We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benhall Farm(Ross-on-Wye)
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)(Great Value!)
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Achilty Guest House B&B(Ross-on-Wye)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveler rating
635
103
24
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
635
103
24
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbox of chocolatesmulberry treea river view roomon arrivalsecret escapesowners and stafffillet steaksmall hoteloverlooking the gardenexcellent foodbiscuitscooked to perfectionnight breaklocally sourced ingredientslovely locationrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 776 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked a two day stay here at Wilton Court, which is listed as a restaurant with rooms, following many visits to the restaurant for lunch whilst visiting family in Ross. Our garden room was comfortable with a touch of old english charm. Wilton Court dates back centuries and this is very much in evident in the decor and architecture. Views over the river Wye towards Ross make it an obvious choice for artists and photographers.

The restaurant has to be one of the best in Hereford. The lamb was cooked to perfection and the Hereford fillet of beef the following night was superb. food is sourced locally and the quality carefully selected according to the blurb in the menu. I do not doubt it as it was of the finest.

If you are looking for a slick plastic hotel then do not stay here, it is obviously not for you. However if you are looking for old world charm and service to match, then the Wilton Court is a must. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There are many reasons to stay at this hotel (as we did for three nights recently) and these would include the welcoming and friendly service, the good location, the character of the building and the generous room proportions...not to mention the nice breakfast. However, we wouldnt go back because of the one thing...and this isnt something that was unique to us (as we were part of several couples staying there for a wedding nearby)...unless it was addressed, and that's the showers in the bathrooms. All of our friends/ family thought that the showers were woeful/ unusable / terrible. A trickle of water of irregular temperature. Not good enough for a hotel charging these sorts of prices. If you sort your hot water system out, then we would come back.

Room Tip: Perhaps enquire if there are any with powerful showers...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had lunch on Saturday. Very quiet, only one other table occupied.We were served in the extended bar area. Lots of dark panels, very traditional, a bit gloomy in parts. Sadly our food was very average. They somehow contrived to make my carrot and sweetcorn soup almost tasteless, my wife's mixed salad was bland and the leaves looked as though they had come from a supermarket bag.We both had the liver and bacon which was nothing special and presentation was uninspiring. Service was friendly but the waitress was obviously new to the job, at least I hope she was! Perhaps they had the "B" team on at lunchtime, who knows. Note that they offer you bread but they charge for it. When we queried it they said they would waive charge today!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fabulous place for a short break away from it all and to treat yourselves. Took the three nights for price of two special offer and well worth it. Very friendly and helpful owners and staff, excellent food (fully justifying the numerous awards), comfortable room (pay the extra for the river view - we had room no 3) and a lovely location right on the river. We didn't have the weather for our weekend but everything else meant that didn't really matter. Ross-on-Wye is not bad to spend a little time in and the wider area is terrific if you've never been there. Don't normally do reviews or go back to places (too many other places to see and experience) but will make an exception on both counts for Wilton Court.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMCI22A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Visited again on the 6th April for a three night stay, rather special this time as we were celebrating my 60th!
We stay in room 2 as this has a beautiful river view & looks straight up onto the hill on which Ross is built.
After a couple of drinks to celebrate we went down to dinner with high expectations from our previous visits!
We were not disapointed! the quality was as good as ever & the service excellent.
Breakfast was of course superb, well cooked & of course taken at our leisure.
All in all as good as ever, super place in a super spot with super people (Helen & Roger) ensuring you have a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for a river view - the garden views are nice but they can't quite match the view across the river!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews