We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Atmosphere, Quality Food, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obilash

Obilash
Ranked #45 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located at the top of the main high street in Ross-on-Wye, The Obilash Restaurant is the oldest Indian restaurant in town. We have been established since 1985. Our ethos remains the same, which is to provide the highest quality of food using only the best locally sourced ingredients as well as maintaining a high standard of service at all times. There is free parking outside the restaurant after 6pm. We also provide a free delivery service.
Allensmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Quality Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to Obilash on Saturday 2nd March with friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary. We had bought a Groupon deal, and had some fantastic food! The starters were large, well cooked and tasty. I had Mixed Tandoori - highly recommended. I have had an op on my stomach and can only eat a small amount, and the offer was for 2 courses, so I asked the waiter if he could let me have my main meal as a take away to take home - he was happy to oblige, and the others ate their main meals with relish. It was a lovely evening in a great atmosphere. The staff were friendly and very obliging. We will definitely be back - and soon :o) I ate my Garlic Chilli Chicken today, and it was delicious and hot! :o)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    36
    13
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been to the newly reborn Obilash in Ross-on-Wye several times in recent weeks. The dishes are varied and interesting with the right amount of spicing, hot and fragrant, mild and fruity as appropriate. The side dishes are delicious in their own right, not tasteless throw always some restaurants dish out. The house wines are reasonably priced, French (yes!) and suitable to accompany curry.
The service is warm and relaxed and welcoming.
be hungry - the portions are generous, even on the weekday deal menu.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank les_tocknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Just gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Been eating at The Obilash ( in my home town) since 1980's. The restaurant has changed through several different owners over the years, the present management are doing a wonderful job.

Visiting the area this week called in for dinner for 3, It's just about as good as Indian Cuisine can be, lovely fresh ingredients beautifully prepared and served with a smile. At present they offer a 'special' deal. Starter-Main Course-Side dish and Rice or Nan plus a glass of wine for under a tenner! P E R F E C T !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DEXREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

3 of us visited with a short notice booking for the January 4 course and wine special deal. The starters and main courses were all delicious - not the run of the mill Indian restaurant fare. They were beautifully presented, served with courtesy and enthusiasm and were more than we could eat! This was our first visit and we will definitely be going back with more friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited the Obilash on a Wednesday evening when the offer of 4 courses for £9.95 was on. We didn't expect the quality or quantity of food that we got for the price we paid (I would have no problems visiting on a night when their offer wasn't on and paying more - the food would certainly be worth it).I Such great value for money, we certainly couldn't eat all we were given which was a shame. The staff were so lovely and friendly and couldn't do enough for us and the resturant was well decorated and comfortable. I would totally recommend this resturant and we will certainly be returning. Thanks to all who made our evening so enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bootyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obilash also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Obilash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing