We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We very rarely book hotels and generally, if there is a need to, we would avoid the likes of premier inns, due mainly to past experiences of noisy guests. However, we needed to break up our holiday journey home and Ross-on-Wye was an ideal location. We were pleasantly surprised at the improvements since our last stay at such an establishment. The standard of the rooms was excellent and even fans were provided. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and spacious and the night was unbelievably quiet. The staff we encountered were all friendly and polite, the service was fine and it turned out to be a much better experience than we were anticipating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    190
    63
    19
    10
See reviews for
153
292
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We use Premier Inns all the time when we go away & this is the usual high standard so although I have rated it as "average" that should not put you off but it has no extra's to make us rush back there...compared with the some others we have stayed at recently (Chester City Centre).
The rooms were large and quiet, they had no air conditioning but 2 fans in each room (not a problem to us this time). The staff were efficient and polite. We were not expecting to have to "go outside" to the restaurant for Diner and even breakfast so be warned about that - no internal access as we have experienced elsewhere. The restaurant was VERY busy & even though we had booked Dinner for 6.30pm we had to queue to get to the desk & be given a table - not enough staff at breakfast either really. Final comment it is out of the town - so quiet - but you do have to jump in the car to get back to do anything & no view of the town at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight to travel onto son's cricket match in Mid Wales. Great welcome at check in and as I am disabled on crutches a ground floor room for us all. The family room was very roomy for 2 adults and 2 teenagers and 2 fans were provided, although the weather had cooled down to a more reasonable 20 degrees. Beds were very comfortable and a flat screen TV was good too. Room looked out onto farmland at the back.

We ate at the Beefeater as we didn't arrive until 7pm. Service was good, but prices astronomical. For 2 starters, 4 main meals, 3 desserts and 2 drinks each the bill was £92! Pricey for what we had. However, breakfast the following morning took my breath away. We were booked, but waited a while to be seated at 8.30am. My husband and boys were led to the table while I lagged behind on my crutches. By the time I got to the table the waitress had explained the options and was standing blocking the chair I needed to sit in! She left me standing while she proceeded to take my husbands cooked breakfast order then disappeared! I asked my family what the options were and they explained. I understood the 2 waiting staff were very busy as the restaurant was packed with families with kids running up and down, but felt the waitress simply ignored me. In the end I called another waitress over to ask to order and she said I would have to wait as she had other tables to serve!

All in all not a good experience for a disabled person in the Beefeater, and I would avoid the restaurant if we returned, but the Premier Inn was first class and the receptionists very cheerful and kind.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CariadRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July 2013 when temperatures were exceptionally high (30C). Although there is no aircon, in all aspects the staff were very helpful throughout, moving us to another room and installing fans, as ann example but there are many more. I have stayed in many hotels but it is rare to encounter staff that go the extra mile to the extent that the staff at this hotel do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliB3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Careful on entering the carpark as there is a massive pothole. Arrive early to secure a car space near the hotel or be relegated to near the motorway rpundabout. Rooms usual high standard but not comfort cooled. Good breakfast bit not biffet for the cooked selection unlike some Premier Inns I have stayed in. Consider this a ' second choice ' if you cannot get a room in Hereford. Ross is near but a car journey away.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good location for touring Forest of Dean and Ross on Wye area. Spacious very clean rooms and cheerful helpful staff. Avoid like the plaque unless you like sauna bedrooms. No air conditioning so do not go in hot weather. Fantastic for winter breaks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumnyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Absolutely dreadful , walked out , checked in on the hottest day of the year only to be met by a grumpy receptionist sat in what felt like walking into a sauna ,
we took a look at our room which was so hot we would have never slept in there & windows werent allowed to be opened only to end up walking out ,
Then swamped in the carpark by a very disgruntled bikers convention that had all arrived in the 15 minutes that we were in the hotel ,who were very rude as i had parked in "a car parking space" that they wanted for their gathering .
absolutely awful place to stay ,
Normally find premier inns ok but NOT This one - Never again !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOCHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
374 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Address: Ledbury Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of the great outdoors in this idyllic spot by the Brecon Beacons and the Forest of Dean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing