We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$127
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benhall Farm(Ross-on-Wye)
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)(Great Value!)
$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
59
108
83
25
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
108
83
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdance weekendnight groupon dealthe rivernew ownershipmeal timesbuffet style breakfastbit datedfantastic valuecourse evening mealtea and coffeehotel roomsat navroast beefnight staysymonds yat westhuge bedfull price
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 296 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A big thank you to the staff of The Paddocks Hotel for having a group of sixty ballroom dancers for a PARTY weekend.
We can sympathise with some of the previous comments, referring to the decor etc. but must endorse the other comments referring to the good food the beautiful scenery.

Negative comments first - you are held to strict meal timings, you will move to the dining room on the sounding of the gong, and no later- one or two of the staff have suffered damage to the smile muscles - that's it!

Positive comments - clean rooms - good food - lovely gardens - flexible (if often absent) bar staff - fabulous scenery - lovely dance floor - lovely riverside walks.
We are already taking names for next year.....can't be bad then can it?

Room Tip: There are a few bungalows that are set apart from the main building which are perfect for romantic weekends. The larger bungalows are perfect for families.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to the Paddocks Hotel with travel company Buckleys of Doncaster. Myself, my wife and three friends stayed for 4 nights from the 21st May 2012.
Lets deal with the only negative side: the rooms are a little tired and could do with a coat of paint and new decor. This comment applies only to the bedrooms, the public areas are well decorated, clean and tidy.
The food was excellent, the staff also, anything you wanted they would provide if at all possible. An example of this was on the morning of our first breakfast, my wife asked for a pot of hot water, my friend asked for HP sauce. These were provided immediately but what did surprise us was that they were aloso provided FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK, without being asked for.
The staff were ALL friendly, Tracy has to be mentioned because she tried to give us the impression of being UNfriendly but I'm sorry Tracy we sussed you out. I must also mention another member of staff who I will call POLO girl, who has difficulty parking her car straight!!! She was tremendous and I nearly fell in love again.
To summarise this hotel is set in a wonderful tranquil setting and is well worth a visit. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room on the river side
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TJSChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

this hotel was very nice, nestled near the river wye, 5 mins walk through a field, the hotel was very welcoming, bedrooms nicely furnished, in need of a bit of redecoration, however the location for a bit of peace and tranquility was superb . the dining room was nice, the food was absolutely excellent!, staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suz306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel is in a lovely area with good walks all around. However, the hotel itself is not inspiring. The room was tired and dated but clean. They lock the doors on checking in day until they have cleaned everywhere, so not worth arriving early. Breakfast and dinner ar served when the bell summons you, and not a minute later. A companion of ours asked for another bread roll and was refused because they only order the exact number for the amount of guests. I found that difficult to believe. After the dancing, the bar closed and we were politely told to take our drinks to the lobby, which was dark and uninviting. no staff were around at that point. Its a shame that this hotel is run on such a tight budget with as few staff as possible as it could be a decent hotel. As such, I wont be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jennand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a weekend at The Paddocks for English Country Dancing - rooms were clean, food hot and a number of choices for each course, fantastic salads at lunchtime, and lovely staff. Building is from some time when they were made utilitarian rather than aesthetic though

Room Tip: Go for a view of the river
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LFHbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews