We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, lovely food and good service”

The White Lion Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, lovely food and good service”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have just spend the afternoon at The White Loin with my four year old daughter and grandparents. The menu was varied and catered for both my daughter and my grandparents and was very reasonable . The food was great and very prompt and the service was fantastic. The view speaks for itself "stunning". It is well worth a visit and I would highly recommend :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    50
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“riverside pub”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked for eight, some items already off menu but portions generous. Eat early. A pub to drink in, beer better than food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank a1ways10st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fab fish and chips”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stopped by on the off chance, saw whale of a fish and chips on the menu, didn't really expect a whale but actually got one, it was huge and really tasty staff were really welcoming and sitting outside by the river is lovely, beer was good too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If the weather is fine - this has a lovely garden overlooking the Wye.

However not so impressed by the fact that we all ordered Bacon, Brie and Cranberry Baguettes - which arrived at the table minus the Cranberry with no explanation until we asked - quite surprised that no one bothered to come out and check that we still wanted them given that they had no Cranberry ... so having been served the baguettes offered us mango chutney and apple sauce as a substitute!

This was a real shame as this combination is a favourite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lovely food and great portion size. We enjoyed a relaxing, peaceful evening eating overlooking the river wye. Affordable. Would definitely return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueG1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion Restaurant also viewed

 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The White Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing