We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay again - not up to expectations.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brampton Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brampton Cottage
Ranked #33 of 40 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again - not up to expectations.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I don't like leaving "unhappy" reviews, but feel it's only fair to the B&B's that are really good. We stayed in the large twin end room. On first appearances really quaint, individual furnishings, and nice views. But on closer inspection I found quite a few (thankfully dead) large flies about and also what appeared to be mouse droppings. I am pretty sure no-one had slept in the room for some time. I had to ask for the inclusive "afternoon tea" which was brought in the form of 2 cups of tea (nothing provided for my daughter), and no extra supplies to make further drinks - even tho there was a kettle in the room. We had to put up the 3rd bed ourselves - the sheets (folded inside) were dirty and had obviously been used before. Unfortunately I failed to correctly secure this bed and it collapsed in the night so ended up sleeping on its mattress on floor instead (I opted to sleep on floor as didn't want my daughter there after seeing what I am sure were mouse droppings).
When I asked to visit the hens it was made clear to us that the garden where they were was private, so no. When I asked whether there was a lounge area it was also made clear that we were to stay in the bedroom, not sit downstairs in the breakfast area / anywhere else. And to top off a very uncomfortable stay, we didn't enjoy breakfast either. Dirty tablecloth (had egg on it) and I think we were the only guests that morning so not from an earlier sitting. I'm afraid I found the cooked breakfast inedible - it created a horrid atmosphere, as we felt so rude hardly touching it, but it was undercooked (runny scrambled egg) and my veggie option appeared to have been cooked in with the bacon and sausages - such a waste. It certainly wasn't a cheap B&B and from the advertising I expected so much more. I also felt unwelcome from start to finish of the stay, despite trying to make the best of it. Unless things have changed a lot since, I really would recommend others to avoid this B&B.

Room Tip: Just don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachelsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My daughter and I recently spent a night at Brampton Cottage as a base for exploring the area and were pleased with our choice. It is a character cottage in a very quiet rural spot, with proper dark, starry sky at night. We stayed in the twin/family room which was spacious and clean, with extremely comfortable beds, we slept soundly. There was a washbasin in the room, and we were offered a little jug of fresh milk, so that we could make ourselves a good cup of tea in the morning. If you were looking for style, you might be disappointed with the twin/family room, as furniture was of the older, family sort, with two additional folding beds standing by, but it suited our needs. It would also be suitable for for several children to share, with mum/dad in the double room next door, which was fitted out in charming blue and white cottage style. The bathroom for the two rooms was clean, and bathed in sunlight. Breakfast was overlooking the sunny orchard, excellent scrambled eggs. Don't think the marmalade can have been home-made on this occasion, as it was in shop-jars, but perfectly good. We found the owners friendly and accommodating, and particularly enjoyed meeting the resident cat, Maya, who was allowed up to our room, at my daughter's request, but was put out at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank ameliorosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lukewarm reception from owners son, cobwebs, dead spiders in the on suite room, cobwebs above bed in other double room, cabinet in onsuite room full of out of date prescribed medication. Breakfast very poor def not any home made bread, coffee looked as though it had been in tin for long time, no milk, mugs or spoons in room, very overpriced, def would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanHerefordshire, Owner at Brampton Cottage, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
If you look at my previous reviews on Trip Advisor and on Top Rooms you will see this one is just a plip. .The reason for this was that a very close family bereavement meant I had to be away for a few days . My son stood in and did a very good job, on the whole ,looking after my guests . So he may have missed a few cobwebs and forgotten to replace the tea things . Other guests who knew the reason I was away were very understanding. This would also explain why there was no home made bread . As for the medicine cabinet containing out of date prescribed medication , this guest had no business even opening the cupboard which is very clearly marked as PRIVATE. Unfortunately I did not meet this family but If I had I would have been delighted to explain why things were perhaps not quite up to the usual high standard and would have hoped for some understanding from these guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Brampton Cottage is a charming and relaxing place to stay.The owners are friendly and welcoming ,as are their lovely two dogs and cat.We were treated to homemade bread and a delicious breakfast every morning.Ross-on-Wye is a beautiful place to visit,the town itself having lots of lovely shops and places to eat.We stayed for a long weekend, I just wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillycat_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bed comfortable.. slept well and quiet surroundings.. NO NOISE...
Breakfast was great and she makes her own bread...
Very friendly people..

They have animals but they are not allowed in the breakfast room,,,

Also very clean....
Would recommend highly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I just wanted to say what a delightful stay we had recently at Brampton Cottage. It was just before Christmas and we had some beautiful walks both along the River Wye and also in Symmonds Yat, both being within reach by foot and car respectively. My husband and I and our two children were very well looked after, we had one dinner in and one dinner out and the dinner in was memorable. Breakfasts were very jolly and the children really enjoyed the smell of freshly baked bread when they woke. We asked for packed lunches on both days and were pleased we did as it freed us up to explore the area without needing to stop in any pubs and we were took our own thermoses of tea. The weather was kind which added to our very memorable visit. I intend to return in the summer and stay in their bell tents which look great fun. Jay Minchin, Isle of Wight

Room Tip: Take wellies as the walks can begin right from the front door. Very pet friendly house and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

this B&B was in a lovely peaceful ,we had a comfortable night stay. downstairs smelt of old animals but upstairs the bedrooms were ok. I do like animals but didn't like the cats jumping up at the breakfast table and the dogs walking around the breakfast room. Also conversations with the owner felt a bit awkward at times. This B&B was the most expensive we stayed at during our trip and after staying at other B&B i think it is over priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanHerefordshire, Owner at Brampton Cottage, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am suprised at this review as our cat & dog are not allowed to wander around the breakfast room . The only exception to this is when our guests show an interest in them and ask to meet them . All other reviews comment on the friendly and helpful hosts and the breakfasts score highly for their content and the fact that the bread is home made as are the jams and marmalades . Alot of reviews also added that Brampton Cottage is good value and very comfortable bed and breakfast .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#16 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunnymount
Sunnymount
#18 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brampton Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Cottage

Property: Brampton Cottage
Address: Brampton Abbotts, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brampton Cottage B&B offers very comfortable and good value accommodation in the village of Brampton Abbotts, 1 mile from Ross. No through traffic means the location is very peaceful. The owner, Caroline, is an experienced cook & provides a delicious aga cooked breakfast with plenty of choice for all. The smell of homemade bread can be caught wafting through the cottage in the early morning. Jams & marmalade are homemade. Children & well behaved dogs are welcome and our garden is open to all. This 200 year old cottage is situated one mile from Ross in beautiful Herefordshire countryside, perfect for exploring the River Wye, Symmonds Yat, The Malvern Hills and the Golden Valley to Hay-on-Wye. There is no through traffic so a quiet night is guaranteed, although you may be woken by the sound of the dawn chorus. The B&B has two double bedrooms (one en-suite with shower), one twin bedroom and a single bedroom each with their own basin. The twin room is particularly spacious & can be used as a family room with up to two extra beds. Each of the other bedrooms (not the en-suite!) has shared use of the two bathrooms with bath, shower & loo (If available private use can be secured on request). The bedrooms have TV and coffee/ tea making facilities. Breakfast is served in the dining room with views of & access to the garden. Afternoon tea, packed lunch & evening meals can be provided when requested in advance. There is plenty of parking space & a secure garage for bicycles. In the garden we enjoy a large variety of song birds. Woodpeckers, badgers, squirrels and hedgehogs are all resident here! Beside us is a traditional Herefordshire apple orchard which is crisscrossed with foot paths and the apple blossom in the spring is lovely to see. The River Wye is a 15 minute walk away on foot paths which can be followed all the way to Ross and beyond. The river Wye is wonderful for canoeing trips and fishing. There are local golf courses, famous castles, gardens and vineyard to visit. For walkers and cyclists there is plenty to explore and we can arrange luggage transport on to your next stop. The Wye Valley Walk virtually passes our front door!! We can also organise canoeing, shooting (clay or game) and fishing if requested in advance. Herefordshire is also well known for its pubs, restaurants and gourmet eating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brampton Cottage Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing