We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, let down by its rooms”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Had booked to stay in Standard room but room was so small and dated we paid (a good rate) to upgrade to the top four-poster room which was massive and very pleasant. Food good in restaurant. Hotel don't seem to spend any time training their waitresses/waiters as all pretty poor. Location within walking distance to Ross centre. Felt like it had been recently re-decorated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for The Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 479 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Chase on a two night special offer. The hotel is located in its own grounds and within a short walk of the town centre. The room and service were very good as were the evening meal and breakfasts. All in all the hotel experience was very good, though Ross on Wye itself was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GazNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

my husband and i booked the chase for a romantic weekend away, the setting of the hotel is very nice, its ideal place if you like to go walking, theres not actually a lot to do itself though in ross on wye, a few pubs cafes and tea shops and a walk along the river , by then youv,e just about covered it after that you would need a car if you want to see more. as for the hotel on first impressions i would say it looked very nice but when getting into our room we were a bit dissappointed with it , it was quite small the wardrobe was tiny, good job we were only there for two nights because you wouldn,t fit to many more clothes in. the room had no view, we looked onto the hotels flat roofs and ducting, which was very dissappointing considering we were staying in such lovely countryside. we found the room quite cold so we tried to put the radiators on but nothing happened so i called down to reception to inform them that i didn,t think they were working and they informed me that they didn,t put the heating on till 6 o,clock, and then when it did finally come on the one in the bathroom didn,t even work, also when we arrived we had to phone down to request some toilet rolls, so on the whole not to impressed with the room we chose to eat in the restaurant the first evening the food was ok, we have had much better at a harvester, but what was really awlful was that there was only four or five tables in use in the whole of the restaurant there was no back ground music and it was so silent that it was absolutely soleless, you found you had to whisper it was so quite felt more like i was at wake than in a restaurant. we chose to eat in the bar the following evening big mistake, we both ordered angus burger and chips, i couldn,t eat mine, i think it had been microwaved it was hard and over cooked and so salty, i did tell the waiter but he seemed to have trouble understanding me and just said oh ok good and walked away..both mornings we were awaken by a very loud noise coming from a service cupboard outside our room you certainly wouldn,t need an alarm clock, we had breakfast in the restaurant and on the second morning we were the only couple in there. we checked out paid our bill and it was,nt till we got home and checked our bill we realized we had been charged for drinks in the bar that we hadn,t even had, we contacted the hotel manager straight away explaining what has happened he did reply to our first email but to this date which is now over month ago he has now chose to ignor our last email and not refund us for there error..................so would we go there again , youve probably guessed it no we wouldn,t.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliataylor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Old - Yes, but Warm and Comfortable- Most Definitely!!!
Dated style and fittings with pleasant new touches [power shower]. Very quiet and convenient locality. Pleasnt staff. Excellent breakfast but average evening meal

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJCS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

unless you are attending the wedding. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in October using Tesco Clubcard vouchers. We had already made the booking and sent off the vouchers when we were contacted by the hotel to say there was a wedding at the hotel on the second night of our stay. We were not too concerned as we were told they would try and put us in a quiet room. Despite being 2 floors up and wearing ear plugs I could still hear every song played at the disco and even what the DJ was saying. I think we must have been right above the function room as it was so loud. The room itself was a bit small and quite drab compared to the rest of the hotel, which was beautiful, there was only one small wardrobe and the door appeared to be hanging off. The TV was OK but the remote very old and the buttons hardly worked. To be honest we didn’t think the room deserved the £120 a night price tag (even though we paid by vouchers). Breakfast was nice, and there was plenty of it, although one morning we did have quite a surly waitress. We didn’t eat evening meals in the hotel as we felt it was a bit expensive. The hotel was well placed for walking into Ross on Wye and there was plenty of parking and the grounds were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We paid £130 B&B for an executive room which proved to be very poor value for money. The small window overlooked the car park, the bed was uncomfortable, the bedding tired and old fashioned, the fittings drab, and the TV almost a museum piece. It was a cold spell, but since we were told that the heating came on between 6pm and 9pm we asked for a space heater. We cancelled a planned second night at the Chase, and luckily got a splendid river-view king size room at Wilton Court for only £15 more. On the plus side; breakfast was excellent, and free Wi-Fi worked well. The false fire alarm at 7.45am proved useful since there was no clock in the room. The few staff we met had no personality, and were indifferent. We definitely would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidandkathChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We turned up by chance at the Chase hotel, to break up a long drive home. We found the staff friendly and efficient, the room was clean although in need of a little modernisation. The food was very good and beautifully presented, very good value for money, £22.50 for an excellent 3 course meal. The hotel is situated in scenic grounds, and is within easy walking distance of the town centre. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirwalterraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
393 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
580 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $102 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing