We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Having read some recent reviews of the hotel prior to our stay, we were a little concerned by some of the negative comments. But we found the hotel to be much better than expected. The pillows were good, the bed a little hard for my liking, but on the whole an excellent hotel. Breakfast was very good, and so nice to be able to order your food from the waiter rather than serving yourself, good selection of fruit, cereals, toast fruit juice and excellent haddock and poached eggs. The hotel is also in a good position, being within walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 513 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on Monday night and had the worst nights sleep in a very long time. The room itself was disappointingly small but the main problem was that there is little or no sound proofing between my room and the plumbing system and the next door bathroom.

At £72 corporate rate I consider it to be too expensive for a room that reminded me of a B&B

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivanpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at The Chase Hotel and as with other reviews we found the room very nice and quiet.
The Breakfast in the morning was extremely chaotic, with our order for coffee and toast ignored until asking a second time. The coffee was weak, so hopeless,surely a hotel asking £160 for a room with breakfast would have worked out by now how to make coffee. Even more bizarre was receiving an email from the manageress accusing us of stealing a mattress cover and how readily they were going to charge £30.00. I suppose it must be difficult for hotels to know who is running off with their goods, but even after claiming complete innocence the accusation stood. So before settling into the room it might be wise to do a complete stock take of the room with the manageress.

Room Tip: Take a room in the main part of the hotel not the annexe. Check the room before hand to make sure th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyHuntingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just back from a one night stay at the Chase Hotel. Had a lovely day and evening. Stayed on a travel zoo dinner bed and breakfast package which proved to be excellent value for money.

Check in: efficient and friendly staff. I had a few surprises planned for my parents (room upgrade and balloons/glitter on our table for dinner) and the staff took care of them well for me.

Rooms: we had two rooms. One was a superior double (room 14) but there was nothing superior about it. Very small. Small double bed which was hard and the pillows were terrible. The bathroom was fine. However, The other room we had was an executive double and was far more spacious and luxurious (room 4). I was glad I had upgraded to this as an extra special treat for my parents. Lovely large windows with views over the grounds and a big modern bathroom with spa whirlpool bath. We actually got to look at one of the four poster rooms and that was absolutely stunning and huge. The bathroom in there was nearly as big as the superior bedroom!!! I would say upgrade if you can afford to!

Location: fantastic - within easy walking distance to the town centre of Ross on wye. Really enjoyed a stroll round the shops and antiques etc. Free parking at the hotel was a huge bonus.

Dinner: evening meal was included in our package. We went for the standard set menu with 3 choices per course. We could have upgraded to the a la carte menu for £12.50 each but we didn't feel we needed to as there were so many lovely things on the standard menu- even for my very, very fussy partner! Food was delicious, service was excellent. Efficient but not rushed. They had decorated our table as requested and it looked lovely. Rounded the evening off with coffee and mints in the bar. Perfect.

Unfortunately breakfast the next morning was a different story altogether. We were ignored for 5 mins and had to ask for a table. All tables were dirty so they had to relay one for us. Took the waiter ages to do this. No bowls left for cereal. No pastries left. No butter on table. coffee so weak and had to ask for a fresh pot. Cooked breakfast was served to you by a young boy who was trying but failing to dish up sausages and bacon with a spoon?! I suggested tongs might be more useful to him! Sausages, black pudding and scrambled eggs were like rubber and it looked like they had been sitting there for hours.

Check out: they tried to charge us for bar receipts we had never even had. They tried to charge us for after dinner coffee but we had already paid cash for it the night before! Took ages to argue and sort out! They eventually took it off the bill. They have no idea who has had what in the bar or who should pay for what!

Overall we had a lovely night away but the inexperienced young breakfast staff and confusion over bar payments let this place down. Excellent value for the rate we paid but I'd have been disappointed if I'd paid the full tariff.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of deal including evening meal. Upgraded to superior double on first floor, room 23. Kingsize bed, very comfy with immaculately clean white bedding. The room & en-suite were also spotless. Unfortunately there was a lot of noise, on both nights, from the function room on the ground floor.
The noise seemed to come from the PA system so wasn't constant but it was irritating! Luckily it didn't go on late!
Food was good. Choice of 3 starters, main courses & desserts. Coffee or tea not included in our deal.
Only thing we found "odd" was that you go into the bar before your meal, place your order & then you're escorted to you're table in Harry's Restaurant.
I say "odd" because no-one mentioned this system to us when we pre booked a table & on our first night's stay we went straight to the Restaurant & waited to be greeted as you are usually. We waited & were joined by another couple, all four of us waited, all now equally bewildered!
Then someone appeared & showed us to our table. Now we sat, still no-one explained about pre-ordering in the bar.
We had to ask for a menu & I explained that no-one told us we needed to go into the bar area first. Bit of a muddle but to be fair once sorted the food was worth the wait. On our 2nd evening we knew the routine & things went fine.
Overall our stay was enjoyable.
On the possitive side-
the location is good. The staff are friendly.
Our room was spacious,clean&comfortable. The food is really good.
Negatives-
No decent view from window.
The noise from Function Room.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandbrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Dinner.
Anticipated a good meal at this prestigious hotel, but was served food which the chef had taken every imaginable shortcut with. An excellent starter of terrine was followed by a wan and sad chicken breast, obviously sourced at the cheapest of suppliers. Dry, fibrous and thoroughly boring. Accompanied by overcooked or long-since-cooked accompaniments. Pudding was industrial,and over sweetened.Come on Chase Hotel. People expect more from you than over priced pretentious pubgrub

Room Tip: Did not stay here, just came for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dined in harry's restaurant both evenings. I can't fault the menue choice or the quality of the food as it was superb, however the firts night the service was incredibly slow despite the restaurant being quiet. 7th February 13
Room was confortable, a little noise from other guests as a latge gap under the door. but I would certainly stay again as it was ecellent value..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
431 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $108 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing