We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lion Restaurant

The White Lion Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very nice. We went for a light meal and they were very accommodating, allowing us to order a selection of starters and sides (which some places definitely won't allow!), all of which were very nice and reasonably priced. The staff were all extremely friendly and pleasant, and the atmosphere was very comfortable. And 'due to an increase in the price of Welsh water, the beer is now back to full strength'...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Briony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    49
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, decent food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wow we were actually quite shocked at the rude service here. However the setting is amazing and the food was better than average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank belindakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
I'm sorry you thought we were rude but eating your own food in our pub is rude even after we asked you not to you once again continued - used our tables, our heat, our toilets yes we were annoyed - I am however pleased to hear that a couple of you who did order from the menu enjoyed their food.
Please in future if you want a warm welcome do come back but ALL of you enjoy our food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“amazing pub ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family are regulars. And Jason the chef is amazing at cooking the food that we ordered. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. And I will definitely recommend it to people passing by to stop for lunch, tea or even have a couple of drinks.
They also allow dogs in the bar they have also got their own dog called bailey and he is so caring to kids.

Helpful?
Thank moochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good pub grub, friendly and helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The pub was quiet in the middle of the week in January. Not many staff on, but the service was excellent and friendly. We ordered a sharing platter for starters - very large portions and good value. Steak and chips was tasty and also very good value. Couldn't manage a pudding though the chocolate fudge cake was tempting !
Very pleasant evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“10/10 in all aspects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

we have visited this pub since 1997 and stayed many many times always had a fab time Hosts Jacqui and Dave are always welcoming and Linda we only wish there were more rooms as if a crowd of us visit Ross there arent enough ,but we usually eat there anyway .Food has always exceeded expectations as for comments they are unbelievable negative ones as food is always lovely even more adventurous dishes and excellent value too .an extremely friendly pub and we should know after the amount of times weve stayed in past

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion Restaurant also viewed

 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The White Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing