We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, quaint and quite a find!!”
Review of Orles Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orles Barn Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I should firstly confess that I booked because my first choice of hotel (some distance away and complete with spa) was full. Sometimes fate gives you a lucky break.

It can be gard to surprise a jaded business traveller, used to the usual run of 4* hotels .... Orles Barn managed it!! This is a "love it or hate it" option. .... and I loved it.
If you want Travelodge style, go elsewhere because from the moment of arrival this experience is personal, raher than the slickly distant approach of most hotels. Small, with just 8 bedrooms, the owners describe it as "a restaurant with rooms", . . . but they do themselves a disservic, it is more a breath of fresh air in the trail of 'same old; establishments

Two well behaved friendly dogs offered welcome, swiftly followed by smoothly efficient owners Richard & Kelly. Within minutes I was installed in an upgraded room ("its not booked tonight so you may as well enjoy the extra space") and on my way back down for acuppa - offered, without prompting, as I checked in.

This is the point at which one discovers that the downstaiis is a home from home. A large light and airy dining area hides a small and intinate bar with comfy sofa's and an easy atmosphere..... and owners happy to chat, and tell you that the Barn is not only their business, but their home. One does indeed feel like a houseguest. Nothing is too much trouble and this hard working pair have a good instinct for when one may like to chat, and when they should leave you to it.

Dinner was excellent, and the newly awarded AA 4* restaurant status is deserved. The menu is relatively limited but well constructed with a strong element of local produce, and was perfectly executed (as was breakfast!).The winelist was acceptable (I settled for a Sancerre)

The bedrooms are clean, with simple decor and the beds wide and comfy.

Downsides? If one wished to be ultra picky ...it is close to the dual carriageway, but have to say I didn't hear any traffic noise once I was in the hotel. The bathrooms are in need of a revamp - but the plumbing functioned, the water was hot, and one is inclined to be forgiving on hearing that new bathrooms are due for installation this winter, after a two year programme of updating throughout.

Other than that ..... it is hard to find fault, and the only real difficulty is in deciding quite where Orles Barn fits, as it has neither the feel of a B&B, nor of a standard hotel. Quirky, quaint, and charming, with owners who bend over backwards to please .... this is definitely one that you should try!

(and if the owners should read this ...... I hope all goes well for January 15th!!)


.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBlondeBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 355 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

We arrived to a cup of tea whcih was just what we wanted and read the papers. Dinner was delicious and we managed three courses which is a rarity. We had one of the best night's sleep in a room with an oak beam and enormous bed. Breakfast suited my wife who had continental and I enjoyed a magnificent full English. We will definitely be coming back as we make this journey to see our grandchildren as often as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamHagley067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

My partner and I had an enjoyable stay at Orles Barn for a long weekend just after christmas. The service was excellent, Richard and Kelly are fab hosts! Our room was welcoming, cosy and very clean. The fresh home cooked food is fantastic, the wine list exceptional and they serve a very hearty breakfast! I'll definately be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missymanchester87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We did not stay at the hotel, but had booked the restaurant for my parents 50th wedding anniversary.
Richard and all his staff were helpful from the very beginning.
When we turned up during the day to decorate the table they had set upt the private room for us and were happy for us to put what ever decorations we wanted on the table.
The food in the evening was lovely, and they were able to accommodate a very fussy eater by adapting their menu.
I would recommend the food and the hosts to all.
A very very enjoyable evening.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank littleannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We were welcomed warmly with tea/coffee in the lounge, but were disappointed with the room which was small and slightly tatty, with a draught through one of the secondary glazing windows which would not close fully. This was more noticeable once the heating had been switched off in the evening. Our doors squeaked, as did those next door and the noise was awful. The breakfast was very good and the location made it easy to go walking in the Forest of Dean, but I would say it is a restaurant with the rooms an afterthought.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jud1th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Be aware that if you stay in the Autumn, there won't be any heating on. We had a particularly wet two days, so the rooms became quite chilly at night. When we asked why the radiators wouldn't come on, there was a flimsy excuse about the room temps. probably not falling enough. This was rubbish,as there were thermostats on the radiators. It just wasn't switched on!
This meant also that the towels stayed damp.

The rooms need major refurbishment, paintwork and bathrooms etc. The window frames inside were dirty and covered in mould. Simple cleaning would have made some difference!

On a positive note, the food was good and the owners very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friends60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Stayed here in conjunction with a wedding trip where the owners were friends of the bride - wonderful little place - the ambience was quite nice - Richard and Kelly are wonderful hosts, lots of energy and very helpful - they are really focused on making your stay a comfortable one - their restaurant is great - good food, creative preparation, local supplies - good location for exploring the region - rooms are comfortable. quiet, and quite clean.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
485 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orles Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orles Barn Hotel

Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $92 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Orles Barn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation ideal for everything from a romantic weekend away to a bolt hole from business. Our Grill & Restaurant serves Modern British Local Food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Orles Barn has links back to the 14th & 17th Centuries and the first floor rooms have exposed beams and character features. The south facing garden stretches over an acre and is ideal for wedding receptions. Enjoy Walking? Around the hoterl area are plenty of walks to hand. after you have finihsed you can relax in our cosy bar/lounge with a local drink or maybe just a fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Orles Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orles Barn Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing