We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly fun!”

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo
Ranked #5 of 30 things to do in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Surprisingly fun!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We came across this little attraction near Symonds Yat, expecting to spend an hour or two, and then move on somewhere else. In the end, we spent most of the afternoon here, interspersed with a nice pub lunch at the hotel across the road.

There's a nice maze, which isn't too hard to solve, but the great thing was that if you go through first you can climb up to a little platform and have fun misdirecting your friends and family as they blunder their way through. We also spent an inordinately long time playing pooh sticks on a little bridge just off the entrance to the maze.

The butterfly farm was quite large, nice and warm too. Lots of different species, you get a set of identification cards as you go in if you want to spot butterflies. Or you can just find a bench, sit down and watch them fly around. You can also watch the butterflies hatch from their cocoons.

Miniature golf is also available, but we didn't play. It seemed to be the most popular bit of the leisure park, and was the most crowded.

All in all, an unexpectedly fun outing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JinWee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    130
    24
    6
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
570 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Lovely place...”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Came across the Butterfly world and its maze and other attractions while visiting this area. Four of us spent a few nice hours here, the inside of the butterfly house was so hot...lasted about 20 mins then had to leave. Was really nice in there and a few landed on us. The maze was fun as well and didn't try the golf. All in all we had a nice time here.

Helpful?
Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
483 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a small attraction, but well worth a visit. Fascinating walking amongst the butterflies and being able to get a close look at them as they settle on the plants and trees. You have to watch where you are walking sometimes as they occasionally find the path around the zoo a good place to land! There are a quite a number of very pretty butterflies, some of them are quite large, in comparison with our own native one. If you don't like the idea of flying animals near you, then this is not the place for you. The young man on duty on the day we were there was very knowledgeable and took the time to point out a number of varieties and found some of the caterpillars which do their best to hide themselves. An enjoyable couple of hours.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KenMaideheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sweet little place”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really enjoyed having the butterflies flying all around us - took some lovely photo's. Could do with being a bit bigger, and nicer seating inside, a bit more kitted up for when it is busy, and trying to squeeze past people.
Quite expensive, for a quick attraction. Surprised it's called a zoo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TisTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids keep saying can we go back.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Brillient, I have never managed to keep my kids so interested and still, (apart from a computer game!). Lots of beautifull butterflies, We learnt a lot while we were there and took loads of great photos! Thanks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo also viewed

 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing