We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large portions. Best to book.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Keys Inn

The Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #25 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: we are a family run traditional inn with 4 En suite rooms we serve tradition food and real ales we are open for food 7 days from 12 until 9 sit in front of our real fire with a pint and enjoy rural Herefordshire just a few miles from Simmonds yat, ross on wye and Monmouth we have a large play area for the younger guests to run around and a beer garden to sit and relax with family, dog and muddy boots friendly if your in the area come and say hello Mandy John and Jack would love to see you
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large portions. Best to book.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent pub with a wide selection of food. Even on a very busy Friday evening the food and the service was faultless. Warning - the portions are large and you should book a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJBIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    89
    20
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely won't leave this pub feeling hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to Cross Keys in Goodrich on a Sunday night and found pub very busy. We hadn't booked but managed to get a table in functions room. We both liked the selection of specials on the black boards. Even though we did have to wait a bit for our meals they were well worth the wait and portions were very generous but that didn't mean a compromise in flavour. I must admit we couldn't even finish the sides of veg and chips and had no room for desert!! The only negative thing I could say that it was a bit chilly where we were seated compared to the main part of the pub.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Singija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good pub food served here and massive portions. Recommend that you book a table as it gets very busy, even on the Sunday night that we visited the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Really delicious. Huge portions and very reasonably priced. 7 different types of veg and a mound of roast meat. Would recommend skipping breakfast to do it justice! Service was great, very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Homely cooking, large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Does exactly what is says on the tin! Good choice, good for veggies, nice ales and fantastic range of locally sourced ingredients. Would return. Best after a long walk!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys Inn also viewed

 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing