog was made very welcome. The only downside for me was the speeding ticket I acquired during the trip. Be warned: the local police appear to be exceptionally strict.

Room Tip: Ours was on a corner, with lovely views of the River Wye and the bridge into Ross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here as a treat for my partners birthday as the previous reviews had all been glowing.
I have to say I agree with them all. We had some of the finest food we have ever had.
The staff were attentive and friendly and as they were not particularly busy the chef actually came out for a chat with us before we ate and recommended the dishes he thought we would like and he was exactly right. We both had the duck as a starter and the mix of flavours was exquisite. We also both had the fillet of Hereford beef and it was certainly the best piece of steak we had both ever had and it was cooked to perfection and served with champ mash, spinach and mushroom - all adding to the overall experience.
I only wanted something light for a dessert and the chef recommended a lemon posset with some raspberry sorbet - wonderful! my partner had the bread and butter pudding and said it was lovely.
We had a deal through Secret Escapes and it was not particularly cheap but I can honestly say that it was worth every penny.
We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms

Property: Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Address: Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Wilton Court Ross On Wye
Wilton Court Restaurant With Rooms Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing