We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale of a time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Whale Tump B & B
Ranked #32 of 41 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whale of a time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

It may have an unusual name but anyone staying here will have a whale of a time. It's in a beautiful location with lots of great walks on the doorstep. Andy and Alex are excellent hosts - Andy has a wealth of knowledge of the local area and he really enhanced our 3 days spent here. The room was comfortable, breakfasts excellent and we even got 10% off at the local village eatery because Andy made the booking for us. We'll hopefully be back!

Room Tip: Ask for Pine or Goodrich rooms as they have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
armthorpe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

greeted with tea & biscuits in the lounge. nice welcome. the views r spectacular .the room not facing the valley but knew that on booking .comfortable, with en-suit. the breakfast bacon/sausage/eggs was locally sourced and u could taste the diff. from the supermarket stuff. overall one of the best b&b we have stayed at .there have been a few in our time

Room Tip: try for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having booked 2 nights at green whale tump b&b we turned up and the location was excellent we had booked a superior room with balcony the room we were shown to was neither. The room was decorated very basic in white 1 picture and 1 mirror on wall the balcony was only doors to open and a rail to stop anyone falling out not a step onto balcony. There was only a wardrobe in the room , no drawers to put clothing in. No TV in the room and the hospitality tray was very basic this is not what I would class as a superior room. Breakfast was luke warm and not what I would call a full English. the rear of the property was like a building site.
The views however from the room and gardens were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy w, Owner at Green Whale Tump B & B, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Green Whale Tump and sad that you did not raise any of these issues during your visit so we could have tried to make things better for you. We would have certainly have cooked you a new breakfast and, if possible, provided extra ingredients for your second day. Unfortunately there is nothing we could do about our house style of simple decoration with natural oak flooring and doors and Indian rugs. We have always thought a wardrobe with drawer provided enough storage but we can now realise that we need to look into this.
We are mortified though, that you should accuse us of not giving you the room you booked. We have two superior rooms on Booking.Com. The superior double room (known on our website as the Goodrich Castle Room) and the superior double room with balcony (known as the Loft on our website). I can assure you that you booked the superior double room not the superior double room with balcony. If you no longer have your booking information I will happily provide you with a copy from Booking.Com.
We are very sorry that this misunderstanding has spoilt you break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spent two wonderful nights at Green Whale Tump. Met by Ali in the guest sitting room. Tea offered and sat outside drinking in the views over the valley.
Our room was the Goodrich room which was spacious and a great view. The shower was a bespoke wooden fame which was a esthetically a nice touch in keeping with the use of natural wood.
Breakfast was superstitious with local produce. The local pub is 20 minutes walk and does great food and takes 30 minutes coming back?
A super place to base yourself , we would have loved to stayed longer

Room Tip: Be guided by your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJW153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked a room for a special weekend stay. So glad we did!
Beautiful setting overlooking the valley and the river with a large door/window to make the most of the view. Very tranquil and slept with the window open without a sound from outside save the early morning chorus.
Nothing is too much trouble. Need a lift to the local inn? Not a problem. Information on the area? What would you like to know? Ali and Andy are the perfect hosts and treat their guests as long-lost friends. We don't often go back but this time we are already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A warm welcome and a most relaxing stay. The views are outstanding, especially from the garden which has far reaching views over The Wye Valley. The images of the Goodrich Room do not do it justice - a lovely room.
Oh and a fabulous breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

As all the other reviews have said, a stunning location and great accommodation. This is our second stay and we always relax and unwind the minute we arrive.
There is so much to do and see in the area and our hosts always give us helpful advice on walks, canoeing, cycling etc.
We've not sampled an evening meal yet as we're usually out all day however i'm sure if the breakfast is anything to go by it would be superb too.
We were the last guests before Christmas and even though family was home for the break we were made very welcome. Can't say enough about this b&b and the superb hosts other than as the title says, we cant wait to go back. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
Lower Wythall Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#16 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Raglan House
Raglan House
#21 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radcliffe Guest House
Radcliffe Guest House
#10 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White House Guest House
The White House Guest House
#15 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Whale Tump B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Whale Tump B & B

Property: Green Whale Tump B & B
Address: Green Whales Tump Bulls Hill | Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Whale Tump bed & breakfast has beautiful views over the Wye valley, an area of outstanding natural beauty. We enjoy a quiet rural location yet are only 3 miles from the market town of Ross-on-Wye and M50, 8 miles from Monmouth. Located in the historic border land between England and Wales there is beautiful countryside, castles, historic towns and the industrial archaeology of the Forest of Dean to enjoy. There are stunning walks and cycle rides straight from the door. Ali and Andy offer a warm welcome and home cooked food including evening meals with ingredients sourced locally from quality producers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Whale Tump B & B Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing