We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little weekend escape, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orles Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orles Barn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful little weekend escape, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We originally stayed here in February 2012, arriving shortly after I proposed to my girlfriend over a picnic in the Wye Valley.
I had originally booked through an agent, but the owner went out of his way to accommodate my requests to add extras to the booking - and despite our various delays in arriving, we arrived to find our room perfectly prepared with a package of delicious handmade chocolates and pink champagne on ice. The owner didn't know the reason for our trip, but when we arrived we were delighted to discover that he had upgraded us to the beautiful little "Pixie Apple" suite with dressing room and bath in a curtained alcove with a cute starlight ceiling. He apparently thought we'd appreciate the upgrade, since my order for chocolates and champagne indicated a romantic getaway. If you're reading this, thank you so much! The room was a wonderful treat and an amazing surprise.
The food in the comfortable restaurant was excellent; fresh, flavourful and perfectly prepared. If anything, the starters and mains were perhaps a little too rich - despite the well judged portion sizes, neither of us felt able to do justice to the desserts. We'll try to do better next time! In the morning we enjoyed an efficient and delicious breakfast overlooking the rear garden.
The general level of finish to the hotel's decor, furnishings and services was excellent - Orles Barn was beautiful, comfortable, clean and in good repair throughout. The staff were discreet and unintrusive, whilst being attentive, friendly and approachable. We had a couple of brief conversations with the owner, who is personally very genuine, enthusiastic and interesting.
The restaurant menu is certainly fairly priced for the excellent food, but guests should anticipate a bill which reflects that this is a good restaurant. The room tariff represents fantastic value for a hotel of this quality.
We didn't actually see much of Ross-on-Wye during our visit, but hope to rectify that omission soon. In fact, we're returning to Orles Barn shortly for the anniversary of our last trip, and have made sure to book the Pixie Apple suite!
In short, we heartily recommend this cute and surprising little hotel. Please find an opportunity to stay there, and we hope you enjoy your visit half as much as we did!

Room Tip: The Pixie Apple suite is delightful, take it and you won't be disappointed. We haven't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    61
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
34
230
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We have booked our wedding here for 2014 and fell in love with it then but for our anniversary, we treated ourselves to a night's stay and dinner last weekend.

The room was lovely and very very clean. As we arrived in the dark, cold and snow, they had already prepared our room by turning on a little lamp and had the heating perfect - such a cosy, homely welcome!

Shame there wasn't any of the homemade biscuits mentioned in the welcome folder though.

We stayed in Orange Pippin which is a generous size and with a bath in the room itself, it wasn't long before we had a nice soak over looking Ross-on-Wye lit up and then climbed into the cosy dressing gowns provided.

Dinner was excellent - we were greeted in the bar for pre-dinner drinks and then took through to our table when starters were ready. We had 3 courses and all of them were to die for - the homemade bread was something else! We met Matt, the Chef, when he heard we have our wedding booked there next year and was so friendly and helpful.

We were actually the only 2 in the restaurant and I'm not surprised when it was minus figures outside, icey and snowy, but there was no way the weather was stopping our trip!! However, the waitress (sorry I don't know your name) got the level of service just right - attentive and spoke to use when we wanted but also left us to it to enjoy our dinner. She was also very helpful on showing us bedrooms to help us plan for our wedding. Even though we were the only 2 dining, the service didn't drop at all and I know from managing restaurants myself that this can easily be done.

Moved on to a very comfy sleep and then a great breakfast. We needed ours half an hour earlier than normal which was no trouble for them at all. Maybe the buffet could hold a bit more choice but by the time we had finished the amazing full English, I'm glad I didn't fill up on buffet!! The Full English was excellent and local food which we think is great! The menu held a lot of nice choices for breakfast.

This was a luxury stay with great food - what more could you want?! I highly recommend and the staff are lovely.

We can only say that we are SO sorry we forgot to leave a tip - when we are next in the area, we will drop it in as it is very deserved!

We can understand some reviews about the managers not being present especially if its your first stay and don't know Orles Barn, but our stay was top notch as they clearly have a great team under them so not sure this should be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannaroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is a little jewel. The decor is stunning and the staff is very welcoming and friendly! Tey really make you feel special. The restaurant is lovely and cosy and the food is absolutely gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleeTD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We celebrated mum's 60th birthday here on the 23rd December and cannot fault a thing. Not only were the owners welcoming and professional but the staff team made the afternoon run smoothly and efficiently with their hard work and friendly approach. The food was also excellent and would highly recommend a visit to this gem of a place. Thanks orles barn, you rock.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our second visit to Orles Barn and there will certainly be a third. Last year we were there for 3 nights, staying in the beautiful Pixie Apple room which had a huge bath in the window as well as the shower room, changing room, bedroom/lounge. This year we had the Darcy suite, individual bedroom, lounge and bathroom, which was perfect. The bathroom was so relaxing with tiny star-like lights in the ceiling. Evening provided a truly fine dining experience in a relaxed atmosphere and excellent service by the charming ladies looking after us. Breakfast was a good start to a wonderful day. Orles Barn was a contender for TV programme Four in a Bed and in my view should easily have won and there has been much talk about this. You must see for yourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

On a very cold, wet November evening we received a very warm welcome from the staff of Orles Barn. Room was superlative and the food and ambience excellent. Although Orles Barn is close to the A40, this was helpful for us as we had travelled a long way and did not want to have to make a long detour to our B and B accommodation. That said, the sound proofing was very good and we did not find the noise of traffic a problem in any way. The evening meal in the Restaurant was exceptional - a rich, creamy artichoke soup, wonderful Blade of Herefordshire beef and an excellent Apple assiete of three desserts. Even though we were the only guests, nothing was too much trouble for staff an d owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcrone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My fiance and I plus his parents stayed in order to try the tasting menu and various wines prior to our wedding booked for Orles Barn next year. We were apprehensive having heard that there was a new chef, however, the meal was excellent value and delicious, if anything the portions were too big for a tasting menu and we struggled to eat it all! Knowing it was all local produce made it even better, Wines excellent too and it was a hard choice deciding what to have for the wedding breakfast - apart from the very locally produced sparking wine "Chinn Chinn" which knocked the Prosecco out of the park and we will definitely be toasting our marriage with that. We stayed in Orange Pippin, having got the bridal suite booked for next year. Comfortable and luxurious, well appointed bathroom, slippers, robes and a decent hairdryer. Kerry looked after us on reception and at dinner particularly well and it was no trouble for us to meet with our chosen florist in the hotel. Richard was available to consult on wedding details and in no way is he an absent manager as has been suggested on other reviews - he explained that he and Kelly have set up a new and completely different hotel venue elsewhere so have obviously been splitting their time. But the staff at Orles Barn are professional and capable and don't need Richard and Kelly supervising them. We are reassured that we have made a great choice for our wedding celebrations.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, Molly Delicious is the smallest, so pick a bigger one if staying more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orles Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orles Barn Hotel

Property: Orles Barn Hotel
Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Orles Barn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation ideal for everything from a romantic weekend away to a bolt hole from business. Our Grill & Restaurant serves Modern British Local Food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Orles Barn has links back to the 14th & 17th Centuries and the first floor rooms have exposed beams and character features. The south facing garden stretches over an acre and is ideal for wedding receptions. Enjoy Walking? Around the hoterl area are plenty of walks to hand. after you have finihsed you can relax in our cosy bar/lounge with a local drink or maybe just a fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orles Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orles Barn Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing