We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a let down!”
Review of Obilash

Obilash
Ranked #44 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located at the top of the main high street in Ross-on-Wye, The Obilash Restaurant is the oldest Indian restaurant in town. We have been established since 1985. Our ethos remains the same, which is to provide the highest quality of food using only the best locally sourced ingredients as well as maintaining a high standard of service at all times. There is free parking outside the restaurant after 6pm. We also provide a free delivery service.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“what a let down!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The risk with takeaways is that when you get back home you find that its rubbish and there is nothing you can do about it! Last night I ordered a meal for two from Obilash and when I got it home we found that they must have run short of spice because both lamb dishes tasted just like lamb stew and the dall was tasteless water. My advice is steer well clear, we will be!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank malcolm g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    37
    15
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
herefordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My friends and I went for the week day deal. £10 for starter, main side rice or nan and a glass of wine. As the weather has been very hot, thought this may have been a mistake. It wasn't the staff are friendly and helpful and some times even quite funny. When we arrived on a very hot evening the air conditionoug was on. When the food arrived it was just wonderful. We all had diffrent things , every one was pleased. WE did try to eat every thing but just couldn't manage it. I would recommend this to any one you will be so happy. Thank you to all the staff who made our night very enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2blonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I ate here and opted for the three course meal plus drink offer. We found the food to be very tasty and great value for money. The staff were attentive and friendly. We would certainly recommend the restaurant to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulharrison58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
How Caple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went on our anniversary, the 4th of July!
Hadn't been for ages, can't afford to go out much these days and didn't expect too much.
Really good food and not by Ross-on-Wye standards either. The service was great, friendly, helpful, but not pushy.
Would recommend to any.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never try this place!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ordered through just-eat for 6:30 collection and was called at 6:20 advising guy was outside the house with the meal. Was not in and went to the restaurant to collect at 6:30 and told to wait until driver got back. Questioned if would still be hot and was assured so as they were a professional business. Got home and opened the dishes to find them merely warm and had to microwave to heat. Phoned the guy and was told there was no way it was not hot and he then hung up. Terrible takeaway/restaurant with customer service to match. Been warned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simon6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obilash also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Obilash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing