We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for lunch but not again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went for lunch but not again!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Three of us went for a light lunch today . The food was okay though nothing to write home about but the service was terrible. The attitude of the waiter was the problem. Pity really because it is clearly a lovely place but if you feel that the waiter is really not interested and is not interested in making your presence enjoyable' then it spoils the whole thing. WILL NOTBE GOING BACK.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeteGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerWynn, Owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
We were most concerned to read your recent review in respect of your lunch experience. We are passionate about delivering an enjoyable experience to our guests and are most apologetic that you felt that the waiter on duty was not interested and spolit your visit. We were however very surprised to receive this feedback as the waiter on duty on the date of your visit is our manager of nine years and regularly receives comments in our guest comment cards as someone standing out providing exceptional service, so it is particually distressing both to him and us to hear on this occasion something clearly went wrong. We hope that you will visit again and give us another opportunity to show that we strive to meet our guests expectations with warm and friendly service and excellent food in our exceedingly beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    77
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
424
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Wilton Court is set on the bank of the Wye, just outside Ross, down a quiet lane, with it's own secluded gardens. I have stayed here at various times of year, and have enjoyed the log fire in the bar in winter, and sitting outside with a cold beer, in the summer. The atmosphere is welcoming and the staff are friendly and helpful.
This is a charming old building, and hence the rooms all have their own character. This is part of the fun...but I should say that those I have stayed in are all well equipped and comfortable will all the little touches that make me feel special...I was particularly grateful for the complimentary mineral water, and I always find some peppermint tea amongst the English breakfast, beside the kettle.
The food, whether sandwiches in the bar, or a full meal in conservatory restaurant, is of a consistently high standard, and the service is efficient, but friendly, which helps to add to the relaxed atmosphere. The full English breakfast is the best I've ever had. There are, of course, healthy alternatives....The hosts, Helen and Roger, are much in evidence and happy to help with any problems or requests...
I love this hotel...from watching the swallows over the river on a summer evening, to sipping Butty Bach in the bar, to the Sunday roast, to a peaceful night's sleep away from the traffic noise.
Ross is only minutes away by car, or a pleasant 15 minute stroll on foot. I hope to return again and again...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clonemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Lovely venue, superb accommodation, good food, friendly and efficient staff, excellent hosts, I can't recommend highly enough.
Absolutely wonderful what more can I say except........ I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My fiancee and I returned for a two night break (over the royal wedding weekend) for our ninth time - that says it all really!.
We stumbled across this hotel by accident in 2008, and despite a 4 hour drive, return again and again as it has proved to be impossible to beat.
The location, the rooms, food, customer service and professionalism of all the staff are superb. To be honest we've been spoilt now because everywhere else doesn't quite match up!
The rooms are all lovely but Room 1 is our favourite for the four poster bed and the quirky bathroom complete with Victorian fireplace!
It may be a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for, and from the minute you walk through the door, you get a cheery welcome and feel like you've returned home.
Will be returning in the near future (3rd time this year) for a anniversary treat for my parents.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Are you tired of the ubiquitous hotel bedroom and the staff that have more concern about head office than their guests then Wilton Court will suit you down to the ground. Within 100yds of the River Wye and all rooms having views over the river or attractive spacious garden this a quiet relaxing hotel. Despite the proximity to the A40 there is no traffic noise.One can get a first class idea of the hotel and its environs from Google Earth Street View. Having been built in the 17th century there is considerable variety to the public and private rooms. The Bar has dark furniture while the lounge is warm and homely. The dining area has a sun room area and a normal area all having having pale lovatt lloyd loom furniture. Throughout the hotel you will find a variety of ornaments a majority having an oriental theme.
Now to the food - there is prize winning quantity and quality at breakfast while the dinner menu tempts one with an adventurous and innovative choice. The dinner quantity is satisfying but not enough if your are ravenous after a hard days hike.
The whole gives an ambience of comfort and homeliness. For a relaxing break at value one would have a challenge to find somewhere better.

Room Tip: The garden rooms view is as good as the river vie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darby_and_joanRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I tried to book this hotel on the internet but it said we needed a 2 night minimum stay, so I called the hotel and was allowed to book 1 night only, no problem. On arrival at the hotel we parked on the the hotels car park and was allowed to check in early. We paid for a garden view room but on arrival we were given a river view room at no extra cost. The room was lovely and big and had a fantastic view of the river. The bed was super king and was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The owners made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. It's about a 15 min walk to the town along the river and there were a couple of nice pubs to stop in on the way. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast the next morning. Both meals were excellent, the food is superb! It is the most expensive hotel in Ross but if your looking for that special break it's well worth it. There is a lovely pub opposite the hotel for a more relaxed and informal drinks and food, cheaper too!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Our weekend break got off to a bad start when we were shown to our room. The room was dull and lacking in character. The bathroom was very small and the shower was powerless - I noticed that this has been mentioned by a previous reviewer and the owner had pledged to replace it (afraid not!) The food was of a very good standard but this didn't make up for the disappointment we felt over the lacklustre room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroltwocoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerWynn, Owner at Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
We were extremely dissapointed to read your recent review. Room 3 where we believe you stayed (displayed on our gallery of rooms on our web site should other readers like to view the room) is one of the original rooms in our 500 year old building and was formally the magistrates chambers. It has two stone mullion windows with enchanting views of the river at the front and our walled gardens to the side. The original stone fireplace has been exposed and enhanced by a log flame stove. Over the last year the room has been equipped withh a 26 inch flat screen TV/DVD player, fitted with a new carpet and new super king bed.This room is admired by many of our guests who particually request this room for return visits. We do have an on going refurbishment programme and this room is scheduled to be repapered later this month creating a feature wall in a new Sanderson design which we believe will further add to the charachter. With regard to the small bathroom, it has a full size bath and a larger than average sink. The bathroom we admit is narrow however due to the constraints of our grade listed building we cannot increase the size further.Our showers are not power showers and we do not promote them as such . In line with our enviromental statement they are miras electric showers and are regually checked to ensure that they are working correctly and changed if the heating element is malfunctioning. The shower in room 3 was replaced last year and we have checked that is is working normally. These showers are fitted to give our guests an alternative to a bath and facilitate hair washing.

My husband and I were away the weekend of your stay but I (Helen) one of the owners was there on Monday morning and served you breakfast and checked you out. I asked you on check out if you had enjoyed your stay. At no stage did you give any indication of dissapointment. I have subsequently asked our manager if you had mentioned any dissapointment to him and he advised that as he felt you were unhappy he asked you on two separate occasions if everything was all right and that you replied everything was fine. I am sorry that you did not mention your dissapoinment of your room to him so that he could have tried to change your room allocation as our guests comfort is most important to us and we always strive to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
543 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms

Property: Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Address: Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Wilton Court Ross On Wye
Wilton Court Restaurant With Rooms Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing