We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best cooked food in the area.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Keys Inn

The Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #25 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: we are a family run traditional inn with 4 En suite rooms we serve tradition food and real ales we are open for food 7 days from 12 until 9 sit in front of our real fire with a pint and enjoy rural Herefordshire just a few miles from Simmonds yat, ross on wye and Monmouth we have a large play area for the younger guests to run around and a beer garden to sit and relax with family, dog and muddy boots friendly if your in the area come and say hello Mandy John and Jack would love to see you
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best cooked food in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Helen makes the most wonderful desserts, a whole cabinet of home cooked desserts to choose from, it takes me ages!!! That is if I have room to eat anything after the main course.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    89
    20
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“As always - cracking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I thought I better had leave a comment as we eat here so often and it is our local favourite. Fantastic service as always from Jonnie, Helen and Scarlette. Helen makes superb food and cracking desserts each time. We return here at least 2 a month and sometimes more. A really good food pub!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best pub grub ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ate here recently with some friends. Five of us in total and we all had a good meal.
A blackboard menu with plenty of choice and seasonal dishes, the game pie was excellent.
Enormous portions which meant that none of us could manage a dessert.. a tragedy as they looked wonderful.
The service was friendly and efficient and we can't wait to visit there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlottejane60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“You won't go hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

W e stopped at this pub, a stones throw from the dual carriageway early one Saturday evening. The place was heaving and we struggled to sit down and have a drink and just as we'll we didn't want to eat because they were fully booked. So I went back with a friend at lunchtime. Still busy but not as frenetic as a Saturday evening. There is a good range of food available, from sandwiches to steak. There was a roaring fire and service was swift. The portions are substantial and our lasagne, salad and garlic bread would have kept a whole pack of wolves from the door! If you are cold and hungry this is definitely the place to go. if you want fine dining this is probably not for you BUT this is a country pub serving good honest food for the hungry masses. The prices won't break the bank £8.95 seems like good value to me. Go try it but book first, you won't be at the head of the queue!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lotsofspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent pies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We go to Pembrookshire and always stop at the Cross Keys for their steak and ale pie simply because it is the best we have tasted ! We even had a takeaway of pie for our son on our last visit.
The owners are always welcoming, saying we were like locals, even though we only go twice a year! If you like tender chunks of steak in a thick gravy in a pastry/suet pie, then this is the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WarwickLeamingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys Inn also viewed

 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 
Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing