We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and decent food - just the ticket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and decent food - just the ticket”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night as a convenient and not too distant escape while our bathroom at home was being refurbished. Not all that exciting one might think, but the beauty of Premier Inns is that you can change your mind up until the last minute, booking is simplicity itself and you are always assured of certain standards of comfort. The restaurants vary slightly according to which branch of the chain they belong to - this one is a Beefeater so if you like steaks and burgers you're laughing. That said there is a decent choice of alternatives as well. We found a warm and friendly welcome, straightforward check in, a large, comfortable room with the temperature easily adjusted to our choice, clean and comfortable bathroom, and we had a thoroughly pleasant evening in the adjoining restaurant.

All in all a home from home which is perhaps surprising in a "budget" and "chain" hotel. A decent breakfast set us up for the return home to the noise, cold (heating off line due to the work) and disruption of home!

A very nice example of a Premier Inn, too close to home for regular stays for us but certainly one we would recommend to friends and family should the need arise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieCroker1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    203
    66
    20
    11
See reviews for
165
302
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

After staying in a considerably more expensive hotel in Cardiff, this hotel was a refreshing change. The check in was quick and friendly. The room was twice the size of the other hotel. The facilities were not perceptibly different and the on-site restaurant had friendly and quick service on a busy night, the food was great and less than half what we'd paid the previous night.
I have stayed at Premier Inns on previous occasions and they have all been good. This was a relaxing and pleasant experience. I now intend to plan my holiday tour of Britain on Premier Inns.

Room Tip: We were in the new wing facing away from the nearby road. But road noise was not a problem anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger14_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This was a trip to attend a family funeral and we chose this hotel because it was close to the family event and the good reviews on Trip Advisor. It is about 5 minutes drive from the town centre of Ross-on-Wye located in the countryside adjacent to the M50 motorway. There is a little impact from road traffic noise at peak times or you can leave the double glazed window closed and it is quiet. Well lit car park with ample free parking.

Welcome on arrival was very good and we found the staff helpful and accommodating for our two nights stay.

Our room was a standard double and was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed, writing desk and one easy chair. We need two chairs and the Receptionist got us a second chair straight away. I don't know why they don't provide two chairs in a double room? Plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe. Standard television with Freeview and 30 minutes free Wi-Fi available. Tea and coffee making facilities.

Our en-suite facilities were adapted for the disabled and included a low level bath with a shower over and ample hot water. The bathroom was very clean with fluffy white towels.

We paid £39 per night for the room by booking in advance. There was a Beefeater Restaurant adjacent about 100 metres away which served breakfast and main meals although we did not try the fare. The menu had plenty of choice.

This was a nice Premier Inn and we would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahlenglaender
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We came from Birmingham and had an appointment for Cardiff hospital the next day. We booked the Premier Inn because the location was very convenient and the reviews on trip advisor seemed ok. It is not exactly 5star, but for one night we weren't bothered. I booked the bargain for GBP 19.00 per night but made a mistake with the date and had booked the 24th instead the 23rd and I could not cancel. If I had booked with the option for cancellation it would have been GBP 38.00, so there was no advantage. We paid GBP 38.00 for the night and it was my fault, so I cannot complain to anyone.
We did not have breakfast but when we had breakfast at the Little Chef a bit further on, we wish we had taken the offer because that was a much better deal.
We would definitely stay there again for 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room because there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahlenglaender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I'm a regular stayer here as I have work commitments just down the road. You get exactly what you would expect for a Premier Inn - and that's consistency. I've been put in a number of rooms, and in all you get a large comfortable room, with a large comfortable bed and that familiar P.I. purple and white colour scheme!
The staff are always friendly and polite, and now greet me as a regular, which is nice. The food is consistently good - maybe not that special night out you would choose for a big occassion, but certainly good honest pub grub.
In short, a good choice for the area. I have tried some other local hotels which I find either expensive for what they are, of lacking in certain quality areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are a family of four visiting Ross-on-Wye to catch up with friends . I am so pleasently surprised at the standard of the rooms and the quality of service you recieve at a Premier Inn ... I used to think that it cannot be possible to visit different ones over the country and recieve consistent quality but they manage it every time ! Lovely time had by all ................

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsonsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here for a second time.

It is still, for me, one of the best Premier Inns.

Restaurant was excellent and the staff in the Hotel and Restaurant were so helpful and friendly.

Its a leasure to stay here.

Whatever they are doing, they have got it right.

Room Tip: Always best to ask for second floor in all Premier Inns. No footsteps during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Address: Ledbury Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of the great outdoors in this idyllic spot by the Brecon Beacons and the Forest of Dean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing