We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Wigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable superior room. Most staff very pleasant and welcoming and most food was excellent with only one breakfast not quite hot enough. Great presentation to evening meals but after three days the same menu would benefit from a change. Would stay another time quite happily. Couple of staff need some further training. Clear used crockery before bringing next course and then finding nowhere to place it. Salt content to cooked food better than so many other establishments but still a little overused for our liking. Bottled water in bedrooms would be nice. A very pleasant experience generally.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TaffWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    158
    93
    43
    16
See reviews for
68
230
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights October 2013. Can only say hotel was average. Quite dated although very clean. Our superior room was uninspiring and not worth the £140 per night we paid. Food was limited choice and again just average. Staff however we're helpful and friendly. Would we return? Doubt it.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flowergirlCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed on a Groupon break and was certainly not disappointed. Very nice room overlooking the side lawns. Meal on first night was excellent and breakfast was very good with a very wide choice of cold/continental/cooked. Only a 10 minute walk into the town of Ross.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckhmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is certainly a very good hotel for short breaks, I booked it as a surprise for my husband's birthday. I specified no stairs or room near to lift. Despite this the hotel took my booking and when we got there we were told no lift and two flights of stairs plus to climb.
However it is a lovely hotel and would recommend it, but not for those less able to get about.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable, luxurious and clean, nice atmosphere in the bar and friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mavestrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Came here on my works do last year and I have to say the food was terrible. The starter was a Ham terrine, but it looked like it was slopped out of a Sheba tin! The food was cold and tasteless. Nowhere near enough gravy on the plate to accompany the dry meat! The atmosphere was good and a very welcoming and warm hotel. Just the food let it down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetongies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked a long weekend away at this hotel and was utterly captivated by the country hotel feel. The grounds are beautifully kept. The lobby is stunning with an ornate carved wood staircase leading upstairs. All the staff are friendly and welcoming.

The room was comfortable, well furnished, and spotlessly clean. My only criticism would be the walls are way too thin.. not a lot they can do about that, but it's a bit disconcerting hearing someone yawn in the next room?!

We ate breakfast in the restaurant both mornings. There is a wide selection of food to choose from, along with a cooked breakfast to order, which is a refreshing change these days (most places leaving it to congeal under heat lamps)

We had an evening meal in the restaurant one night and although the food was delicious, I did find it very worrying that having made it clear to the waitress that I was gluten intolerant, they still brought my caesar salad with croutons in it? Other than that all the food was delicious and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the garden on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had B and B and evening meal for 2 for two days. Great value. Nice hotel and great food. The room that we given smelt musty, but once I mentioned it we were moved without question. Great location for walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Property: The Chase Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing