We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean, homely bed and breakfast with superb views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Guest House
Ranked #16 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I arrived at the White House earlier than I had arranged and was met by the proprietor, Judy who assisted me with my luggage and then proceeded to give me a full run down on all the best places to eat at in Ross on Wye and which to avoid. She was very welcoming and helpful.
I parked right outside the hotel and was given a visitor parking permit by Judy.
The place itself could not be better located, right opposite the river Wye and in a quiet location but only a short 2-3 minutes stroll to the town centre. My room had a river view and was clean with a good sized, comfortable bed, flat screen T.V., tea and coffee making facilities and a nice clean bathroom with a good, powerful shower.
I had a comfortable nights sleep and the following morning was served a superbly cooked, full English breakfast with top quality products used. There was also a choice of cereal, fruit juices and fresh fruit too.
Nothing was too much trouble for Judy. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who was on a short break or business trip and will use it the next time I have business in that area.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burt0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which was much appreciated. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed for one night and found it to be in an ideal position overlooking the river. The landlady was friendly and very helpful - tea or coffee on arrival and she gave us lots of information about eating places in Ross on Wye. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. We would happily recommend this guest house.
Patt and Bob Prime

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at this B&B for a long weekend at the end of July. The room was very nice, similar to what you'd expect in a traditional B&B (i.e. you feel like you're staying in someone's room rather than a hotel room!). The breakfast was good. The location is nice right next to the river. The centre is two minutes walk away.

One of the mornings the Landlady apologised for the noise in the pub opposite (well a few minutes walk down the road), where there was a live gig taking place in the Garden, though sheepishly we admitted we were over there for most of the night anyhow!

Was good value and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2011

Judy thanks you for your kind response, which is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Very warm reception. I was offered a cup of tea or coffee on arrival. A lot of consideration from proprietor about breakfast preference. Well situated one minute walk from river bank and 5 minutes from town. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffturner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Excellent location , lovely clean room , tasty breakfast & a very hard working hospitable owner.
Would certainly recommend.
We will be back !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thog01274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Whoever left bad feedback about The White House, could not have stayed there. The location is perfect., a short walk to the town. River Wye is just across the road, a riverside pub is 100 yards left, another 100 yards right. Crisp white sheets, and a very good breakfast, excellent

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmo3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

I stay here once a month for work as Judy the owner is v. friendly and the b&b is v. reasonably priced with ensuite in every room. If you are a tourist it is also in probably the best location in Ross overlooking the R. Wye and less than 50 m from two pubs on the Wye. The rooms themselves are pleasant enough overlooking the river and still have their lovely sash windows and the building has been maintained sympathetically with its origins.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDogDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
431 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thatch Close Farm
Thatch Close Farm
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
33 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
529 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
2 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Guest House

Address: Wye Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $45 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in Ross on Wye Town centre. All rooms en-suite with river views. Easy walk to all town centre amenities. Excellent restaurants close by. Friendly owner caters for vegetarians, vegans and other diets with prior notice. Hypo allergenic bedding. Quiet part of town but close to everything. Pet friendly and child friendly. Packed lunches by prior request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The White House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Guest House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing