We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Break with friends”
Review of The Paddocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Paddocks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Break with friends”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

24th-27th May inclusive - This was our 3rd visit to The Paddocks on a dancing weekend break with friends and needless to say we've already booked to return again in Sept and January. Everything about the hotel is EXCELLENT!!!!!!!! We cannot say anything negative about this hotel. An extremely relaxing location, food wonderful, staff extremely attentive and of course the weather this weekend was a bonus! My husband and myself returned home extremely relaxed are looking forward to returning in September.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms overlooking both sides of the hotel but the views over the gardens are stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just booked a break for my 40th birthday at the Paddocks bungalows.

We stayed in Begonia.

Good points:

Lovely and hot heating so very cosy.
Nice and spacious lounge / bedrooms/ kitchen extremely well equipped with everything you'd need and more!
Comfy beds
Flat screen Tv
Excellent location
Takes the dog :-0) VERY good news!
Lovely views

Bad points if i had to find any and be super picky.....lounge settees olive green velour not to my taste and whole bunglalow decor could do with modernisation BUT we would definately return and it was very good value for money so we are prepared to compromise on this minor detail !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

January 18th 2013 we were due to arrive at the Paddocks Hotel in the afternoon for a dance weekend, but following advice from the hotel about the depth of snow we decided not to travel till the 19th, it was good that the hotel was frank about the access issue, but the news that members of the party had arrived in the late afternoon made me feel a bit of a wimp. However, on our arrival the car park access - a very steep slope - had been cleared. and there was safe parking.
The Hotel was as anticipated, warm efficient with a slightly harried staff, the small bedroom was nicely decorated with a lovely view over the Wye. The bathroom was clean & tidy, but the shower temperature was very difficult to control - we were on the third floor. Food good, dancing with music by Paul Eden excellent. Trip home easy, little traffic on the Motoryways.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EABlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

looking for some relatively cheap self catering in the area, came accross the Paddocks Hotel with its self catering bungalows. There were a brilliant find and we had several lovely nights in a beautiful corner of the country. As you will pick up from other reviews some areas are slightly tired and need a freshen up and the pipes were quite noisy at points, but if you are not after boutique and want good comfortable and functional quality then this is one for you, especially if keen for walking, cycling or canoeing.
The size of the Bugalow was surprisingly large with a good kitchen, living area, bathroom and bedroom, was big enough to not feel to claustraphobic when escaping the rain outside suitable space for the dog and a road bike. The location set away from the hotel gave a sense of remoteness which is great for a romatic weekend
Huge plus of being dog friendly. I would definately return, which is all that needs to be said really.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sonof_soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to this hotel for a few days of square dancing, and it was excelent. We actually stayed in one of the chalets, but all our food was provided by the hotel except breakfast, which we had in the chalet. Everything was clean and well organised, a perfest location and very friendly and helpfull staff. We have booked again for next year, using the chalet again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A big thank you to the staff of The Paddocks Hotel for having a group of sixty ballroom dancers for a PARTY weekend.
We can sympathise with some of the previous comments, referring to the decor etc. but must endorse the other comments referring to the good food the beautiful scenery.

Negative comments first - you are held to strict meal timings, you will move to the dining room on the sounding of the gong, and no later- one or two of the staff have suffered damage to the smile muscles - that's it!

Positive comments - clean rooms - good food - lovely gardens - flexible (if often absent) bar staff - fabulous scenery - lovely dance floor - lovely riverside walks.
We are already taking names for next year.....can't be bad then can it?

Room Tip: There are a few bungalows that are set apart from the main building which are perfect for romantic w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to the Paddocks Hotel with travel company Buckleys of Doncaster. Myself, my wife and three friends stayed for 4 nights from the 21st May 2012.
Lets deal with the only negative side: the rooms are a little tired and could do with a coat of paint and new decor. This comment applies only to the bedrooms, the public areas are well decorated, clean and tidy.
The food was excellent, the staff also, anything you wanted they would provide if at all possible. An example of this was on the morning of our first breakfast, my wife asked for a pot of hot water, my friend asked for HP sauce. These were provided immediately but what did surprise us was that they were aloso provided FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK, without being asked for.
The staff were ALL friendly, Tracy has to be mentioned because she tried to give us the impression of being UNfriendly but I'm sorry Tracy we sussed you out. I must also mention another member of staff who I will call POLO girl, who has difficulty parking her car straight!!! She was tremendous and I nearly fell in love again.
To summarise this hotel is set in a wonderful tranquil setting and is well worth a visit. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TJSChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
483 reviews
5.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
203 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
5.1 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
151 reviews
5.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddocks Hotel

Property: The Paddocks Hotel
Address: Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Paddocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paddocks Hotel has located just a short stroll from the banks of the river Wye in the picturesque Wye Valley and not far from the historic border towns of Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. With an established tradition of providing a welcoming accommodation venue for group coach holidays, group holidays, special functions, wedding receptions and dancing holidays, The Paddocks Hotel provides an opportunity for groups of friends, clubs and event organisers to enjoy a memorable holiday in a beautiful location. Facilities include a superb ballroom, large dining room and spacious, comfortable reception rooms. The en-suite bedrooms are well appointed and tastefully furnished. The Paddocks Hotel gardens are beautifully landscaped with views of the Wye Valley as a stunning backdrop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Paddocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddocks Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing