We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”

The White Lion Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent food ,great service ,very busy all very friendly very comfortable .on the river bank will call again when in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NANNA090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    50
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch on the way home from Cirencester”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My daughter and I popped into the White Lion for a drink and a lunch time meal. I had been there before but that was a number of years ago. We were not disappointed . The views of the Wye are tremendous and the bar is welcoming with a traditional log fire. The food was delicious and I enjoyed the local real ales. I will certainly visit the Lion again when passing through.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely family time here again”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had al lovely family meal 18 of us, here again on Saturday, all our meals were enjoyed and served promptly and cheerfully. No complaints from me

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeryHappyCustomer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The White Lion.

Once again it was our pleasure to serve you, i am so pleased everyone enjoyed themselves.

We look forward to your next visit

Jacqui Newman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal, atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great service, lovely food and great atmosphere. We only ate in the bar but would have no hesitation coming back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalterKlondyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

It was our pleasure to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Party”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great Venue. With separate Olde Gaol restaurant, dining, bar, outside riverside gardens
and covered smoking area. I had my 60th Birthday Party here and with room for separate disco & Band together with a superb Buffet, we had a cracking time and I would definitely re-book any future functions. Many thanks to Jaqui, Dave and the staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your birthday party with us - yes it was a cracking evening.

We hope you choose to have many more functions with us Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion Restaurant also viewed

 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The White Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing