We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a very nice, old hotel in a pleasant location by the river. It's in it's own grounds and so is quiet and peaceful, but there is one pub in Wilton just a minute or so's walk away which is also by the river and Ross-on-Wye is about ten minutes walk.

We had the family room up in the attic which was a good size and with plenty of olde worlde charm. The bed was massive and would easily have slept three! The grounds are pleasant too and consist of a decent garden and patio area. There are two restaurants, one very much like an old hotel drawing room, and one more contemporary with a modern conservatory. You can also eat out on the patio in suitable weather.

Staff were all friendly and helpful and came up with plenty of suggestions on local attractions. We had the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast option and this was good value at £40 (£20 per person) over the cost of B&B bearing in mind that you could choose three courses from the a la carte menu and some of the main courses along cost more than £20. Food was very good.

If I had to criticise something, it would perhaps be the old electric shower mounted over the bath instead of a decent dedicated shower booth.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 677 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Wilton Court. It was our second visit and we were not disappointed. Room 3 is delightful, overlooking the River Wye. The food is superb with an emphasis on local produce. All the ingredients are of the highest quality. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. One is looked after from the minute one walks through the door. Ross on Wye is a beautiful town and the surrounding area has much to offer. We certainly hope to return before too long.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Suffolkgolfer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked a two day stay here at Wilton Court, which is listed as a restaurant with rooms, following many visits to the restaurant for lunch whilst visiting family in Ross. Our garden room was comfortable with a touch of old english charm. Wilton Court dates back centuries and this is very much in evident in the decor and architecture. Views over the river Wye towards Ross make it an obvious choice for artists and photographers.

The restaurant has to be one of the best in Hereford. The lamb was cooked to perfection and the Hereford fillet of beef the following night was superb. food is sourced locally and the quality carefully selected according to the blurb in the menu. I do not doubt it as it was of the finest.

If you are looking for a slick plastic hotel then do not stay here, it is obviously not for you. However if you are looking for old world charm and service to match, then the Wilton Court is a must. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There are many reasons to stay at this hotel (as we did for three nights recently) and these would include the welcoming and friendly service, the good location, the character of the building and the generous room proportions...not to mention the nice breakfast. However, we wouldnt go back because of the one thing...and this isnt something that was unique to us (as we were part of several couples staying there for a wedding nearby)...unless it was addressed, and that's the showers in the bathrooms. All of our friends/ family thought that the showers were woeful/ unusable / terrible. A trickle of water of irregular temperature. Not good enough for a hotel charging these sorts of prices. If you sort your hot water system out, then we would come back.

Room Tip: Perhaps enquire if there are any with powerful showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had lunch on Saturday. Very quiet, only one other table occupied.We were served in the extended bar area. Lots of dark panels, very traditional, a bit gloomy in parts. Sadly our food was very average. They somehow contrived to make my carrot and sweetcorn soup almost tasteless, my wife's mixed salad was bland and the leaves looked as though they had come from a supermarket bag.We both had the liver and bacon which was nothing special and presentation was uninspiring. Service was friendly but the waitress was obviously new to the job, at least I hope she was! Perhaps they had the "B" team on at lunchtime, who knows. Note that they offer you bread but they charge for it. When we queried it they said they would waive charge today!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fabulous place for a short break away from it all and to treat yourselves. Took the three nights for price of two special offer and well worth it. Very friendly and helpful owners and staff, excellent food (fully justifying the numerous awards), comfortable room (pay the extra for the river view - we had room no 3) and a lovely location right on the river. We didn't have the weather for our weekend but everything else meant that didn't really matter. Ross-on-Wye is not bad to spend a little time in and the wider area is terrific if you've never been there. Don't normally do reviews or go back to places (too many other places to see and experience) but will make an exception on both counts for Wilton Court.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMCI22A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Visited again on the 6th April for a three night stay, rather special this time as we were celebrating my 60th!
We stay in room 2 as this has a beautiful river view & looks straight up onto the hill on which Ross is built.
After a couple of drinks to celebrate we went down to dinner with high expectations from our previous visits!
We were not disapointed! the quality was as good as ever & the service excellent.
Breakfast was of course superb, well cooked & of course taken at our leisure.
All in all as good as ever, super place in a super spot with super people (Helen & Roger) ensuring you have a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for a river view - the garden views are nice but they can't quite match the view across the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
602 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Restaurant with rooms Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $176 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Wilton Court Ross On Wye
Wilton Court Restaurant With Rooms Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing