We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house in lovely, pretty grounds made a great retreat”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Bracknell Englan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in lovely, pretty grounds made a great retreat”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really enjoyed a birthday party at the Chase hotel, we met up with another couple so it was only 2 hours for all of us to get there. Exceeded our expectations for the location and also the food, which was delicious. Try the spring break, which we did which included a bottle of prosecco on ice on arrival and bed and dinner and breakfast, very good value. Nice bar and restaurant. Lovely big room double aspect, view over gardens and nice new bathroom. We upgraded on arrival as the original room we saw had no view and was small for a double. Well worth it. It makes a nice relaxing hideaway.

Room Tip: Go for room 17 Corner room with dual aspect over pond one way and gardens the other, and go for upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rencat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    160
    94
    43
    16
See reviews for
70
232
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed there around half a dozen times for work, 2-3 nights at a time and am always glad to return. This feels like a really well-run place. Breakfast is perfect for me and among the best I have experienced. I like the selection available-it isn't huge but exactly what I like, everything is fresh and of high quality and service is fast and friendly. I usually have dinner in the bar/lounge area which is a really pleasant and cosy (in a good way) place to sit in the evening and relax over dinner or with a newspaper. You can order from the bar menu or the restaurant menu and they also have a budget 3 course meal. It's a surprisingly large choice of courses. The food has always been very competent if not spectacular. The service is really excellent. I should mention Alessandro, the barman who always makes you feel very much at home. I tend to stay in the cheaper rooms which are pretty standard and always impeccably clean. So in summary this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyDog59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a special offer including evening mel and breakfast.The food is very,very good and the portions are generous,well worth the trip from Plymouth!. The building is lovelly and all very well kept,clean and comfortable.The rooms are a little small and the bathrooms are a good size,again all very clean and well kept! We had a very nice break and it is a great area for a few days away.We enjoyed are stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had an inexpensive weekend break here on 23rd March. Tremendous value for money. Georgian style house set in its own grounds within walking distance of pretty market-town centre. Excellent facilities, luxurious ambience, great food & friendly efficient staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to a room overlooking the gardens with the big georgian windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Having met friends at the Chase Hotel several times before, including a great Sunday lunch, we decided to take advantage of an offer and stay for a weekend. We arrived on Saturday morning and had coffee in the most comfortable lounge overlooking the grounds down to the river.
We checked in later in the afternoon and went to our room. It was a standard room that was reasonably small but as described on the website. It was warm and comfortable. We could have done with a larger bed but that is being fussy! The bathroom had been refurbished and there was plenty of very hot water and lovely new towels.
We took dinner in Harry's restaurant. Between our friends and ourselves we tried a variety of dishes all of which were very tasty and well presented. A good selection of wines and reasonably priced. All of the staff we met were helpful and friendly.
There had been a large party in the restaurant for breakfast but the staff worked hard to provide everything we asked for. We all had different cooked breakfasts and it was all served at the same time and was all most enjoyable, despite the obvious pressure on the staff. ( The Welsh chef was working hard to deliver so many meals in a short time span but was obviously in a good mood on the morning after Wales beating England 30 - 3!).
The Chase is a great place to stay and to explore the area including Hereford, Hay on Wye, Ledbury as well as Ross on Wye itself.

Credit where credit is due, the hotel is comfortable, the staff and efficient and friendly and we all thoroughly enjoyed each meal we had.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Having read some recent reviews of the hotel prior to our stay, we were a little concerned by some of the negative comments. But we found the hotel to be much better than expected. The pillows were good, the bed a little hard for my liking, but on the whole an excellent hotel. Breakfast was very good, and so nice to be able to order your food from the waiter rather than serving yourself, good selection of fruit, cereals, toast fruit juice and excellent haddock and poached eggs. The hotel is also in a good position, being within walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on Monday night and had the worst nights sleep in a very long time. The room itself was disappointingly small but the main problem was that there is little or no sound proofing between my room and the plumbing system and the next door bathroom.

At £72 corporate rate I consider it to be too expensive for a room that reminded me of a B&B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivanpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Property: The Chase Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing