We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was treated as a surprise to a stay here by my husband for my birthday and had a really lovely time. They didn't know it was my birthday, so I had no special treatment, they just give very good service anyway!
The property itself is very characterful, complete with wobbly floors warped with age! We had the main four poster room shown on the website, which was very comfortable. It was a nice touch that as it has been particularly warm it had been considered and a fan had already been put in the room for us. The view from this room over the river was stunning.
The dinner was absolutely delicious with every element being perfect. As this is a restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel there were obviously only a few of us staying and being such a lovely evening we sat out. The staff did let us know that they'd be shutting the bar at 11 but in no way made us feel rushed or unwelcome to relax for as long as we liked.
It is also a very easy walk into Ross along the river so it was nice to be able leave the car and just go for a wander.
The staff were all warm and welcoming - I really can't fault it!

Room Tip: There are specific dog friendly rooms so if you have your pet, this will depend where you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed two nights in this beautiful hotel.The food was amazing and we had wonderful service.The riverside location was lovely our room had river and garden views and was clean and the decor was very nice. We felt that our welcome could have been better,we were given all the information we needed but it could have been done in a more friendly way. There is a small road between the hotel and river which cannot be seen on the photo but was not a problem during our stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 has river and garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFOSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a murder mystery weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great fun from start to finish. Food was first class and the service was friendly and efficient. The room (No 10) oozed character and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddiefatpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in July with our 14 year old son. Had a magnificent family room on the top floor with lovely views of the river and gardens. Dinner in the restaurant was magnificent - best meal on our trip in the UK! Next day, nourished by a magnificent full English breakfast included in the package, we then canoed 14 miles down the Wye river - thanks to Helen and Roger in assisting with bookings and advice. This stay was a highlight of our two weeks in England. Helen and Roger are impeccable hosts, the hotel and location are wonderful, and the food glorious.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank AussieAndrew10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is in a beeautiful setting. We stayed one night on our way to Cornwall and had booked a room with garden view but found ourselves upgraded to the four poster rroom with the river view. Although this was lovely, and I hate to make any negative comment, sadly the mattress on the bed was just not comfortable and I didn't sleep well. However, don't let this detract from what is an absolutely fabulous place to stay. The service is excellent an the hotel is full of well chosen antiques. Our evening meal was of a high standard but I didn't enjoy mine as much as I had hoped but that was my fault as I ordered duck and forgot to ask them to cook it well as I don't like it pink. The restaurant is light and airy and filled with fantastic Lloyd Loom furniture. Breakfast was excellent with very high quality food. Sitting in the garden on a sunny afternoon with a Pimms was just perfect...thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stopped one night on the way South for a holiday. Well we had booked a Garden view room but got upgraded instead in the four poster river view room (No complaints there!). The room was great with antique furniture and a great view. We had a package that included an evening meal which was fine dining and a breakfast that could not be faulted. I had a smoked salmon dish for breakfast.
You can have a drink in the secluded gardens or down by the river bank opposite. bar prices rvery reasonable.
The hotel is quirky, friendly, peaceful it gave a great start to our hols.
You could walk back into Ross town, maybe 10-15 minutes, but there was no reason for us to do that.
Overall, just could not fault the place, the welcome, the service. Can't recommend it enough, and the package with the evening meal was good value for what you got.
Hope to stay there again one day.

Room Tip: We liked the river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oysterpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a lovely evening here at the weekend. A group of us had a murder mystery party at the hotel. It was well organised and great fun - we started laughing as soon as everyone appeared in their fancy dress and did not stop all night. The owners and staff were great - friendly, welcoming, efficient. The food was very good both at dinner and the following morning at breakfast. The bedroom was beautiful with fabulous views to the river Wye and a lovely stone fireplace. Our stay coincided with the warm weather and the management had thoughtfully left a fan in the room which was very welcome. In fact they had thought of everything in the room - lots of little touches that made our stay very comfortable and it was all spotlessly clean. Our dog was also made to feel very welcome too. We had a great walk along the river in the morning and also walked over the bridge in to Ross which is a really nice town.
A big thank you to Helen, Roger and all the staff who made our stay so great - we just wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which had fabulous views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
601 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
506 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,152 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Restaurant with rooms Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $174 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Wilton Court Ross On Wye
Wilton Court Restaurant With Rooms Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing