We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed overnight in a river facing room. Hotel is lovely, really liked it, all very nicely decorated and quite quirky. Food very good, the dinner bed and breakfast rate was a good buy. Restaurant meals very much a special occasion venue.

Friendly excellent service

Room Tip: Not sure its worth the extra for a river view. What the photo's don't show you it that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45lmkf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 677 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hosts Roger & Helen are very experienced hoteliers and it shows. Our corner room - number 3 overlooked the river and had everything a 5 star hotel has even down to the sewing kit. The room was decorated in the true English style and oh the super king sized bed was sooo comfortable - en-suite bathroom had all the little comforts - shower cap, quality soaps & shampoo etc. They have a chef not a cook and so food was spectacular - they advertise as a restaurant with rooms!!! Breakfast in the conservatory was superb. There is ample parking right outside the front door and the porter is available to help with your bags. Excellent. Prospective guests should note the hotel is not in Ross on Wye but just off the M50 roundabout at Wilton.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2,3 face the river with room 3 the best. Rooms 9 & 10 also face the river but are up ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 914Swanny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Wilton Court on a Saturday night as part of a ‘room plus 3 course A La Carte meal’ deal booked at the last minute following a rare appearance of the sun in the area.

The positives:
- The service was friendly and welcoming throughout
- The location was excellent, with river views and a pleasant walk away from the centre of Ross
- The food was superb, both in the evening and at breakfast
- The room was clean and tidy

The negatives:
- The accommodation wasn’t without its’ flaws. A little minor work may have been needed in places (the stairs / shaky bannister for example), the shower was a little temperamental and the reception area is a not as inviting as the staff manning it. I guess much of that though is price you pay for having to work around the constraints of a fine old building and nothing was in any way a serious concern or issue.

In summary then, if I were to look at the accommodation alone for the price I may consider it nearer to 4 stars. Throw in the restaurant (as it is after all ‘a restaurant with rooms’), the location and the service though and it is definitely a 5. We certainly enjoyed our stay and appreciated the efforts of the staff to make it pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerWynn, Helen Wynn Co owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and delighted that you gave us a 5 taking into account our wonderful food, staff and service . Have taken note re staircase and will have this addressed. Could you also e mail us the room number you stayed in so we can check out the shower , we do replace them on a ongoing basis Thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just needed to get away and booked the Wilton on a whim. We took our small dog and can confirm that ths is a truly dog friendly hotel. She was allowed to stay in the room and they also had eating areas that enabled us to have her sat under our table (which was more relaxing for me as I didn't have to worry about her). Got a very warm welcome with complimentary tea/coffee, we had a latte, The best latte we have ever had. We hadn't planned to dine there but decided we would. WOW absolutely fantastic meal, with great service (and another great latte) so we were sooooo glad we did. We then went back to our room for a great nights sleep in the comfortable bed. And breakfast? Another wow, fantastic. We will definitely be staying again, probably for our wedding anniversary as it will make it extra special saying here. Well done to the owners and all the great, friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witchada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed for one night during a short trip. This hotel is absolutely brilliant! Usually there are at last a couple of niggles when you stay somewhere and have dinner but the Wilton Court is 'niggle free'. Nothing had to be requested throughout our stay. Fast and efficient reception desk and we were shown to our extremely clean room and everything about it was explained. The setting is fabulous and our room overlooked the river. The building is very old but has been updated to a very high standard and everything works as it should. First class bathroom, strong electric shower, tea/coffee/water in the room and a turn-down service including replenishment if needed. Down o the bar for drinks before our dinner, wonderful outside courtyard in which to enjoy them. menu delivered and order taken. Shown to our table just as we had finished our drinks. Excellent dining room. Food....Out of this world. The best English steak I have eaten in my 65 years! Faultless as was the breakfast the next day. They have won awards for that and I'm not surprised. Stay here when next anywhere near Ross-on-Wye, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: request a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

As a party of 16, we booked all 10 rooms at Wilton Court for our Annual Reunion.
We all agreed that the accommodation, the food and the attention to detail were superb, as was the excellent service we received from the staff.
One of our party is returning with friends for New Year.

Room Tip: Any room , we found, would be a good chioce
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent the weekend at Wilton Court. From start to finish our stay was excellent, a very warm friendly welcome, the Front of House Manager was great and very helpful with suggestions of what was available locally. The barman was lovely. Dinner was excellent, particularly the Cheese Board - a lovely selection of local cheeses. Every detail was covered. Excellent in every possible way. I will look forward to going back, but in the meantime I am going to email them for the recipe for their Tomato Chutney and the Homemade Marmalade, both the best I have ever had. Thank you Wilton Court for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 - Family Room in the Attic - Beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFF5808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerWynn, Helen Wynn- Co owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we were delighted that you enjoyed your weekend at Wilton Court , We will forward you the recipes for both the homemade marmalade and tomato chutney and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
602 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Restaurant with rooms Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $176 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Wilton Court Ross On Wye
Wilton Court Restaurant With Rooms Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing