We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaappointed”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disaappointed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend of 15th Feb 2013, As our daughter wanted us to see if we thought it appropriate for her wedding next year 2014,It was set in nice grounds and although a little tired looking in places we were pleasantly surprised. This was until we used the restaurant which was run by an unpleasant manager. who i am afraid on the 2 occasions we had anything to do with him was unhelpful and inefficient. We waited 20 minutes just for coffee at breakfast and i am afraid he just hasn't got his eye on the ball,Consequently they will not be having our business again. We did voice our complaint to the genera managerl who I am afraid just smirked,which just about sums up this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    163
    95
    43
    16
See reviews for
73
235
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good points - location, parking, cleanliness and friendly staff
Disappointing- reading other reviews we decided to upgrade to a superior room. Even then It was pretty small, Only a 4 foot 6 inch bed. You could hear people in corridor (they would be within a few feet of the bed (I did say room was small!) and so the room lacked a feeling of privacy.. Electric switches and plumbing audible from next room. TV not fully visible from bed (TV too low). Food was varying with some really good and other dishes just passable.(how can you make chicken tough?) .
Very disappointing - we were on a half board deal and both evenings we took the offered tea or coffee after dinner. We didnt realise it wasn't included in our deal and we were really susprised not only to be charged but that it was £3.95 per person per night. On querying this the receptionist knocked off one £3.95 charge. But nearly £8.00 for two teas or coffees is way out of line with their generally reasonable bar and wine charges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked a double room with folding bed via the hotel's website after speaking to them over the phone. On arrival, room was so small once the bed was installed that there was no room to move, so (after waiting over half an hour for someone to attend to us) we requested a room change. Eventually placed in decent room with good bed and sofa bed.
Requested iron and ironing board - iron appeared after about 20 mins, but no ironing board - another wait.
Breakfast quite good (although orange juice obviously from a carton and coffee very weak) but we had to ask three times for coffee and toast.
On checking out, an additional invoice for £20 for the extra bed appeared which we disputed. After waiting another ten minutes, we were told that "on this occasion" they would waive the charge but despite this they then tried to make the point that we were in the wrong (although the main problem seemed to be that their website didn't pass on the extra bed request - and what was the point in trying to make us feel as though it was our fault?). I don't think there will be another occasion anyway.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMikeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury Bristol
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Chase is a very old property, so you can't expect it to be totally modern inside. A grand staircase welcomes you when you arrive, and the reception staff are friendly. Our room was clean and a little dated, but to be expected of a property this old. There is a large lounge bar, and very modern restaurant. The food was excellent, but you need a good appetite to cope with it all. All staff were friendly and welcoming. An unusual but welcome feature of the room, was sky sports on the tv. Location is on the edge of Ross on Wye, and really is a 5 min walk into town, and the bus station is similar distance, making it easy to ttavel to Hereford or Gloucester without having to use your car.

Room Tip: Recommend room ten as situated over patio and car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredCongresbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to Ross on Wye for a weekend break.The town has some great pubs and shops.We stayed at The Chase Hotel which is one of the best hotels in the town.We had a great deal for Dinner,Bed and Breakfast. Their restaurant is called Harry's and our 3 course dinner was excellent. The staff were very helpful in the bar and restaurant. Our breakfast was made from local bacon and sausages they tasted better.Our standard room number 9 was clean but very small with a view of the noisy vent from the kitchen. We will return but pay the extra for a deluxe room

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room as the standard rooms are very small with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very clean,quiet and comfortable room. The Hotel is well placed for the Town Centre, easy walking distance to pubs and restaurants although it was very quiet earlier in the week. We didn't eat at the Hotel except for breakfast which was excellent. Plentiful and well cooked.
The staff were pleasant.
Altogether an enjoyable stay and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millieastra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a Travel Zoo one night break for £89, dinner bed and breakfast. The food in Harrys Restaurant was very pleasant. The voucher gave a choice of three starters, main and dessert or a £12.50 supplement to upgrade the dining experience which was not necessary. Breakfast was very good too, plentiful and cooked to order.
The reception staff were polite, efficient and helpful as were the restaurant staff however we had a less than good experience in the bar, the young attendant was very quickly overwhelmed by customers and there were no reinforcements. That coupled with the turning on of the TV for one guest to watch sport in the lounge area definately spoiled the pre dinner drinks.
The room was a basic one which was to be expected with the offer however it was dated, a bit late 80s early 90s in decor and the bathroom could do with an upgrade ( who has wooden toilet seats these days - yuk ) That said, the bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels spotless.
Would I stay again ? Nope but dont let that put you off your travelzoo stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
374 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Property: The Chase Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing