We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radcliffe Guest House
Ranked #10 of 41 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Pros:
• Only a 2-minute walk to the town center; short walk to the river, too
• Huge clean room with large windows overlooking the river and countryside in the distance
• The two leather chairs in the room, set around a large table, were the most comfortable B&B chairs in which I’ve ever sat
• Room contains a helpful guide of recommended restaurants
• Friendly owners
• Excellent breakfast in a clean dining room
• Large lounge room for guests

Cons:
• Small galley-type bathroom (but it was clean)
• On-street parking only (but there’s lots of parking along the road outside the B&B)

Bottom line: A large, clean, comfortable room for a fair price and friendly owners. I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agincourt1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
65
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed 6 nights in Radcliffe House. Ross-on-Wye is a good location for the Wye Valley and road trips into Wales. . Central to everything, good shopping and restaurants, and beautiful walks and scenery. A great little English town. Our room was very spacious with a very comfortable bed, en-suite bathroom, nice sitting area and views over the Wye River. There is also a shared guest lounge with lots of room if one needs a little more space than your own room.
Radcliffe House is located only metres from the start of the High Street, and would be one of the best located B&B's in town. Its just off the main road into the town centre, so nice and quiet. Its an old building but well maintained, very clean and comfortable, great breakfast and super friendly hosts. Beth and Andy go out of their way to make you comfortable and welcome. Andy had our luggage into our room whilst I was still parking the car. He also helped us out with our luggage when we checked out. Lots of recommendations for restaurants which were spot on.
We definitely recommend Radcliffe House as a great B&B in Ross-on-Wye.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the River Wye are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodLyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time.
I booked the room through Expedia but they didn't give details in relation to the differences in the rooms available. Unknowingly, I had booked the smallest room. The hostess, Beth, sent an email to clarify the circumstances and following a short telephone call I had upgraded to room one.
I was so happy with the room as it had a very large bedroom and appropriate en suite with a wonderful view over the river Wye.
The hosts couldn't be more helpful (they helped me arrange for a florist to deliver flowers to be in the room before our arrival).
Excellent breakfast on both mornings.
Really good location on the outskirts of the town centre.
Would be first choice if staying in the area again.
Appreciated Darran & Sian.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLWillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay 1st time at this Guesthouse - Historic property. Great Hosts - breakfast was very good well cooked by proprietor who was very attentive and asked us both days if we wanted anymore of anything - can recommend if you are staying in Ross.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likestotravel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

had a nice weekend at the ratcliff we had room 6 a little room at the back with its own entrance breakfast was good wonts one or two little jobs doing like the bathroom door did not shut but overall it is very clean and tidy this is the second time we have stayed here this year
from ann and terry mason
halesowen west mids

Room Tip: room 6 a little chalet out the back very quiet but guest house is on a hill and parking is a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terence m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our mini moon. Lovely town to stay ,lots to do and see. Also pleasant place just to relax and take in the views.
My husband had stayed here before and suggested we stayed here,and Im really glad he did.
We booked last minute and I was amazed there were rooms available when other places were fully booked, I don't know what they had over Radcliffe.
The owners were lovely and welcoming,rooms a good size (bathroom small ) lovely view. Home cooked breakfast in the morning,very nice.
Tiny downside parking is not great.
I would most certainly return and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This guest house is the nicest I have ever stayed in. We had rooms 1 & 3 which were great sizes (room 1 was massive with it's own hallway and AMAZING views).

Close to the town centre without being in the centre, lots of lovely pubs and restaurants close by and very easy to get to. Parking is on the street outside, we had two cars over three days (a Fri / Sat / Sun) and had no parking problems throughout so I wouldn't count this as a negative.

Wi-fi in the bedrooms wasn't available while we stayed due to their system being upgraded, but equally the guest house is a very old house with thick walls so it wasn't a put off we couldn't get this in our room - lovely guest lounge with sofas, tables and a piano which was great for catching up at the end of the night.

Breakfast was a beautiful full english which pleased all of us staying, along with cereal, fresh fruit it was everything anyone would like - they even did a takeout for someone who wasn't up early enough!!

Thanks so much for having us and if we come back to the area again you will be our first option for accomodation - xx

Room Tip: Room 1 is massive with it's own hallway and AMAZING views!! Room 3 is a lovely size with great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radcliffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radcliffe Guest House

Property: Radcliffe Guest House
Address: Wye Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radcliffe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century coaching inn, now a charming guest house, within 50 meters of river at the top of Wye St, and only 50 metes to town centre; we have the most enviable position in Ross on Wye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Radcliffe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radcliffe Guest House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing