We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been back 8 times already!”
Review of The Cross Keys Inn

The Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #17 of 84 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: we are a family run traditional inn with 4 En suite rooms we serve tradition food and real ales we are open for food 7 days from 12 until 9 sit in front of our real fire with a pint and enjoy rural Herefordshire just a few miles from Simmonds yat, ross on wye and Monmouth we have a large play area for the younger guests to run around and a beer garden to sit and relax with family, dog and muddy boots friendly if your in the area come and say hello Mandy John and Jack would love to see you
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Been back 8 times already!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've lived in Monmouth for 7 years now and only just discovered the cross keys last year! They do the most lovely food and such big portions too! The prices are brilliant too for what you get. I recommend this place to everyone I know! :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BethButler2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    93
    22
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We popped into the Cross Keys on the recommendation of a friend. We were welcomed warmly by friendly staff and had no problem getting food, despite being almost 21:00. The place was packed so I think we were very fortunate. The food was homemade, hearty platefuls in man-sized portions. I had lasagne (delicious) and my partner had the “whale and chips” (lived up to its name). Super atmosphere and reasonable prices. We’ll definitely return and recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cross Keys Virgins”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went to the Cross keys last night for the first time. I had booked 3 weeks in advance and very glad I did. When we got there at 7pm there was not many people there but by the time we left, it was packed.
The Staff was VERY friendly and efficient.
The menu was extensive with a wide range of choice. A good choice of drinks at the bar also. We refrained from having a starter because we had already been warned about the size of the main meal. OMG we was NOT disappointed.
The meal was excellent and although it was large there was very little food left on the plate when we finished.
Overall the experience was very Good
If there was just a small complaint, I am Not the tallest person in the world (5'8) the chairs we sat at was a little low for the table. However the rest of the experience out weighed that small issue
Will we return???? HELL YES.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Food here is excellent. Staff really friendly.however the portions are huge and could maybe do with being a bit smaller as sometimes we have had to leave some.The fish and chips commonly known as whale and chips is out of this world,very tasty and massive.

Good home cooked food and well worth the money.Will always return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Thumping music”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Portion control here is very generous and the food is good. I would like to try here again on a quieter night. The music was very loud and had a thumping bass which spoiled the atmosphere. We couldn't hear each other talk. I asked 3 times for it to be turned down a tiny bit, but it didn't seem to be adjusted. We were glad to leave and hear ourselves think! It's a shame as the food was nice and I'd heard excellent reviews from friends. (Ps. We're in our 30's and like music!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys Inn also viewed

 
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Walford, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing